We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel(Raymond Terrace)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn(Raymond Terrace)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir Francis Drake Inn(Port Stephens)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfield Motel(Newcastle)
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gateway Inn(Newcastle)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Windsor Castle Hotel(Maitland)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Peaceful Palms B&B(Raymond Terrace)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
116
83
14
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
83
14
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomhope estatefree breakfastthe managersbbq areaclose to towngreat place to staycomfortable bedtoastlong drivenice poolqueen and single bedbasic breakfastan added bonusmain roadquiet motelsoy milk
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Not sure what has happened since the last review... we stayed there based on that.

Wish we had not! Unwelcome reception. The man gave us a half glass of milk for a cuppa?? When I asked for more he was obviously put out. Got a Spa room at 190 AUD and asked for more towels than the two small ones in the room - he asked me why I needed them??

No Spa products in the Room - miserable really. No decent glasses in the room, no KFS in case you got a take-away. No ice available! He was arrogant when I asked for ice - No! we don't do ice he said.
In essence, I would not recommend this place. There must be better out there on the road to/from wherever. These people should not be in the Motel business as he made us feel so uncomfortable and sadly, we were stuck as we had booked a few days in advance with CC details.

Go somewhere more friendly I say.

Room Tip: Awful welcome put us off it completely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brindle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for the comments forwarded,which have been duly noted.

I am at a loss that you saw our Motel and Management in the light described.

I am really at a loss in regard to your thoughts,I offered you extra Milk if required,when you asked about ice for your medication I advised that we did not have any on hand but did offer to put your medication in our freezer until required. When you asked for towels the reason I enquired was to ensure that there was in fact towels in the room and had not been overlooked when the room was serviced.I am sorry but we have no control over where KFC situate there stores.

As you can see by our customer reviews we take pride in providing our guests with the best quality of service.

At no time was Management rude,discourtious or disrespectfull to yourself or your partner.

Best Regards

John Gibson
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Booked at the very last minute on wotif. arrived late 830pm due to car problems which we felt bad for the owners who were still in office. They were so lovely and were so accommodating. As we were leaving very early in the morning we would have left before being able to enjoy the continental bfast. The owners suggested we grab some bfast for the morning there and then and went to lengths to make sure we had plenty to choose from. As I was riding a bike 140km both Sat and Sun was great to have that!. Room was great - Bfast was perfect. As we were riding north staying overnight and riding back we asked if we could park our car on site for the Sat night which was no problem.

Great spot, Great service and lovely people - definitely highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, relief care taker at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review............we are not the owners, we are relief care takers carrying out our duties as the owners would run the motel themselves.
We are so happy to hear that the restful nights sleep and healthy breakfast helped you have a successful ride and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spectacular service very clean rooms & comfy beds which gave a great nights sleep..
Lovely Staff!
Definetly value for money!
And a great breakfast included to see you on your way! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TianaShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Relieving Care taker at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for your very favorable review. We appreciate any feedback on our guests stay with us, both positive or negative.........but of course it is wonderful to get the positive.
Most guests are travelling long distances and use us as a stopping point on their trip, so If they can get a great nights sleep and start their day with a yummy, healthy breakfast, they can face the new day fresh and rested ready to continue their journey safely.
Since the new owners took over a couple of years ago, their number one priority is the comfort of their guests and it must be working as the numbers of repeat return guests is continually getting higher and higher and we hope you become one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stopped over on our way to and from Byron Bay travelling from the South Coast.
We found it to be comfortable,quiet,cleanwith great hot showers. Generous continental breakfast included in the very reasonably priced tariff.Hosts very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and an even bigger thank you for such a positive one. It is great to get feedback of any kind as it helps us keep connected with what our guests want. A yummy breakfast is a great way to start the day and we make it complementary as our way of saying "Thank you for choosing Sleepy Hill as your place to stay"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at Raymond Terrace so as to be close for a very early departure from Newcastle Airport, only 15 minutes drive away. The hosts (who job share, 4 weeks on, 4 weeks off) were very accommodating, giving us breakfast to take to our room, because we were leaving too early for breakfast in the breakfast room. The motel room was modern and clean, and met all expectations, nice shower, lots of hot water. We would have eaten dinner there but the Chef has left, so there are no dinners at present, we had read good reviews, but will have to try again next time. Very good overnight stay only 3 minutes drive from the shopping centre. We will stay again if flying out early in the morning.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank andrew55b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2013

Thank you for the positive review of our motel for other guests to read. All the staff at Sleepy Hill work very hard to ensure the rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the decor kept up to date. I think 99.9% of guests comment to us on the comfort of the beds and the wonderful showers so having someone comment on Trip Adviser about it makes us know we are doing something right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews