We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Popular with the locals”

Panda Garden Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 86 Restaurants in Nowra
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Popular with the locals”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Very good food, typical Chinese fair, we felt like we were at our Chinese restaurant back home.
When we went it was full of the locals celebrating birthdays, family functions and everyone was having a ball. When we there the service was prompt, polite considering how busy they were with the large groups they had. We had Mongolian Beef & Braised scallops with baby corn and large fried rice. We ended up fighting over the Scallops, really nice dish. Good service good food. Yes would recommend making a booking but again we got lucky and they fitted us in.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    6
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Being new to the area, we were keen to try the local cuisine. This place was truly one of the worst meals of my life. The "special" fried rice was nothing more than boiled rice with some bits thrown in, the honey chicken was soggy, you could stand a fork up in the beef and black bean, the BBQ pork and plum sauce had maybe 5 pieces of pork the rest was onion and carrot. We were extremely disappointed with the food. Maybe it was an off night or something but for $70 I am not willing to give them another chance.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bomaderry
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We dine at Panda Garden once a week and have never had any problems. The service is good and the food is excellent. The satay chicken and chilli beef are both favourites. They have a great lunch time special for $7.00. They can get busy and would definately be advisable to have a booking especially if you are a large group.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monkeywhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Incompetent”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Chinese ladies are wonderful but there is a young waitress there who you have to be careful of she's slow and she can't count properly and over Charges people

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris66677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

It was one of the field trips that I went with my son to give him company. We were greeted by a young waitress at the entrance and given a table for two close to the wall. Already seated around us were 6 or 7 families; some were in the middle of their dinner and others waiting for the food to come. The young waitress handed us the menu and asked if we wanted any drinks to start with. I asked for some tea and at that point she said it's her first day with the restaurant and she's going to ask someone else to serve us. While waitiong, we read the menu and made our selections. During that time, a Chinese waitress showed her face no less than four times in the dining area. She had a glance or two at us while serving others in the restaurant and therefore she should be aware that we were there, but no smiling face, no greetings and the tea was never served. Ten minutes later, we left and went to the restaurant next door.

We really don't know what's wrong, maybe she is too busy, maybe she is only interested in repeated customers. Well, it does not matter, because we will never go back to that restaurant again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alw_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panda Garden Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Panda Garden Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing