We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot of families”
Review of Valhalla Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valhalla Lodge
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely spot of families”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My two children aged 4 and 9 and my husband and I stayed at the Valhalla in August. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The chef, Amanda, was incredible - she personally sought us out to find out what our kids liked to eat!!! They arranged oversnow transport on our arrival and departure, and made sure all our needs were met.

The food was a 3 course 5 star quality. The kids ate at 6pm then played at the adjacent play room, which let us have a meal sort of in peace. We found 7pm a little late for dinner for ourselves, but we are parents of young children who keep us pretty busy and wake us early!

The location meant we could ski down to the slopes each day.

It was great for X Country skiing as it was 25m from the Nordic centre, so ideal for XCountry lovers.

The beds were extremely comfortable - better than most beds I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValhallaLodge, Owner at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and such a wonderful one at that! We're so happy that you had a great time at Valhalla and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great value accommodation in an ideal location for skiing or boarding at the snow.
The owners were attentive and very accommodating to any requests made by the guests.
All of the meals were cooked perfectly and the standard of the food was amazing.
The cheese and wine sessions in the afternoon was a great way to meet other like minded people and provided a nice relaxing environment after a full day on the snow.
We will be planning our next trip down there very soon and could not recommend Valhalla highly enough to anyone looking for on the snow accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubejames32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValhallaLodge, Director of Sales at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience at Valhalla. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The new owners have maintained the Valhalla warmth and hospitality and added a few new touches. A great place to stay in the snow; clean, cosy and friendly, with good food and comfy rooms. We will keep coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoD876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValhallaLodge, Director of Sales at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
As we too are past guests of Valhalla, we strive to offer the same standard and experience that we all enjoyed prior to the change in ownership. We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I think we made the best choice by staying at Valhalla Perisher. The meals were excellent; the room was great, comfortabe with heaps of storage and a wonderful view. The best parts were the excellent friendly service, the pleasant company in the lounge and the over snow transfers. So to Kai, Amanda, Sophie and Nick and especially to Collin we say a big THANKS. You make a great team.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValhallaLodge, Director of Sales at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Valhalla. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My children & I have spent a week at Valhalla every year for the last 10 years or so, since the kids were little. They refuse to stay anywhere else, & they are quite right! The lodge is in a great spot, with views across to Mount P, past Front Valley, North P & beyond. Prime spot for the fireworks, & you can (usually) ski down in the morning. Getting home is not a problem, with complimentary Hans vouchers. Cross country trails are right on the doorstep. Rooms are spacious, comfortable & clean, & the lounge is great for meeting fellow guests & relaxing before dinner. Kids have their own space in the lower lounge. Food is always good, & Kai (the manager) makes sure everything runs smoothly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeet35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValhallaLodge, Director of Sales at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for your great review and recommendation. We are so happy that you continue to enjoy staying at Valhalla and that Valhalla continues to hold special memories for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been going to the snow for 40 years and Valhalla is just the best expeience ever. The guests and staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The meals were 5 star and the rooms were well appointed. We would love to go every year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValhallaLodge, Director of Sales at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to welcoming you back to Valhalla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Last week, my partner suprised me to a spur of the moment, "last minute" weekend away to Perisher. We usually stay in Jindabyne so it was a lovely change to stay up on the slope.

From the beginning of our stay all the staff were extremely helpful and accomodating. We were a little later leaving Sydney than expected and didnt arrive until 8pm, we were greeted at the Ski Tube by Kai who was very friendly and took us up to the lodge on our first Scadoo ride (so much fun).
They had dinner waiting for us, which was delicious, and then showed us to our king room which overlooked the skifield and Mt Perisher.
The beds were amazing and the central heating throughout the lodge was much appreciated and very cosy.
Hot breakfasts and three course dinners were provided each day, along with a cheese platter each afternoon. The food was all fantastic, and they were kind enough to cater to my gluten and lactose intolerances at very short notice.
We grew very fond of the place and the staff very quickly and will definately be back.
And I got to ski from the very front door to the lifts!
Thanks for making our weekend so fantastic,
Megan & Alex

Room Tip: We had an Upper Level King Suite which looked over the ski field and Mount Perisher! Magical Views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValhallaLodge, Director of Sales at Valhalla Lodge, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear that you had a fantastic weekend away at Valhalla and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
7.6 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
57 reviews
8.8 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valhalla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Lodge

Property: Valhalla Lodge
Address: 31 Candle Heath Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Valhalla Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 En suite rooms, a luxury home-like atmosphere, superb ski out location, stunning panoramic views, delicious meals, excellent long standing reputation and experienced friendly staff. So convenient to all that Perisher has to offer for snow skiers, boarders and cross country enthusiasts, yet set in a quiet almost private location away from the hustle and bustle and thunder of the snow makers. Ski out 400m to Front Valley and cross country trails are just across from the lodge. Best suited to couples, small groups of friends or families with older kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Valhalla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing