We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take insect repellant”

Hunter Region Botanic Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hunter Region Botanic Gardens are the only Botanic Gardens in the Hunter Valley and provide a multipurpose destination venue that offers our visitors a peaceful and beautiful garden and bushland setting. There is a cafe and gift shop, nursery sales, guided tours, Children's Adventure Trail and facilities for weddings, conferences and other functions. The Gardens are also a centre for research, education and knowledge sharing on botanical matters for the Hunter Region.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Take insect repellant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely gardens, great tracks to walk around, take aero guard, they need more items on the food menu, sad that you have to pay to park in the carpark.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    9
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Lambton
Level Contributor
598 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“An amazing example of what volunteers can achieve!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Totally created and maintained by volunteers, these gardens are a world class facility. An amazing range of plants, both native and exotic, including succulents( cacti). Well organised and with lovely paved paths through many of the displays as well as longer bush walks through the wetlands and surrounding area. Well run cafe(again volunteers), a shop with a good variety of goods, and a convenient BBQ area for self catering. My wife and I have visited on a number of occasions, and last time took my 88 year old mother and her husband. She particularly found the paved paths weaving amongst the various display gardens as fascinating. We experienced NO mossies (harden up, Alex T-or come prepared if you are near a wetlands area!). Overall, a wonderful experience and worthy of multiple visits. Well done, dedicated volunteers!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relaxing walk and a cafe to boot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Botanic Gardens at Heatherbrae are close to the township of Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens. We visited the gardens on a warm Sunday as it was close to where we live and stress free. The gardens are rather bland this time of year, coming into Winter, but we viewed bird life and kangaroos close by. Huge variety of fauna. There is a little cafe which serves lovely scones and tea/coffee plus light lunches and snacks. There is also a gift shop. Quite a nice, relaxing afternoon and recommended for visitors to the area. There isn't an entry fee as such but you have to purchase a token (only a couple of dollars) to exit the car park, and donations are appreciated.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Unicorn519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“MOSQUITO INFESTED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The place is infested with mosquitos - we went around mid April 2014
My jeans that I had not washed for 6 months attracted roughly 50 mosquitos no joke.
Girlfriend got attacked by 25 or so.
Had a bad time.
Left the premesis after 10 minutes
Had to pay $4 to open the boom gate.

Cafe smells really bad once you walk in staff members are also not very friendly as they are volunteer staff members.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter Region Botanic Gardens also viewed

 
Port Stephens, Greater Newcastle
Medowie, Port Stephens
 

Been to Hunter Region Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing