We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
ballina, nsw
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fresh & Clean”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed overnight while returning home. Outside of motel looks a bit dated but the room was fresh & clean. Queen bed with good linen & pillows. Front door to carpark & a rear sliding & screen doors to small sitting area at rear. Microwave, fridge, toaster, tv & jug. Small table & 2 chairs. Exhaust fan in bathroom was noisy. Price included breakfast, toast, juice, cereals, tea & coffee. Restaurant was closed but plenty of good eat places short drive away. Hosts made us feel welcome and check in was quick. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. A healthy breakfast is a great way to start your day, especially when travelling. The delicious yogurt and fruit salad is hard to say no to.
The owners have spent a lot of money refurbishing the motel and they still have more to do, the bathroom exhaust fans are on the list to do, but everything takes time..............and money ha ha!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again if you visit Raymond Terrace.
Michelle & Garry - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    69
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
64
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this Motel on our way from Canberra to Coffs Harbour. A pleasant surprise, comfy bed and linen. Breakfast included. Very helpful staff. Well priced. Will definitely recommend to fellow travellers

Room Tip: Some of the back rooms have access to a grassed area. Very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauzie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager/Caretakers at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
It is always a treat to open our computer first thing in the morning and see a great review from Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to write one. All our staff work very hard to make sure our guests are made to feel comfortable and welcome. I will make sure I pass the compliments on to them, (as well as to the owners as it makes us look good ha ha).
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future.
Michelle & Garry - Managers/Caretakers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel has obviously been refurbished. While the outside is still a little dates, inside the room was great, modernish and very clean and comfortable. Hot, strong shower. Excellent bed and linen. The breakfast was more than adequate. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingAussieMuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed overnight on the way to Brisbane from Sydney. We booked last minute and Michelle was more than helpful while booking - even offered a choice of rooms to best accommodate us. When asked for best locations to take the family for dinner, they suggested a number of places locally, recommended child friendly places, and provided directions for us - very helpful.
The room was clean and well kept and my two boys loved the novelty of having a room and tv to themselves
Was a great place to stay and would not only stay again but definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Relief Manager/Care taker at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Sleepy Hill Motor Inn. Our guests comfort is important to us and something as simple as taking 5 minutes to choose between rooms can often make an enormous difference to their stay.
We are born and bred locals so the local knowledge is at our fingertips, which we have found extremely useful to our guests on many occasions.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again if you come this way on other occasions.
Michelle - Relief Manager/Care taker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Michelle & Gary were great hosts. The room was lovely, nice attention to detail and very quiet too. Lived our stay here. Would definitely stay again! Close enough to Raymond Terrace to enjoy all the restaurants, but far enough away to be nice & quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kool68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Relief Manager/Care taker at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review for other guests to read. We do get a lot of positive comments regarding how quiet, comfortable and clean the rooms are which is such a bonus when staying in a different place to home.
It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you here again sometime.
- Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Started new job and didn't have a house initially booked for 3 nights on site managers had no issues extending stay multiple times at times last minute and with no end date. Room quite modern very clean for any hotel but this is an older style motel and had a wow factor because it was so nice and excellent value. Big comfortable bed,good bathroom, Huge TV. Microwave and minimal kitchen equipment more for overnights or eating out. Rooms numbers 30 up well away from road and noise. Heating very good for what were very cold nights Breakfast basic but good.on site management lovely couple very friendly and helpful. Stay again? Absolutely

Room Tip: Go for rooms 30 up for noise and refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deservepampering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Not sure what has happened since the last review... we stayed there based on that.

Wish we had not! Unwelcome reception. The man gave us a half glass of milk for a cuppa?? When I asked for more he was obviously put out. Got a Spa room at 190 AUD and asked for more towels than the two small ones in the room - he asked me why I needed them??

No Spa products in the Room - miserable really. No decent glasses in the room, no KFS in case you got a take-away. No ice available! He was arrogant when I asked for ice - No! we don't do ice he said.
In essence, I would not recommend this place. There must be better out there on the road to/from wherever. These people should not be in the Motel business as he made us feel so uncomfortable and sadly, we were stuck as we had booked a few days in advance with CC details.

Go somewhere more friendly I say.

Room Tip: Awful welcome put us off it completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brindle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for the comments forwarded,which have been duly noted.

I am at a loss that you saw our Motel and Management in the light described.

I am really at a loss in regard to your thoughts,I offered you extra Milk if required,when you asked about ice for your medication I advised that we did not have any on hand but did offer to put your medication in our freezer until required. When you asked for towels the reason I enquired was to ensure that there was in fact towels in the room and had not been overlooked when the room was serviced.I am sorry but we have no control over where KFC situate there stores.

As you can see by our customer reviews we take pride in providing our guests with the best quality of service.

At no time was Management rude,discourtious or disrespectfull to yourself or your partner.

Best Regards

John Gibson
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raymond Terrace
0.8 mi away
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
111 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
180 reviews
14.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sir Francis Drake Inn
Sir Francis Drake Inn
#22 of 32 in Port Stephens
115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
#3 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hill Motor Inn

Property: Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Address: 92 Adelaide St | 92 Adelaide Street, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Raymond Terrace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Hill Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After several years of changing owners and managers this property has been brought back to life by the present owners. The property has recently been refurbished (ongoing), incorporating a fresh new and up to date feel whilst maintaining the charm and elegance of an era gone-by. We have rooms ranging from single (queen bed), double (queen bed), Twin share, generous one or two bedroom family rooms, as well as King bed spa units. Prices range from budget through to Superior Deluxe. All guests receive a healthy, yummy, generous, complimentary breakfast each morning in our breakfast room beside the beautiful pool as our way to say thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sleepy Hill Motor Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Sleepy Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing