We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay on the snow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perisher Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Perisher Valley Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing stay on the snow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We just got back from a 3 night stay in a tower suite with our 2 young children. The hotel location was amazing and the staff were so helpful. It was so easy to stroll down to the ski school / daycare centre and drop off the kids, leaving us free to snowboard all day long. The restaurant was great - really family friendly and our little girl loved running around playing with new friends she made. A lovely log fire and live music every night, we loved every minute!

A big thanks to all the staff at The Perisher Valley Hotel - we can't wait to come back again! The Grantham Family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Alpine Suite with corner view of the front mountain. Absolute best on snow experience in Australia. Food has been sublime. We were very impressed with the restaurant, Snow Gums. Wonderful. Excellent fine dining. Recommend to book around 7.30 pm for dinner for quieter adult dining. Our suite was comfortable had 5 stay. We celebrated a special birthday and had an amazing time. This is a
top spot. Good value. Only negative is how hard it is to now ski in as they have extended
beginners area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieOdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We travelled with our 3 young kids in July 2014 - the PVH was fantastic. The staff are exceptional, the food was superb and the room was large and spacious (mountain valley view). We agonised over the decision between here and the Perisher Manor and we made the right choice. The location is exceptional - the ski school is directly under the hotel so drop off and pick up was really easy for the kids and it is a two minute walk/ski to the v8 chairlift. We just wish we could have stayed for longer.

Room Tip: Any of the mountain view rooms are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I visited Perisher Valley Hotel on Mon 21-Tues 22 July 2014, the location is absolute ON Snow and so perfect to literally Ski in and out of our accommodation. I traveled up with a friend and we loved every minute of it. The Snowgums restaurant is sensational, the food was yum & loved the cocktail bar ;) there is nothing like keeping hydrated after a day on the mountain snowboarding... it would be rude not too!! The ambiance of the fire place right at the front of the restaurant gave us a warm feeling while watching everyone freezing outside, I certainly could have sat there all afternoon with a big bottle of red and watched everyone ski past!!
The snow coverage was epic, with all 47 lifts operating and the we scored big time with the weather and it was clear blue skies, the mountain looked so pristine from the hotel. This is my number #1 pick for accommodation on the mountain, best location, good for couples, friends/family or even solo!
Thanks to all the staff for making us feel so welcome and to the girl at reception who said we could have 2 apples each from the fruit bowl haha!
much appreciated, see you when we are back in Sept! cant wait!
cheers
Nitelle & Mel

Room Tip: Mountain View Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0veTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband & I stayed here on the week-end of 4th-6th July 2014. For the past couple of years we have stayed at the Sundeck Hotel with our child, but have now found our new Hotel of choice.
I was a bit apprehensive due to the poor reviews on service and as we only booked at the last minute due to the recent snowfall, we got the last room.
We pre-booked one of the 8 parking spots at $25/night. These parks are a chained off section of the public car park. We got to the car park then rang reception. Within 10mins we were met by the oversnow transport and shown to the park. Staff had all our gear out of our car and on our way before we could blink. We didn't lift a finger either when we arrived at the hotel 3 mins later. Our skis/boots were taken to the ski room & put away within minutes. Reception couldn't be more helpful and very friendly. Our bags were taken straight to our room whilst we checked in.
Before heading to our 'standard room' we were shown to the Snowgums Restaurant to book for dinner. As we didn't have any children with us we were advised to book later to avoid all the children.
The 8 person spa has a large window so you can sit in the bubbles and watch all the skiiers. You book it in 20min slots and lock the room so you don't have to share the spa with anyone else. You call reception when you get in the room to turn on the bubbles, then it automatically turns off in 15mins. There is also a sauna and 2 showers with shampoo/conditioner/soap dispensers and towels.
Being school holidays and such a handy location the restaurant was chockablock with young families. We booked for 7pm and were put at a corner table. There was no allocated seating times which was a nice change from the other 2 places we've stayed in Perisher. Dress was a complete mixture. Some people stayed in their ski gear. One Asian woman wore here PJ's, whilst we just dressed as we were going to the movies (as did majority of people).We were quite hungry skiing all day so weren't overly impressed that we were given the wrong menu twice by 2 different waiters which wasted 1/2hr. Although the food on the 1st night made up for it and my husband being a very big eater had plenty to eat. Breakfast was all you could eat buffet.
Unfortunately on the 2nd night there was a buffet. Now after a hard day's skiing the last thing I felt like was the usual rubbishy self-serve all-you-can-eat buffet but unfortunately that's exactly what we got. In saying that my husband said the crab was delicious and he's usually quite fussy with crab. The prawns were your usual tasteless thawed prawns. The service on the second night was appalling. I'm pretty sure the waiters were told to avoid eye contact at all cost just in case we actually required anything like our dessert wine actually served with our dessert or a fresh napkin or clean water bowl after the seafood.. I went to bed quite hungry and disappointed on the 2nd night.
There was a solo singer with a guitar playing in the corner of the restaurant on both nights which was quite lovely.
Apparently getting the last available room in the hotel, we were told it was a 'standard room'. I'm not sure if all the standard rooms face the mountain but we were in the middle of the 1st floor facing the mountain so were pretty happy. The room was ample with a King bed and a bunk bed plus a big wardrobe and table and 2 chairs against the window. Although we had a decent size plasma t.v it was only worth watching fox as the reception on pay tv was freezing every few seconds making it unwatchable. Water pressure in the shower was great and the heating was via electric wall thermostat.
Now if you're a light sleeper (as I am) I highly recommend earplugs. The Friday night I was kept awake for a couple of hours from 11.30pm-1.30am by partygoers outside leaving the main arcade. Then woken approx. 4.30am by the snow groomers. Then on the Sunday morning we were woken by 6am by the workers outside very noisily breaking up all the snow on the path. outside.
I booked a 1 hr massage for $120 with Carol. Well worth it. You can claim on your health insurance so long as you're not with Medibank Private (guess who I'm with, oh well still worth the indulgence).
After check-out we left our gear in the kids room (that has 3 PS-3's with plasma tvs). After skiing all day we were given access to the spa room for 1/2 hr to spa and shower before departure. We did pre-book the oversnow transport back to our car although some very rude guest who mistakenly thought the high price paid afforded him the rudeness of jumping the queue, set our journey back about 40mins. The staff were extremely apologetic about this but didn't stop it happening in the 1st place. In saying this we again didn't have to lift a finger to get our gear back to our car.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely. What did I learn? Bring ear plugs and don't be in a hurry to eat. Book ahead for the spa and a massage.

Room Tip: Due to the location of the hotel I would assume all the rooms would get the noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lill1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very disappointed compared to our last stay. This time round service was very disappointing, food was just ok. The location is great, although workers were shovelling snow at 5:30 am outside the window of our room making an excessively loud noise that was impossible to sleep through. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family and I have just stayed Friday, Saturday and Sunday 27th 28th and 29th June. Perfect location and that is where it stops unfortunately. My experience was so poor I felt compelled to jump on the computer this Monday morning to write this review. Both nights the heating stopped their c-bus went into stand by mode and my 7-10 old children froze as the bunk bed we positioned against the outside window of the room in what was blizzard conditions. On top of this the room prep was very ordinary my wife was left to walk to reception for simple things like toilet paper and room was not as clean as it should be.

Food in the restaurant was very limited lacking any real selection more akin to something you might find at the local suburban eatery and the wine list was OK.

Management here lack any real interpersonal or management skills and in general the establishment is disorganised due to this fact. My assessment and rating is based on the room rate which was approx $1350 per night and what one should expect to have for this type of outlay. I would say this was not value for money in any sense of the word and would recommend considering all options before booking here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 74Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perisher Valley
0.1 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perisher Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perisher Valley Hotel

Property: Perisher Valley Hotel
Address: Perisher Centre | Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Perisher Valley Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Perisher Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing