We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be friendlier!”
Review of Barrakee Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barrakee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Jindabyne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't be friendlier!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A huge thanks to Sharn, Craig, Mitch and team for a super warm and friendly stay with our friends and family over the June Long Weekend. A perfect mountain lodge, great food and comfy rooms. The service made me feel so welcome and all requests were met with a smile. A professional and relaxed vibe!!

We stayed to experience the Perisher Peak Music Festival that was sensational. Not only was the music awesome, but to be walking around Perisher or taking a ride on the troopie to a venue while absorbing the mountain atmosphere was a unique festival experience, Sunday morning brought a flurry of winter snow that lifted the spirits of everyone and the overall festival vibe amped up again!!! Well done Perisher and the festival team.

Room Tip: The family room that has two rooms interconnected via the ensuite doors is great for families with k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0Larkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jindysharnie, Manager at Barrakee Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay, Jo. Hopefully we'll see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Barrakee for ski season opening weekend 2014, and it was brilliant. Craig, Sharn and their team are absolutely amazing and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. Food was fantastic, service was sensational and the facilities are excellent. Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jindysharnie, Manager at Barrakee Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
It was definitely a fun weekend. Thanks for your company. We enjoyed meeting you and I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayboro, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Craig, Sharn and the staff were all super welcoming and made us feel at home. We felt as though nothing was a hassle. The food was first class and the room perfect. We really couldn't have asked for a better time and we'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jindysharnie, Manager at Barrakee Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Yes, good food, good wine, good company, good music and even a little snow on Saturday night! Life doesn't get much better, does it? Thanks for the feedback and hopefully we'll see you at Barrakee again next year for the Peak Music Festival. Or even later this season for a ski!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have stayed at Barrakee lodge many times. Craig, Sharn and all the staff are always very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and hassle free. The food is always excellent and often a big highlight and the bar is well stocked with good wines. The lodge is very cosy and includes a sauna and a squash court. I would not hesitate to recommend the lodge for a stay in the snow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neutral Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A group of us stayed at Barakee Lodge for a week and it added to the value of our trip. Craig and Sharn run a very friendly team that will make you feel well looked after. They have all your transport to the slopes covered, accommodating just about any needs. Forgot your gloves? They'll drive them out to you. At dinner time they create a very friendly, family like atmosphere that makes it easy to interact with other guests present - which extends to the bar afterwards. Food and service excellent, would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

from the moment you arrive you know that your stay is going to be a wonderful experience, Sharn & Craig are wonderful hosts, they could not do enough for us, the staff were fantastic, the service was fantastic, the food was fantastic, the Lodge is warm and cosy, all in all a great holiday experience, this was our first lodge experience, we would definitely return, Thanks Barrakee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We could not thank Sharn & Craig enough for our beautiful stay at Barrakee. The whole package was fantastic AA+ for comfort & style. 5 “GOLD” Stars for the divine Hospitality, Entertainment & service. Barrakee has performed on all levels for us, would highly recommend to all types of guest.(Families, singles, old, young, couples)The lodge is situated in the most wonderful location amongst the most gorgeous serenity and deepest powdery snow. The rooms are magnificent... everything from the carpet to the ceiling to the feature tiles in the bathroom… all compliment the lodge and it’s homely luxury feel. The rooms are heated and very spacious and the views are just breathtaking. Transport to and from the lodge was super simple and so effortless – We made 1 simple call to advise Sharn of our arrival time & there Craig was waiting for us with a smile on his face. Each day we were offered over snow transfers from the lodge to front valley and back again in the afternoon. The whole experience was so memorable. WELL DONE TO SUCH A FANTASTIC TEAM OF PEOPLE & THE MOST BEAUTIUFL LODGE OWNERS!
Ps. Shot Skis are not to be missed when staying at BARRAKEE

Room Tip: Any Room - your in paradise if your at Barrakee to begin with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perisher Valley hotels
7.2 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrakee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrakee Lodge

Property: Barrakee Lodge
Address: North Perisher, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrakee Ski Lodge is located at Nth Perisher, near to the Interceptor Quad Chair and at the base of the Nth Perisher T-bar. Located on snow, guests enjoy the full snow experience, from the moment they arrive by oversnow vehicle. Access to the resort is easy, via nearby lifts or complimentary shuttles. With a squash court for the more energetic, a sauna to ease those aching muscles and a fully licensed bar, Barrakee has after skiing covered too! Barrakee prides itself on offering fantastic hospitality with a welcoming atmosphere for all guests. Sensational meals and an impressive wine cellar will delight you. Guest rooms have been recently refurbished, for your comfort. Barrakee is more than a hotel - it is a home away from home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing