We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on the mountain in Perisher”
Review of Chalet Sonnenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Sonnenhof
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay on the mountain in Perisher”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Highly recommend Sonnenhof for a on-moutain stay. Family run, plus great staff. Finish your day of skiing with a drink in the pub, followed by an excellent home cooked three course dinner. And then put your feet up in front of the fireplace in the lounge over a glass of red.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This place is WAY overpriced and over rated! the service is poor the food is like prison food(they tell you what to eat)and it looks nothing like what's on their web site, false advertising( a mouth watering steak) the spa is never open the owners husband needs a personality change. I will never ever stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete12345689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
I'm sorry you feel this way, and I don't understand why you didn't mention any of this "if " you did in fact stay here. We have had many guests stay here this season and haven't had any complaints about the food, only compliments. The spa has operated every scheduled day this winter. We can not understand why anybody would create a malicious story like this.
P.S. I have never tried "prison food".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, rooms were basic but clean & warm, we didn't spend much time there anyway! restaurant was good, mealtime didn't offer many options but it was delicious. Bar was good, had games & cards for us to play + pool table. The owners & staff are lovely people. Nev picked us up from the ski tube building on our arrival, thankfully as it would've been a long hike uphill with luggage! Our only complaint (& not chalet sonnehofs fault) was the 2 times we had to use Hans Oversnow (because conditions were too atrocious to walk that far) they were rude & really really expensive!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadelangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just got back from a week's stay at Sonnenhof and can't wait for next time! I don't even know where to start - everything was great. The chalet has a bit of a European feel and the people who own and work there are all so lovely. The food was absolutely amazing every single night - exactly what we wanted after a day on the mountain. The bar has tonnes of character and we actually preferred coming back and having a few drinks there (much cheaper and more fun) rather than any of the other pubs. They do a great apple martini! The rooms were basic but very comfortable and the lack of TV was actually a huge benefit - it was just the push we needed to get out into the social areas, play some pool and meet the other guests. It was a really good week - can't fault it at all.
A couple of personal preferences - there is a cafe at the bottom of Eyre T-bar which has great burgers and hot chocolates, the Base which at the bottom of Perisher Manor does good lunches with a decent amount of atmosphere and lots of gluhwein. These places avoid the canteen feel which seems to be standard everywhere else, and due to the average snow conditions we spent a lot of time at both. Until it started snowing anyway!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who will listen. Do yourself a favour and book it. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcd_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oatlands, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our family of 6 recently stayed in the Chalet. We booked a family room that includes breakfast and dinner. When we arrived, Karen offered us an extra room for the children complimentary! The staff are very friendly and helpful. It was also my husband's birthday the week we stayed and I requested the chef to bake a chocolate cake for 30 people. He gladly made a delicious chocolate cake and even wrote Happy Birthday! They also offered to take us to the skitube with all our luggage on our last day. Left my son's ski boots and they are happy to deliver it to the rental place for us in Cooma! Thank you Karen and Neville!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritonismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

My partner and I went to Perisher over the long weekend for one night only. We did not have accommodation arranged prior.
We booked this accommodation on the day we wanted to stay and were offered a special price of $99 per person with hot breakfast included.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't require anything other than a bed and bathroom and that's all the room had. The room had a double bed and a single bed as well as an ensuite.
There was a communal tv/living room with a pool table as well as a sauna downstairs.
The service was incredibly friendly and we were made to feel at home.
I would definitely pay more to stay here again, close to the snow. We had planned to stay in Jindabyne to save money but we are so glad we didn't have to worry about driving after an exhausting day in the snow.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had a 3 night stay mid week and it was perfect. The hosts were friendly, the food was amazing especially the crackling on our entree. We loved it so much that bowls of extra crackling were put on the tables. The views from the room and dining room were stunning. We were lucky we could ski straight from the front door to the lifts. Bonus was having the overlander pick us up in the afternoon. The rooms were fine although the bathroom was a bit on the small side! No TV in the room but one in the lounge room. Fabulous roaring fire. The spa was welcome after skiing all day. Only thing was kids using the hallway as a running track! Loved Chalet Sonnenhof and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perisher Valley hotels
7.9 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Perisher Manor
Perisher Manor
#7 of 8 in Perisher Valley
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Sonnenhof

Property: Chalet Sonnenhof
Address: Off Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chalet Sonnenhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing