We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great service with only a few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in August and had a wonderful stay. The snow was all fresh and the hotel in excellent location to the lifts. We could ski from the front door! Service at check in was smooth and having the porter to help with our luggage was well regarded. The room was very clean and crisp and had a very quaint feel about it. If you are looking for modern this is not your hotel, however if you are after a hotel with memories and character then this is it. The television service does cut in and out a bit but this is to be expected on analogue appliances in a digital world.

The food was amazing. To have a full hot buffet breakfast and a 3 course a la carte menu that changes every night was a real treat. The service every night was great, and our two waitresses that served us did an exceptional job.

I guess my one major gripe would be that one of the waitresses with the blonde curly hair who we would see at breakfast and again at kids club in the evenings seemed to have no regard for those around and you could hear her talking a mile away in what sounded like what she believed to be an aboriginal voice. This, although not directly offending me, is not something I would expect to hear in an establishment such as this and I would hope that this girl did not mean this any derogatory or racist way. Small things like watching what you say while you are at work can really make all the difference.

Overall a fantastic stay, however, management, I would hope that you can mention to your staff member that walls really do have ears.

We will return

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerNinjaNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This place is great.. From the moment you arrive, and I mean enter the car park someone is waiting to help u find a park and then help with your bags! One of the great things about this place is
you can park on site! You pay for it but well worth it. The rooms are typical lodge standard but are really big which makes a difference! The little kitchenette was handy but we had breakfast and dinner included so didn't need it. The meals were very good with 3 options for entree, main and dessert ( so hard to choose!) . On our last night it was my daughters birthday, I rang ahead and they organised a cake on the night with candles etc and several of the staff came over and sang nice touch! This was no extra charge!
Now if you have kids, they operate a kids club from 6-9 pm everyday they can eat there or with you and you can see them upstairs so if you have little ones its a bonus.
I not a skier so the fantastic lounge area the all day coffee and daily newspapers were a bonus also. The proximity to the lifts is great. They have extensive drying facilities and it goes on and on. If you can afford this place... Now take into account meals, evening child minding and proximity to the snow it's fair value. So try it! We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tania m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for a long weekend with my family group of eleven. The booking was arranged in four adjacent rooms which were of a good standard. The location is great for an on snow holiday, the food is also very good. The service is very friendly and respectful, this sets this hotel apart. A snow holiday in Australia is not a cheap experience, but the facilities and the service of the hotel help you maximise the opportunity to spend time on the mountain, and relax in a friendly apres ski environment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnyjim_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hosts Ann & Brian have a fantastic team working for them and all make you feel like nothing is too much trouble.
The 3 course meal that is included was awesome and a choice of several dishes for each course that was different every night. Top that with great wait and bar staff and this could have been a 5 star restaurant in the city, but to get this standard as part of a ski resort accommodation package was very pleasantly surprising.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CWL1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We didn't stay here only ate. Nice atmosphere with good views of the valley. Service was great but we felt the food overpriced for what you got. Of particular concern was when I went to pay and was told if I wanted to pay with a card I could "go to reception in 10 minutes or go into the bar and use the ATM to get cash". When I did go to pay I was overcharged but realised before I gave authorisation - I'd like to think it may have been just a start of season hiccup for an establishment such as this in such a special location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Have stayed here numerous times spanning over 10 years and always consistently good. Variety of rooms available are excellent including intimate couples, bunk bed rooms for older kids and family suites with adjoining rooms for mum and dad and kids next door. Some rooms have kitchenettes but two meals a day is included in the tariff and coffee/tea making facilities always available in lounge and bar area. Supervised games room available during school holiday periods and live entertainment (e.g 2-3 piece band and/or piano player) during peak season at least. Laundry and sauna facilities.THE BIG BONUS ABOUT THIS VENUE IS THEY OFFER DRIVE IN/OUT UNDERCOVER PARKING FOR THE LENGTH OF YOUR STAY! A extremely rare commodity at Perisher Valley. You need to pre book parking at time of accommodation booking. Access to the garage door is at the front of the hotel directly opposite the Ski Tube Terminal. Remember your car chains if you are taking advantage of the parking as sometimes there is snow right up to the garage door with intercom entry. If you are parking your car at Friday Flat and catching the ski Tube, the Hotel is a flat easy 100metres from the Perisher Ski Tube Terminal.

Room Tip: Couples alone or with older children get a 1st Floor mountain view and if required a family room acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just finished a weeks stay here and really loved it. We are a young family and it really suited us down to a tee. Tremendous value for on-snow stays in Australia if you consider the high quality three course meals, kids club, hospitality and close and central proximity in Perisher Valley. We spent a long time looking at comparable accommodation and we were very pleased with this place. The rooms are perfectly adequate although not flash but we spent a grand total of about an hour per day in it - who cares when you can sit in the beautiful lounge relaxing while your children are cared for. Brilliant.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
0.3 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
87 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#8 of 8 in Perisher Valley
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Man from Snowy River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man from Snowy River Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Rd, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range: £173 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Man from Snowy River Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located on Kosciuszko Road, opposite the skitube terminal in Perisher Valley. We have a variety of rooms to suit serious skiers, a romantic get away or a family ski vacation. Our staff offer a high level of helpful and friendly service. Facilities include undercover parking, drying room and ski room, 2 bars, open fires, dining room, steam room & gym and complimentary laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Man from Snowy River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing