We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem at Little Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martys at Little Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Martys at Little Beach
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Little Gem at Little Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a very comfortable stay at Marty's for 3 nights during March 2014. Bed and furnishings in the room were excellent and the staff and management extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. Marty's is ideally located with walking access to two beaches.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi to our "melbourne' visitors ... we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Marty's !
Thank you for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    137
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
219
240
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Martys at Little Beach in March 2014 for 5 nights. A really, really nice place. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor right near the beautiful pool. Martys has been renovated in recent years and is very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The good points:
Location, location, location - right near the beach
Free wi-fi internet
Friendly staff
Very relaxed atmosphere
Clean
Close to Nelson Bay marina
Free goodies (mini torch and swim bag)
Pool
BBQ area

Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hope you enjoy our gift to you ... a "little" thank you for staying with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This neat, modern & comfortable little complex is perfect for families looking for a package of reasonably priced accommodation with activities on-site and short walk to local beaches (Little Beach or Shoal Bay), restaurant (Boathouse) & club (Diggers). Also only a short drive (or 15-20 minute walk) to Nelson Bay/Marina or Shoal Bay cafes.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was spacious, comfortable, clean, newly furnished and included everything we needed e.g. kitchenette/full-sized fridge, multiple tvs/Foxtel, indoor/outdoor seating and free Wi-Fi.
Friendly staff made this a lovely long-weekend getaway and our 5yr old daughter had a great time in the pool and play area (which is primarily for younger kids, but with a little imagination...).
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-7 (on the ground floor) perfect for families with young kids as they back onto the lawn near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Our appreciation for taking the time to post a review.
When receiving comments/reviews like your's it is very rewarding !
We must agree that our location is perfect !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We booked Marty's at Little Beach after finding it through Trip Adviser, we are very grateful we did.
As soon as you open the door to your room you immediately notice how modern, new and clean the rooms are. Our upstairs room had fantastic wooden style flooring with new furniture, a new bathroom and a very updated feel. We were really impressed with touches like the art pieces which included quotes and beautiful large canvas photos in each room. Our 2 bedroom apartment was immaculately clean and we had a lovely view from our balcony of the gorgeous pool, and to our right were ocean glimpses. The main bedroom was very spacious and that was even after we put the 10 month olds portacot up.
Jenn the Manager was lovely and welcoming and was accommodating to all our questions and requests. She definitely makes you feel as though your stay is important and was happy to answer any questions we had. Sue, the owner, was lovely to talk to and had lots of suggestions of things we could do with our children and even managed us a sneaky booking into the booked out "The Boathouse" restaurant (amazing food).
The location is great, off the main strip of Nelson Bay but still only a couple of minutes drive away. Walking distance to the gorgeous Little Beach, childrens playground, cafe, and one of the best restaurants in the bay.
We wouldnt hesitate to recommend Marty's to anyone looking to stay in the area, but especially to families. Our 3yo had so much fun hand feeding the lorikeets on our balcony each day.
We will definitely be back, and this time we might utilise their one room that is pet friendly, such a great thing!
Thanks Marty's at Little Beach, you absolutely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi Louise and Jonathon
Wow .... thank you immensely for your review.
We have a quotation at Marty's that "it's the little things that count" and we enjoy meeting and assisting our guests wherever possible as we believe it is indeed the 'little things' that make the difference ! It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we would love to welcome you back !
Thank you so much for the great photos.
Jenn, Sue and Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for five days recently and had such a fantastic family holiday. We were in a two bedroom apt, which was modern and opened out to a playground area our two-year old loved! There was BBQ space that we cooked on each night and the pool is fantastic for families. The complex is really well maintained and run by really helpful and friendly people. Best of all, the accommodation is nestled between two beautiful beaches which are a short walk away. We loved our holiday here so much we are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much.
Our BBQ area is very popular with our guests !
It was our pleasure having you stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a visit to family in Sidney.
The secure swimming pool was voted a huge success with our 2 grandsons.
Our apartment was top class, modern , clean, etc
A 2 minute walk takes you to the beach which is stunning.
10 minutes away there is a local Diggers Club where for a few dollars you can obtain temporary membership thus entitling you to use their facilities which include plenty of eating areas..
All in all a really nice place to visit
Great surroundings, & warm & friendly staff,
Maybe someday we'll be able to return....Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foreverblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
We would love to welcome you back !
Thank you for your fantastic review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely clean and comfortable room with balcony. Refreshing pool which was well maintained. Friendly greeting on arrival with info on places to eat out. Close to walking tracks to beaches. Went to the RSL nearby for dinner which had great food. Close to the lighthouse which had lovely meals. Short drive to Shoal Bay which was magnificent. Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool area would be good for families. Marty's was in a nice quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JENNIFER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Sounds as though you enjoyed your holiday !
It was our pleasure having you stay at Marty's and thank you for taking the time to post a review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martys at Little Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martys at Little Beach

Property: Martys at Little Beach
Address: Cnr Gowrie Ave & Intrepid Close., Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Casablanca Apartments Martys at Little Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Martys at Little Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Spectacular Location!Quietly nestled between two of Port Stephen’s most idyllic beaches but still close enough to the heart of all the Bay’s great restaurants and attractions, Marty’s is in the perfect location to do everything or....absolutely nothing at all!Totally refurbished inside and out in August 2012 - you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the style, elegance and quality - not to mention the affordability!So when you arrive, leave the car (and your stress) in the car park - you won’t be needing them - and take a two minute walk west to stunning Little Beach. Soft white sand, perfect swimming for the kids, boat ramp and one of the best scuba diving spots on the east coast.A tad breezy today? No problem. Simply walk two minutes east and find a protected spot on the uncrowded Shoal Bay Beach - postcard perfect!Take a big deep breath in.... now exhale... and relax... you’re on holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Martys at Little Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martys At Little Beach Hotel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing