We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shame this place is off the beaten track” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Francis Drake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sir Francis Drake Inn
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Port Stephens
Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A shame this place is off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed here on our way from Melbourne to Ballina. Don't think Raymond Terrace is on anyone's radar any more but it is a good half way point for us. This motel has seen better days and is perhaps a bit too pricey for what is offered but it is a nice place, with huge rooms, each looking out into a very big garden area where the pool is. Bed is comfortable and linen nice. It is clean and quiet and has a nice atmosphere and seems to be the best on offer in this sleepy little town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    41
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
40
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Having arrived here in the late hours of the night, We were pleasently surprised with the rooms which were provided to us : They were Huge! They were suites and extremly comfortable. Though it was quite late at night, the owners provided us a few beers to wash down before we shut down for the night.
There was ample space for parking, and the lunch at the restaurent was also great both in quality and quantity. The rooms overlooked a large and beautiful garden.
All in a very pleasent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Having got totally lost we came across this motel and booked in for the night. The room was HUGE, it had both a front and back door. We were round the back so not a sound from the road. The back door parking area overlooked horse paddocks the front door overlooked lovely gardens. There were a few scuffed tiles in the bathroom but no great issue. The whole room was very clean, everything worked well and the bed was very comfy. Would not hesitate in staying again.

Room Tip: We got horribly lost. There is a very large round a bout at Raymond Terrace - take the Newcastle/Syd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed here one Saturday night on our way home from the north coast with two other couples travelling with us. We had rooms #12, 13, & 14 and found them all spotless,large and with everything we needed, (although the decor was, a little dated, everything worked well). Enjoyed a beautiful dinner in the restaurant, which was absolutely delicious. Service was excellent as was the wine.
Plenty of parking at your door, and rooms are back from the highway so it was nice and quiet and we all had a lovely nights sleep.
No problems here at all and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juzshmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for one night. The room was spacious but had no microwave. The toilet had not been cleaned, as well as the shower. There was mould all down one panel of the shower door, and scattered throughout the tiles. The tiles were not coated with slip proof liquid - once wet the tiles were extremely slippery and dangerous. They advise you to pass on all feedback as you may get a discounted rate or your money refunded on their feedback sheet. I completed it and also mentioned it verbally when checking out. I was told that perhaps a new person cleaned it, and that was that. Also the row of units where we stayed face a horse paddock so you get the smell of horse manure, something not mentioned in their ads. Their restaurant was great, but I would never stay there again. I doubt they ever discount the accommodation fee if there are problems.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JS2407JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Stephens hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We had about the biggest motel room I have ever stayed in. My husband had stayed before many years ago when it was a lot newer for a conference.
It was very clean but dated. Plasma and foxtel
Would stay again.
Plenty of outside room and central garden.
Cleaning staff were very helpful and polite when I needed a bandaid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joondalup, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

I stayed in one of the executive spa suites and what a delightul, character filled suite it was.
The king bed was so very comfortable and the room was large and very nicely furnished.
The complex/grounds are beautiful and well cared for...
It is close to Newcastle and well placed to travel into Sydney.
I am looking forward to my next stay in this beautiful accomodation....

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedrake2324, Reception at Sir Francis Drake Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
We are pleased to hear you had a greta stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
2.0 mi away
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
16.8 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
2.8 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
#3 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Francis Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Francis Drake Inn

Property: Sir Francis Drake Inn
Address: 2259 Pacific Highway | Heatherbrae, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Francis Drake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Francis Drake - Heatherbrae is situated on the Pacific Highway just south of Raymond Terrace, and only 1.5 hours north of Sydney. We are conveniently located for our Corporate travellers. We are located only a 10 minute drive from Newcastle Airport and we are a fantastic base for leisure guests exploring the region. Our 40 rooms are among the largest motel rooms in NSW. All rooms are ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sir Francis Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Francis Drake Inn Port Stephens, Australia, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing