We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood with a view”
Review of Bay Harbour Cafe

Bay Harbour Cafe
Ranked #3 of 12 Quick Bites in Nelson Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for lunch on a beautiful day. Sat overlooking the water and watching fishermen try their luck ( they didn't have any!!). The food at this little gem of a cafe is outstanding. It's fresh, well presented and the variety is excellent. There is fish of the day as well as many other dishes and you can share or order individually. Yes it's true you have to order and pay at the counter but prices reflect this semi self serve arrangement. They deliver to your table. Beer and wine are reasonably priced and served icy cold. My partner and I shared a dozen oysters, very fresh king prawns and. Serve of Red Emperor with chips and salad. And with a beer each, a bottle of wine and another glass of wine we paid less than $60 a head. I will visit this little cafe again and again, it is a standout on the coast.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So reasonably priced! Beautiful fresh seafood and lovely crunchy chips with a great water outlook. Never been before but will be back for more.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Kelvin And Kath... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

The family shared a Fisherman’s Basket and it was the most terrible seafood we have ever had. It all appeared (and I strongly suspect it was) store bought and thrown into a deep fryer. The fish pieces were the thickness of a shoestring chip, clearly bought in. The side salad on the plate looked so gnarly it scared us as to how old it was. We are not precious but this food was woeful.
All their mayonnaise based products were sitting out at room temperature which I’m pretty sure is not the best!!
Turn around and leave.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MsLauraDora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Family friendly, casual lunch dining experience, with simple and excellent quality dishes. The seafood was amazing quality, and the staff were friendly and pleasant. Fantastic setting, clean and tidy, no fuss dining experience. Something on this menu for everyone.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank TanyanDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

I hesitate to review this restaurant/cafe as I would rather keep it for myself. However, fantastic food, best views in the bay, not BYO but excellent pricing.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Harbour Cafe also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Bay Harbour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing