We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horror story” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverhaven Motel

The Riverhaven Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nowra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Riverhaven Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Nowra
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horror story”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

You drive down an overgrown path, wondering if you've got the right spot, with a growing sense of foreboding knowing you have. It emerges from the foliage like a scene from a horror movie, dilapidated, paint peeling, sinking into the ground, dirty torn curtains hanging off rails, doors ajar. Disheveled men appear in various states of undress; none of them the owner/reception worker who took your booking. Numerous attempts to make such contact fail.
Maybe it was nice once- or even passable. Now I think it may be unkempt long term budget accommodation. Advice: keep moving with some speed.
I should have looked at the dates of positive reviews before booking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Minanimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Flats, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have stayed at this motel a number of times because of its location, walking distance to the Shoalhaven Entertainment Centre, the river and restaurants. It is very dated but is okay to stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moruya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Although the price was moderate to low this motel was still not good value. The cleaner is either blind or lazy. Basic rubbish removal from the bathroom does not take much effort. After complaining about the state of one room we were moved to a different room that was the same. The room was dirty, the shower head did not stay up even with water running through it and the toilet kept flushing continuously. It needs serious repainting, as it doesn't look like like it has been painted in 20 years. They had the air conditioning serviced but that they should have had them replaced, they are ancient and no longer have any knobs to actually change the temperature and are too noisy to use. The TV was about the size of my laptop screen and I don't have a large laptop. The curtains did not fit the wondows and were falling down, but they did provide some pegs to try to hold them closed. Nowhere to put bags and basically I would definitely NEVER go near this place again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sobriquet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nowra hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights and found that their charming service and the lovely riverside location. The owner's recommend local restaurants were the best choice.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priscilla_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We made a phone booking after finding this motel on the internet.
The photos looked okay, so we went ahead.
On arrival, there was no-one there so we drove in & drove straight out again!!
The buildings were so old. They were desperately in need of a paint job, & some tlc.
After a quick discussion, we decided to look elsewhere & found a great motel within a few hundred metres.

Moral of this story? Don't take what you see on the internet as gospel. A drive by is a great idea!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bubbles-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nowra hotels
0.8 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 9 in Nowra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Archer Hotel
Archer Hotel
#8 of 9 in Nowra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pleasant Way River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marriott Park Motel
Marriott Park Motel
#2 of 9 in Nowra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nowra Motor Inn
Nowra Motor Inn
#5 of 9 in Nowra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
George Bass Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverhaven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverhaven Motel

Property: The Riverhaven Motel
Address: 1 Scenic Dr, Nowra, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2541, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Nowra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Nowra
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Riverhaven Motel Nowra, Australia - Shoalhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing