We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martys at Little Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martys at Little Beach
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Martys at Little Beach is located so close to the marina, shops and all the surrounding attractions at Nelsons Bay. Just a short walk to the beach from either direction.

The apartment was very clean, neat and tidy as well as spacious.

I would definitely recommend Martys at Little Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank modestyvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Our appreciation for taking the time to post a review.
We do agree ... our location is ideal !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    137
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
219
240
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in Nelson Bay, Port Stephen (like, just off Sydney NSW), I'd recommend this. There's been some serious hotel improvement here. I love the simple, clean finishing in the bedrooms, the spacious bathroom and the thoughtful layout of the living room. It's a short walk to the Little Beach and not too far from Shoal Bay or the main town. Shame about the strange smell though, that seems to be coming from the floor laminates (maybe because it's new? Perhaps the property owner should do something about it). Best thing to do? Check in, kick off your shoes, take a walk at the beach, then hit the town and get some serious scallops, prawns from this seafood store and bring that back to make a spaghetti marinara! Oh, and there's a heated pool in the premises :D

Room Tip: Was there in winter and the howling winds kept us up most of the time, but the next day was better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Our appreciation to you for taking the time to post a review.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Marty's !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I went to Nelson Bay with my boyfriend intending to relax and enjoy the nature and it couldn't be more perfect! Jenn, the manager of Marty's Little Beach welcomed us with her beautiful smile, extremely polite manners, and making few phone calls to book some attractions. We've been reccomanded to eat at the right place while having breakfast to another wonderful spot nearby. The hotel was simply perfect for our winter gateway: peace and quite, spacious and full of light, heated swimming pool to relax and literally 2 mins walk from the beach! I'll go back there as soon as I have the chance!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaterinaBidini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi Caterina
Thank you for your review.
It was OUR pleasure having you stay with us and we extremely happy that you enjoyed the apartment and our facilities. I will pass on your comments to Little Beach Boathouse !
We would love to welcome you back !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We could only spend one night at Martys. All was fantastic from the first friendly and helpful greeting until time of departure. The room was a decent size and
was very clean and tastefully decorated the bed was very comfortable and the amenities in the bathroom good,close to the beach.would highly recommend Martys as is excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello to our Adelaide guests

Thank you for taking the time to post a review ... it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithgow, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband, daughter and myself had stayed at this motel twice before our most recent stay and absolutely loved it (we have been booked into the same room everytime we stayed). Unfortunately our last stay had not been so pleasent.

Once we arrived and started to unpack we had a knock on our door. I answered it and it was Jenn the manager. She advised that she knew we had our daughter in the unit and that we had booked a room that was in the adults only section. I told that we had stayed in this room before with no issues (only a few months prior to this stay). She advised that rules change and that this was now a adults only room. She then accused us of booking online and not advising of a child. We actually booked over the phone and they never asked if we had a child and considering we had stayed here numerous times before with our daughter we didn't think it would be an issue. Jenn then went on to say 'don't worry we aren't going to kick you out or anything but if we receive a noise complaint it's not going to be very nice'. I appologised and she left.

To our surprise when we left to go for dinner that afternoon we noticed a couple and their young child enter the room next door to us! My husband and I were both shocked and felt as though we needed to tread on eggshells for the whole entire weekend.

My husband and I will not be returning to Marty's.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Azjazstaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Mrs Staines
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your stay in February 2014.
It is unfortunate for us that you did not enjoy your stay. As explained to you after 'checkin' when we realised that you had an additional person ( your daughter) with you the apartment that you chose to stay in does not cater for children or babies. This is stated clearly on all our listings on booking sites ( including our own webpage). When you telephoned to make your booking we would have asked the number of people and would have directed you to the appropriate apartment had we known there were more than two people..
When visiting your apartment I did state that "as we are totally booked" I cannot shift/ upgrade you to an apartment that is more suitable" and requested your assistance regarding the possibility of any complaints from adjoining (across the corridor) guests.
Our property policy in recording the exact numbers of guests in each apartment is a safety procedure .... as Marty's is classified/rated as 'selfcontained' accommodation and Reception not managed 24 hours should there be any fire emergencies we are required to provide guest listings to the fire department.
Your comment about a child in an adjoining apartment was correct ..... this was in an Executive 2Bed. Apartment ( maximum 4 people) at the end of the corridor.

Please accept my personal apologies for this ' situation' and the fact that you did not enjoy your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempsey, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were going to Maitland Canping Show and accomadation at Maitland was expensive. I book at Marty's due to not being too far away from Maitland, and have a look around Nelson Bay, as I had not been there in decades. We had a king size room overlooking the pool. Excellent. The location of Marty's to Little Beach, Shoal Bay, Diggers Club and even the Marina made it the perfect choice for us. I would definately book there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Phil

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Marty's !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had never been to Nelson Bay before and so didn't really have any idea where to stay. We looked on trip advisor and Marty's came highly recommended. We found Marty's to be recently renovated to a modern standard. Very clean inside and out and the staff were friendly and helpful. We are also fans of walking instead of taking the car and we were able to walk to the beach, marina and all the restaurants/ coffee shops very easily. Not much more to say other than it ticked all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianasemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello to our Canberra Guests
"All the boxes were ticked for us " .... thank you so much.
It is rewarding to all staff members when our guests have enjoyed their stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martys at Little Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martys at Little Beach

Property: Martys at Little Beach
Address: Cnr Gowrie Ave & Intrepid Close., Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Casablanca Apartments Martys at Little Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Martys at Little Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Spectacular Location!Quietly nestled between two of Port Stephen’s most idyllic beaches but still close enough to the heart of all the Bay’s great restaurants and attractions, Marty’s is in the perfect location to do everything or....absolutely nothing at all!Totally refurbished inside and out in August 2012 - you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the style, elegance and quality - not to mention the affordability!So when you arrive, leave the car (and your stress) in the car park - you won’t be needing them - and take a two minute walk west to stunning Little Beach. Soft white sand, perfect swimming for the kids, boat ramp and one of the best scuba diving spots on the east coast.A tad breezy today? No problem. Simply walk two minutes east and find a protected spot on the uncrowded Shoal Bay Beach - postcard perfect!Take a big deep breath in.... now exhale... and relax... you’re on holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Martys at Little Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martys At Little Beach Hotel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing