We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Port Stephens
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Yes this is an older hotel and is in need of renovations. In saying that we had a large room with spa. Balcony overlooked garden with lots of trees. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. Bed was okay as were the pillows. Check in was easy and friendly. Breakfast was included and was a buffet style. Plenty of selection and everything was pipping hot. The Shoreline Steak was fantastic. 8 of us went for dinner and we all gave it 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderShores, General Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Many thanks for your review of the property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for your favourable comments on our friendly staff and Shoreline Restaurant, I will certainly pass your comments on to Chef and his team.

We do hope to see you back soon in Port Stephens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    202
    212
    91
    55
See reviews for
153
349
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Pros- Great service, location & pool, amazing food in the downstairs restaurant, great band on Friday night, excellent breakfast included with our voucher

Cons- Very old decor, saggy & uncomfortable mattress, no privacy on the balcony- smoking couple next door caused us to wake in the early hours of Sat morning & have to close our door each night & run the air con- shame as we were enjoying the water breeze & sound of the waves below, also didn't sit on our balcony after they arrived due to no privacy & not wanting smoke in our faces. Suggest the hotel have a smokers only section of the hotel, or when booking, place you next to non-smokers

Otherwise had an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: I'd prob go with the spa room next time as the room looks more modern & the views look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanheart98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderShores, General Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Many thanks for your review of the property, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. As a budget-conscious venue, we are surrounded by natural bushland and Port Stephens water views, aspects which are quite popular with our guests. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed the Shoreline Restaurant and breakfast, I will certainly pass your comments on to Chef and his team.

Smoking is not permitted within the rooms, therefore guests only option is to use their private balconies and we do assume that during their stay they will be considerate to other guests in adjacent rooms, I apologise that this impacted on your stay.

We do hope to see you back soon in Port Stephens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Unfortunately the style of the hotel is working against it. It is classic terrible 60's/70's design which does it no favours. The staff were friendly enough and told me of an excellent restaurant nearby. The car park was being partly resurfaced when I arrived which meant a longish walk dragging bags. The hotel room faced the ocean and was very clean but dated. Room facilities were okay and the bed was perfectly okay for one night. Breakfast - well a bit of a non event for what was on offer. It either needs a huge amount of money spending on it or better still knock it down and build a modern hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotofinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I think my review on this would be as follows - Staff lovely and found them extremely polite.
The rooms old and our bathroom was in need of upgrading.
The view on the balcony was great.
The actual pub was fantastic and great atmosphere and country feel.
I think honestly Port Stephens needs a modern Hotel to capture this beautiful place.
Regardless we had a great time because family live there and we were celebrating a 30th.
But if I was visiting because of a holiday I guess I would think omg cannot believe its so old and would rather pay more for better quality thats for sure.
There was nowhere else to book in so we really had no choice which is a shame.
Upgrade definately required.

Room Tip: If you are not worried about the quality of the rooms then this is an ideal place to stay for friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderShores, General Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing the property following your recent stay. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service to our guests and being a preferred budget-conscious option for visitors. Having the pub on-site certainly offers guests a casual atmosphere to enjoy the local entertainment on a Friday night or enjoy a casual meal and I'm pleased you enjoyed this aspect of the property.

We certainly hope you will come back to Port Stephens in the near future and enjoy our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The views and the location is prime but that's about where the positives stop from this review. When you open the door the first thing you see is this outdated room which the carpet is so stained that your not sure if its blue or green anymore. The CRT 34cm tv with anologue tuner reception is dreadful reminds me back when we had to watch tv with bad reception and lines going through it. Ordered dine in one night for the room service well lets say cardboard pizza, forgot half the menu orderered including extras on the pizza, the water requested and our entree platter was missing the prosciutto promised in the menu!
Its a shame as it has huge potential this hotel and even though its a coastal beach place most ppl that stay here are tourists who expect these days decent up to date clean rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roberto m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalamanderShores, General Manager at Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review of our property and for acknowledging our fabulous location and views. Guests truly experience relaxed and tranquil surroundings when they stay here.

I acknowledge your comments regarding the rooms and can advise that there has been discussions for some time now regarding a staged refurbishment which will see the rooms renewed. Work did commence on the property last year with an overhaul of the guest car park area.

Regarding your unfortunate in-house dining experience, I do apologise and have passed your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager to look into.

I sincerely hope you return to visit the beautiful Port Stephens again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Stephens hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
4.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
548 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
4.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
168 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,046 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores

Property: Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
Address: 147 Soldiers Point Rd, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2317, Australia (Formerly All Seasons)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores - affordable waterfront accommodation. Nestled in three acres of manicured gardens, the Hotel is a secluded hideaway 2.5 hours from Sydney. Close to attractions, the great value All Seasons Port Stephens Salamander Shores offers direct beach access and coastal fun for the whole family. Its 80 accommodation rooms boast garden or bay views and its many facilities make it ideal for a relaxing holiday or weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Stephens
Port Stephens Comfort Inn
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores Australia, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing