We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT STAY IN NELSON BAY”
other travellers have booked this property
General view of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
General view of house
Lavender Room Lavender Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
General view of house
Lavender Room
Lavender Room
Lavender Room balcony
Lavender Room kitchenette
Lavender Room bathroom
B&B Hall
Kookaburras visit our garden from time to time.
Brightly coloured daily visitors to our garden.
D'Albora Marina 2mn away by car.
Nelson Bay beach near the marina.
Birubi Beach
Liitle Beach
Dining out
Camel ride on Birubi beach and Stockton dunes in Anna Bay.
Quad ride in stockton dunes
Nelson Bay Golf links 2mn away by car.
Whale watching in June-August and October-November
Dolphins watching or swimming with dolphins all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stoddardh...
Taradale, Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“PERFECT STAY IN NELSON BAY”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed for one night on 2 September 2017 - probably should have stayed two nights. Hosts Yves & Martine are wonderful, friendly and made us feel very much at home. We stayed actually in the Olive room and it was lovely - well appointed, tasteful and everything was beautifully maintained in the room and their house. Breakfast was wonderful - homemade jams, bread & brioche. We loved the Nelson Bay area of Port Stephens and you can't go wrong by staying with Yves & Martine. Thank you so much for creating such a wonderful haven for us to enjoy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place, with lovely hosts”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The room is lovely, and it was great chatting to our French hosts over the really nice continental breakfast provided. It was too far to walk in the dark to the nearest restaurants for dinner, so we drove.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb in every way!”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Yves and Martine make you so welcome and spoil you in every way. The food, ambience and attention to detail made this break away so relaxing. I will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne N
1 review
“Beautiful French room in a private cul de sac.”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Beautiful French room in a private cul de sac in peaceful Nelson bay. Great bed and breakfast with amazing hosts. Definitely a great find. We stayed in the Lavender room which was excellent. Breakfast included home made yoghurt and pastries. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
Thank You Wayne & Grace for the great review of the Lavender Room. Hope you had a wonderful time in the Hunter Valley.
Kind Regards
Yves & Martine @ L'Olivette B&B.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JYun L
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Lovely place & friendly owner.”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Pros:

1) Friendly and helpful owners.
2) Room was clean and maintained in tip top condition.
3) Room was cosy and the bed was awesome. (Me and my wife could not get up the next morning due to how comfortable the bed was.
4) Breakfast made by the owners were sumptuous and satisfying. Highly recommend the owner made pear jam and bun.
5) An accommodation that you will stay again.

Cons:
1) None.

P/S - Me and my wife are going again in Easter 2016. Its just that good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Room settings and owners
Liked least: No wifi access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine D
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“L'ovely L'Olivette :)”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at L'Olivette B&B - Lavender Room - for 1 night in November 2015 on a road trip from Sydney to Byron Bay.

The lovely L'Olivette B&B is located in a quiet cul-de-sac with good parking facilities and easy to spot with its yellow paint, beautiful front garden and overall French flair. Our friendly hosts welcomed us very warmly.

The Lavender Room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable with a small balcony. We especially appreciated the many small personal touches and beautiful self-made furnishings and decorations. The same goes for the rest of the house. Breakfast was served in the kitchen/dining area (since it was a bit too chilly for sitting in the garden) and was delicous and very filling, including home-made yoghurt and breads - it was so much we couldn't even finish it all and our host Martine packed some for the journey :-)

Thank you Yves and Martine, we would love to come back!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing