We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel has obviously been refurbished. While the outside is still a little dates, inside the room was great, modernish and very clean and comfortable. Hot, strong shower. Excellent bed and linen. The breakfast was more than adequate. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank TravellingAussieMuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed overnight on the way to Brisbane from Sydney. We booked last minute and Michelle was more than helpful while booking - even offered a choice of rooms to best accommodate us. When asked for best locations to take the family for dinner, they suggested a number of places locally, recommended child friendly places, and provided directions for us - very helpful.
The room was clean and well kept and my two boys loved the novelty of having a room and tv to themselves
Was a great place to stay and would not only stay again but definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Relief Manager/Care taker at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Sleepy Hill Motor Inn. Our guests comfort is important to us and something as simple as taking 5 minutes to choose between rooms can often make an enormous difference to their stay.
We are born and bred locals so the local knowledge is at our fingertips, which we have found extremely useful to our guests on many occasions.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again if you come this way on other occasions.
Michelle - Relief Manager/Care taker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Michelle & Gary were great hosts. The room was lovely, nice attention to detail and very quiet too. Lived our stay here. Would definitely stay again! Close enough to Raymond Terrace to enjoy all the restaurants, but far enough away to be nice & quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kool68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Relief Manager/Care taker at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you so much for posting a review for other guests to read. We do get a lot of positive comments regarding how quiet, comfortable and clean the rooms are which is such a bonus when staying in a different place to home.
It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you here again sometime.
- Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Started new job and didn't have a house initially booked for 3 nights on site managers had no issues extending stay multiple times at times last minute and with no end date. Room quite modern very clean for any hotel but this is an older style motel and had a wow factor because it was so nice and excellent value. Big comfortable bed,good bathroom, Huge TV. Microwave and minimal kitchen equipment more for overnights or eating out. Rooms numbers 30 up well away from road and noise. Heating very good for what were very cold nights Breakfast basic but good.on site management lovely couple very friendly and helpful. Stay again? Absolutely

Room Tip: Go for rooms 30 up for noise and refurb
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deservepampering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Not sure what has happened since the last review... we stayed there based on that.

Wish we had not! Unwelcome reception. The man gave us a half glass of milk for a cuppa?? When I asked for more he was obviously put out. Got a Spa room at 190 AUD and asked for more towels than the two small ones in the room - he asked me why I needed them??

No Spa products in the Room - miserable really. No decent glasses in the room, no KFS in case you got a take-away. No ice available! He was arrogant when I asked for ice - No! we don't do ice he said.
In essence, I would not recommend this place. There must be better out there on the road to/from wherever. These people should not be in the Motel business as he made us feel so uncomfortable and sadly, we were stuck as we had booked a few days in advance with CC details.

Go somewhere more friendly I say.

Room Tip: Awful welcome put us off it completely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brindle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for the comments forwarded,which have been duly noted.

I am at a loss that you saw our Motel and Management in the light described.

I am really at a loss in regard to your thoughts,I offered you extra Milk if required,when you asked about ice for your medication I advised that we did not have any on hand but did offer to put your medication in our freezer until required. When you asked for towels the reason I enquired was to ensure that there was in fact towels in the room and had not been overlooked when the room was serviced.I am sorry but we have no control over where KFC situate there stores.

As you can see by our customer reviews we take pride in providing our guests with the best quality of service.

At no time was Management rude,discourtious or disrespectfull to yourself or your partner.

Best Regards

John Gibson
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Booked at the very last minute on wotif. arrived late 830pm due to car problems which we felt bad for the owners who were still in office. They were so lovely and were so accommodating. As we were leaving very early in the morning we would have left before being able to enjoy the continental bfast. The owners suggested we grab some bfast for the morning there and then and went to lengths to make sure we had plenty to choose from. As I was riding a bike 140km both Sat and Sun was great to have that!. Room was great - Bfast was perfect. As we were riding north staying overnight and riding back we asked if we could park our car on site for the Sat night which was no problem.

Great spot, Great service and lovely people - definitely highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, relief care taker at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review............we are not the owners, we are relief care takers carrying out our duties as the owners would run the motel themselves.
We are so happy to hear that the restful nights sleep and healthy breakfast helped you have a successful ride and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spectacular service very clean rooms & comfy beds which gave a great nights sleep..
Lovely Staff!
Definetly value for money!
And a great breakfast included to see you on your way! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TianaShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Relieving Care taker at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for your very favorable review. We appreciate any feedback on our guests stay with us, both positive or negative.........but of course it is wonderful to get the positive.
Most guests are travelling long distances and use us as a stopping point on their trip, so If they can get a great nights sleep and start their day with a yummy, healthy breakfast, they can face the new day fresh and rested ready to continue their journey safely.
Since the new owners took over a couple of years ago, their number one priority is the comfort of their guests and it must be working as the numbers of repeat return guests is continually getting higher and higher and we hope you become one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raymond Terrace
0.8 mi away
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sir Francis Drake Inn
Sir Francis Drake Inn
#23 of 32 in Port Stephens
125 reviews
22.9 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
200 reviews
14.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
169 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
#3 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hill Motor Inn

Address: 92 Adelaide St | (Old Pacific Hwy), Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Raymond Terrace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Price Range: £69 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Hill Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After several years of changing owners and managers this property has been brought back to life by the present owners. The property has recently been refurbished (ongoing), incorporating a fresh new and up to date feel whilst maintaining the charm and elegance of an era gone-by. We have rooms ranging from single (queen bed), double (queen bed), Twin share, generous one or two bedroom family rooms, as well as King bed spa units. Prices range from budget through to Superior Deluxe. All guests receive a healthy, yummy, generous, complimentary breakfast each morning in our breakfast room beside the beautiful pool as our way to say thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sleepy Hill Motor Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sleepy Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing