We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
George IV Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Picton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maclin Lodge Motel(Campbelltown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camden Valley Golf Resort(Catherine Field)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mittagong Motel(Mittagong)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
7
8
6
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
8
6
1
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We dropped by here for lunch on sunday and were very glad we did. With two little ones in tow and a pretty chilly day we managed to snare a table by the cosy open fire. The wait staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, checking on us throughout lunch to see how things were. I only wish we had staff that cared about the patrons as they do in thirroul. We expected pub fare and were really impressed with the food. Definitely exceeded our expectations and priced well. Thankyou we will be back again soon but with even more family next time.

Room Tip: Didn't stay , just came for lunch.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank And1moremakes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

From the outside this looked liked the place to be. Lots of local attendee's for the pub side of the hotel, live music, live sport on the tv and a bustling crowd.
We checked into our room and found the accommodation to be comfortable with two single beds, a bar fridge with water, and tea/coffee supplies. There is a shared bathroom facility again nothing fancy but very adequate, clean and large.
The pub offers great beer selection, a great vibe and brilliant food. Nothing fancy but very tasty and great portions.
We stayed overnight as we were attending a sports event in Picton and needed an early nights sleep in comfy accommodation. The only down fall the residing in a pub... the lively vibe which we came to love in the pub also carried on into the courtyard which all accommodation opens onto. We struggled for sleep until the music and crowd went home. I suppose we should have expected this on a Friday night, however were disappointed that the pub moved the mosic into the courtyard, or at least should have closed that area off after certain hours to respect any wishes for the hotel guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesUster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Attended a party and stayed in the rooms. Food was excellent and stylishly presented. Rooms simple and very clean. Band was great and added to the atmosphere. I think they cannot make too many changes due to the AGE of the place -would risk losing the Olde Worlde Charm... Lovely Grapevine covered courtyard.... We'll be back

Room Tip: Affordable and Clean
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MezzzSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

First time to visit the George. Food OK, staff very friendly. The band that played was called 'Underwraps'. Great rock band, singer was sensational and very impressed with one of the guitar players who was blind!! Hope to go back when they on again...

Room Tip: Sorry, didn't stay overnight.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank shirley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed here 3 months ago, it was comfortable but a little worn then, but we came back Yesterday regardless as the atmosphere is to die for, and were so surprised to see the rooms (5) that we stayed in last time were all modernised, new carpet, paint, heaters and convieniences. It is such an old pub, you really CAN NOT complain about the shared bathrooms! As for value for money I have stayed at campsites that have cost more than this per night! cheap as chips. The publican (Peter) is a very warm and inviting host and has so many good ideas for rejuvenating this Significantly historic NSW establishmnet, We will be coming back for a long while yet (even though I do expect the price to increase per night).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Winston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews