We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peak Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peak Hill Caravan Park
australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

First night of road trip with female friend park located off the main road so very quite apart from the lovely native birds Very clean with all linen supplied. We paid $65 with free WFI a bargin Yes the fresh scones with jam and cream are still delivered to your door We stayed in another park further south no free WFI scones and Was more expensive

Room Tip: We had a twin cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peak Hill, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Peak Hill Caravan Park......Ween Street Peak Hill.Left hand turn coming from Dubbo,right hand turn at the northern end of town just opposite Peak Hill Park.
This Caravan Park is run by Carol & Dave and it well kept and well maintained.
How do I know this,well I live in Peak Hill,the caravan park sponsor our Volunteer Community radio station and Carol & Dave are your GENUINE Managers.
The sites are well maintained,there is room for your bus and 5th Wheeler and the park in PET FRIENDLY.The ammenaties are excellent and for a carav an park in the middle of drought it is extremely well maintained.......
Carol & Dave will look after you every needs.
There is a small kiosk at the front and also you are able to walk to town to the Bowling Club,the RSL Club,the Clubhouse Hotel and also two take away shops,and also Cino's,so there isnt any shortage of food outlets.
When you wish to rest your weary bones for the night and then take of tomorrow,then you cant go wrong...........
Carol & Dave can also offer you cabins to be used as well.
Check out their web site at www.peakhillcaravanpark.com.au
You cant go wrong

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stumbled upon this park in the old mining town, how refreshing & friendly. What was even better was they are connected via satellite whereby one only has to plug in the coaxial into the outlet in the power box. For a small park, this was a big plus. Very clean ablutions, but once again, need a refurbish, but as there were new owners, I am sure they will eventually update this side of things.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at Peak Hill Caravan Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you, Rhonda, for your review of our park. We're glad that you appreciated the tv connections and, yes, as new owners we hope to make some improvements to the amenities. We trust that you enjoyed your stay and that you will visit Peak Hill again. We wish you safe traveling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We did not want The hassel to go to a big town for a stop over so we chose Peak Hill Caravan Park and we were very pleasantly surprised. We have a 22ft Caravan and we were very proffessionally showed to our site and guided in. Peak Hill is a small caravan park with big personality. We went for a walk to check out the town and missed out on the scones, jam and cream, dam. The toilet block is old but beautifully clean with soap and paper towel. The BBQ was well kept and very clean and well lit. Our little dog had a great time as the owners were not overly strict as long as you do the right thing and pick up. Walking distance to the Bowls club and RSL for meals, this is a great little place. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Very short distance to town, so can walk to pubs and clubs for a meal and a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtleford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We spent our New Years Eve at this park....I think we were the only ones who managed to stay awake until Midnight....It's a small friendly park which is well maintained and good value.

We stayed 3 nights with our camper trailer...the sites are large and include drive through site which is very handy. It's not a huge park but we like it like there....when we were there it was mainly older couples either travelling to or from Queensland.

There is a nice area to walk your dog and you are within walking distance to the local club for a meal which is quite good value and very tasty.

The amenities block at the park was spotlessly clean and the showers were hot and water pressure good.

They have an attraction onsite called the fossil hut which contains the fossil of a huge fish...you get free entry when you stay at the park....this was quite nice until we found out it was a replica and not the real thing...as were most of the other samples in the hut but at least it's free :)

The Park is also situated on the road to the lookout and I highly recommend it as you can see for miles. There is also a weir nearby which is great for fishing and swimming and having a picnic....There is a bbq and a covered table with seats.

All in all I would recommend Peak Hill Caravan Park for it's proximity to the Dish at Parkes and also Western Plains Zoo in Dubbo and it also helps support our smaller towns.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place is fantastic!!!!! Owners so, so helpful and knowledgeable. The amenities were clean as a whistle. The park was lovely and clean weel upkept. To top it off they came around to everyone about 4pm and presented all with scones with jam and cream!!!! Amazing what little things can make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The caravan park Is great. I stayed in one of the cabins and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was travelling in between Brisbane and Melbourne but thought Dubbo was too hustle and bustle. By the time I got to Peak Hill (8:30) I was very tired and would of stayed anywhere which had a bed and and a roof overhead. But I got a hundred times better than that. One of the best things was the shop. Extremely cheap. Only a dollar for a chilled can of any soft drink you like. And I'm just getting tired. I urge you to stay here, caravan or not. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peak Hill hotels
0.1 mi away
Peak Hill Golden Peak Budget Motel
0.0 mi away
Oasis Motel
Oasis Motel
#1 of 2 in Peak Hill
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Motel Peak Hill
Oasis Motel Peak Hill
#3 of 3 in Peak Hill
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Peak Hill Caravan Park

Property: Peak Hill Caravan Park
Address: 2 Ween St, Peak Hill, New South Wales 2869, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Peak Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Peak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-owned caravan park on the Newell Highway. A great stop-over location between Melbourne and Brisbane. Walking distance (200m) to Clubs. Ensuite cabins, drive through powered sites for caravans and motor homes available. Controlled pets welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing