We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nimbin rox should be Nimbin sux”
Review of Nimbin Rox YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nimbin Rox YHA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nimbin
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Got a tour of the YHA and told 'no bongs or magic mushrooms". It seems everything else was fine. People smoked pot outside kitchen at 8am, where it was the only place to sit and eat. People slept on lounge with their backpacks next to them, so they didn't have a room. Given a mouldy tent to sleep in. I had booked a twin room. Tent was next to noisy carpark (people sleeping in their cars?) which was a long wet walk in the rain away from the toilets, and close to where the music system was. Got woken up after midnight by the music. Before I booked, I had left 3 messages asking to be phoned back so I could book 2 nights instead of one night. Luckily, my calls were never returned....

Room Tip: If you like a mouldy tent, choose a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 775traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

i have never stayed in a nicer location in a hostel, we stayed in the tipi which had amazing views over the valley. The facilities are great and there is a lovely pool to cool off in. Its a bit of a walk into town but the hostel runs a shuttle a couple of times per day so its no problem. I would definitely return here, its worth going to Nimbin just for this place

Room Tip: There is loads of space in the shared tipi and is also great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lp23egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

we stayed her for one night on a trip from the gold coast and as soon as we arrived and saw the room i wished we had booked for longer but we had a tight schedule.anyway the hostel is just outside of nimbin and is a lovely walk while it is still bright.the area is really secluded and after spending a few days previous in sydney it was a lovely change.we booked a double private room and i had such a great sleep,the beds are very comfy.staff are friendly and chatty and it is really good value for money.i would love to stay here againif i ever get a chance to travel to that part of oz again.they have a nice kitchen living room area and outside bbq area and they also have free tea and coffee available for guests.even just for the scenery and wildlife alone its worth heading here for a day or two.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hostel is the best i have stayed in so far. A little bit out of town, up on a hill, it has this magnificent view and the whole atmosphere is just magical.
You can relax in the pool area and listen to music or go further down for a breathtaking view and some small wallabies.
The kitchen is well equipped and clean at all times.

If you have your own transportation or you are not to lazy to walk up all the way, this is the best hostel ever :)

Room Tip: if you are 2 people, stay in one of the tents down where the tipi is. It's a beautiful view, qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahAX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here a couple of days. We both noticed we were surrounded by young men who seemed to have taken a vow of silence (or unable to have a normal conversation). If you don't mind being surrounded by young men with poor communication skills, and who leave there dirty dishes in the sink, you will love the place. Reception was fantastic. Water pressure was a huge issue also.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Intended to stay for one day and ended up leaving about three days later. Beautiful location and scenery at the top of a hill, away from the main street in Nimbin. Price was fairly decent (I think it was about $15 for me per night) for a campervan and the facilities were good. The owners take a mini bus into town each days to collect supplies which you can hitch a ride on for free, instead of the walk. Like others have said, Nimbin is a crazy place but its good to embrace the culture for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say about Nimbin?!? One of the craziest, weirdest places I have ever visited. We stayed one night at the YHA and had an interesting time. The town is full of drugged up hippies which are scary to look at but seem fairly friendly on the whole. The hostel is a pretty good hostel. Comfy beds, clean toilets and good communal areas. The only reason I could see people coming to Nimbin is to sample some of the local produce if you know what I mean ! That's exactly what we did and then crashed in our beds. Probably the best place to stay when your in Nimbin.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nimbin
15.8 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grey Gum Lodge
Grey Gum Lodge
#1 of 2 in Nimbin
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Retreat
Rainbow Retreat
#4 of 6 in Nimbin
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crofton's Retreat
Crofton's Retreat
#5 of 6 in Nimbin
26 reviews
15.5 mi away
AZA Motel
AZA Motel
#5 of 11 in Lismore
28 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimbin Rox YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimbin Rox YHA

Address: 74 Thorburn St, Nimbin, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Nimbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nimbin
Price Range: £16 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nimbin Rox YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nimbin Rox YHA is located 1 km from Nimbin Town up on 250 acres of lush green land. We have a range of accommodation from dorms and double rooms to our yurts and iconic tepee. Rooms have fans for the summer and heaters for winter and include all your linen. We have a communal kitchen and TV room a fire pit for toasting your marshmallows, tropical outdoor swimming pool heated by the sun so get ready for a chilly wake up dip on a winters morning! A great way to start the day. Hammocks hide in trees and chill out areas around the property giving you a place to relax and let all of your worries drift off to the mountains in the distance.Nimbin Rox is also a photographer\'s dream, with misty mountains, the majestic Nimbin Rock, wallabies, echidnas, friendly kookaburras and - if you\'re lucky - our resident elusive platypus.Horse riders from beginners to advanced can enjoy our trail rides around our acreage with your local guide Al from Nimbin horse carts.Internet and Wi-Fi is available and if you need a few things from town we have a shuttle that runs twice a day or you can walk to town in approx 15mins.Once you\'re re-energised our friendly staff can book you your next bed, bus, tour or adventure.Life\'s more than a beach so come and discover the Nimbin Rox YHA for yourself.Nimbin Rox YHA is also happy to accommodate groups and works well for photography groups, yoga retreats, family reunions even small weddings. Please chat to our groups co-ordinator after booking if this interests you.Other features include: Laundry, book exchange, daily activities, iPod connection areas, vending/snack machine and free herbs in the kitchen (seasonal).Children are welcome but must be supervised whilst on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nimbin Rox YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing