We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel OK, restaurant horrid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sir Francis Drake Inn
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Port Stephens
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Pretty much what was expected for a Country Comfort motel - could do with a few dollars spent on maintenance.

The restaurant Golden Hind was terrible, service was so slow, a number of meals were cold, and certainly not worth the money they were charging. Drinks from the bar were tainted, the only thing we could put it down to was possibly dishwasher residue causing the drinks to be flat or tasting like they were chemical affected.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight for work. Had all the mod cons which Sydney CBD offers but more..... A friendly atmosphere.... Well done!! Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Rooms are huge, as stated by other reviewers. Yes probably too large, unless staying for an extended time, not necessary. Bathroom good, bed comfortable, staff friendly and accommodating. Pool looked inviting but too cold when we were there. Certainly looked to be a great place for a wedding. We did not eat in the restaurant, so cannot comment. Generally satisfactory.

Room Tip: Only stayed once, and our room was good, cannot comment on others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beemaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for an overnight stopover during our drive from Sydney to Brisbane. We chose it because of it's Trip Advisor rating. The good: 1. Large, spacious room with ample storage 2. Large spacious bathroom with ample shower. 3. Room appeared to be clean. The ugly: The large can of bug spray in the closet was the first clue that they have a bug problem. Sure enough there was a stink bug in the bathroom shortly after our arrival. The next morning my husband was greeted in the bathroom by a large cockroach (see photo.) Other than the extra "guests", this is an adequate, convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank indydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed at this motel for a few days while visiting family, we were amazed at how huge the rooms were and felt that it was quite a waste of space. All over the rooms were clean and comfortable, there was a wedding taking place on the weekend we were there and we were apprehensive about noise, but we were not disrupted at all, apart from being unable to use the restaurant on the Saturday night. My one big complaint about the place though is the fact that the reception staff were not as friendly as they could have been.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I booked a room late on Saturday 5th May in an attempt to meet up with my elderly parents at Raymond Terrace on Sunday 6th May. A medical emergency occurred within the family overnight on Sat 5th preventing our trip. We called the reservation centre during advertised hours - it was closed - and advised the motel on Sunday morning at 8am when the office opened that we were unable to make the trip due to a health emergency.
The motel advised that due to the booking rules they were unable to make a refund as did the booking centre (who offered a membership and some points in a much appreciated gesture).
The management of this motel have removed themselves from any reasonable involvement in our community by hiding behind electronic rules to maximise unearned income. This is, in my opinion a most unfortunate development accompanying web bookings and is, as with this establishment used entirely to their benefit.
BEWARE of this ATTITUDE when dealing with this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank 82avidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I was looking for a hotel on the Pacific Highway for an overnight stop on the way to Sydney and was very pleasantly surprised by the Sir Francis Drake inn. My room was HUGE with space to spare. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean and well appointed, the property nicely maintained and the desk staff was friendly. I have no hesitation is recommending the Sir Francis Drake if you need a hotel near Raymond Terrace

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Stephens hotels
2 mi away
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
121 reviews
7 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
226 reviews
16.8 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Karuah Gardens Motel
Karuah Gardens Motel
#3 of 3 in Karuah
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
#3 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
163 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Francis Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Francis Drake Inn

Address: 2259 Pacific Highway | Heatherbrae, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Stephens
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Francis Drake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Francis Drake - Heatherbrae is situated on the Pacific Highway just south of Raymond Terrace, and only 1.5 hours north of Sydney. We are conveniently located for our Corporate travellers. We are located only a 10 minute drive from Newcastle Airport and we are a fantastic base for leisure guests exploring the region. Our 40 rooms are among the largest motel rooms in NSW. All rooms are ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Francis Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Francis Drake Inn Port Stephens, Australia, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing