We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mid journey stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleepy Hill Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mid journey stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

this is a perfect stopover location for anyone traveling from southern nsw to northern nsw /south queensland as i had just completed several 12 hour shifts in the lead up to xmas this motel was half way to our family home town
clean and comfortable rooms with continental breakfast with no highway noise had great nights sleep and quick response to email with booking enquires

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank les w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
I love reading the reviews ....especially when they are good ha ha! Thank you for taking the time to write one.
Our room attendants work very hard and set themselves a very high benchmark with their cleaning standards. I will make sure I pass you lovely comments onto them.
Email is fast becoming the number one way to book rooms these days so a quick response is essential. Thus the saying 'Early bird catches the worm'
Michelle - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    65
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
57
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently on our trip from Brisbane to Melbourne, it is the perfect first days driving distance (780k's). The motel is pretty basic but nice a clean, and most importantly nice a quiet. After a good nights sleep you'll be ready to tackle the next leg of your journey. And as a side note, Raymond Terrace was a location where parts of the movie "tomorrow when the war begun" so that's cool to drive along the street scape.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stormboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Once again it is wonderful to read a positive review..........especially in regard to the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. We feel simple and basic for breakfast is the way to go as most people have a long journey in front of them. A break in 2 hours for a tea or coffee and another bite to eat works perfect most times.
Garry and I are born and bred in Raymond Terrace so to see the movie and see so many familiar landmarks in it felt a bit surreal.
Sorry about the late response but we have been on a break and are only now finding the time to catch up on the responses.
Michelle - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings Point, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Caretakers Michelle & Garry were very friendly and welcoming. The motel was very well maintained with clean, quiet and comfortable rooms. A microwave and toaster were provided in the rooms and the split system air conditioner was very quiet. Breakfast was included (including gluten free cereal and soy milk), very well displayed and exceptionally clean. The breakfast room looked out on to the pool and spa area, which again was neat and tidy. The pool was partly covered with shade sails and there was an area with outdoor settings where parents could sit and watch the kids in the pool. We had a nice tea at the nearby Bowls Club where we received a seniors discount when we ordered our meal. Great motel, great hosts - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusieB1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Wow!!!!! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are very fortunate at the Sleepy Hill to have such a lovely motel to manage. We enjoy seeing the reaction of guests when they come in for breakfast and see the pool for the first time.
We have met some wonderful, friendly and very interesting people (like yourself) during our time managing, and we genuinely look forward to any return guests. Having a cuppa and a chat over breakfast is the perfect way to do that.
The staff all take a lot of pride in their work and do a wonderful job maintaining the high level of cleanliness throughout the motel so I will make sure I pass your lovely review on to them.
We look forward to seeing you when you visit Raymond Terrace next time.
Michelle & Garry - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Echoing the thoughts of others, what sets Sleepy Hill apart are the management team. Friendly and genuinely interested in making sure guests are satisfied and happy. I stayed in a budget room in the original section of the property. Clean, comfortable bed, good en-suite and very quiet. The included breakfast was a pleasant surprise, and much better choice than many other places charge for. In short, great for an overnight business trip and will be on my list for the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
What a great review!!! Thank you so much. The team here work very well together and the room attendants take it very personally when we get any feedback, regardless of good or bad, then take it on board to try and improve in any way possible.
Our motto as managers is to try and make guests feel as welcome and comfortable as they are at home. We enjoy having a chat over breakfast with our guests because that is how we feel...... the guests are our guests.
Thanks again for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to you staying with us again when you are in our area.
Michelle & Garry - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The management have to be praised for their kindness and dedication to the Motel. They couldn't do enough for you. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The outside is foreboding so was unsure when we first pulled up. But was won over when I saw the room and the friendly welcome. Breakfast was a handy extra. Plenty of soap shampoo etc. tea and coffee in room. Staff were happy to lend us cutlery and plates for our beans and toast. Handy as 2 mins of the Pacific Highway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nursecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Awwww.....thank you so much for that very kind review! The owners make it very easy to be dedicated to the motel as they put so much back into it themselves, instead of taking it all out. The girls do a fabulous job in the rooms to keep them fresh and clean. Hopefully the older rooms will be refurbished in the New Year and there are also a few ideas for the front as well.
Breakfast is the most important meal of the day so if we can send our guests off happy, fully rested and refueled, ready to face their day, we feel we are doing something right.
Being only 2 minutes off the highway is a bonus as the stop over doesn't alter the distance traveled
We are so happy you found what you needed at the Sleepy Hill and we hope you can stay with us again sometime.
Michelle & Garry - Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cootamundra, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent accommodation very clean everything for the tired traveller
Breakfast setup was excellent Would stay again if up that way Very impressed with reception who
were very helpful Would recommend to anyone wanting to break their journey north as easily accesible

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beejay4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this glowing review, I am still smiling from it! We really enjoy getting feedback from our guests.......especially when it's positive! Arriving tired is hard enough for travelers so we try very hard to make check in as smooth as possible for them. The housekeeping staff are very reliable and we constantly receive positive comments regarding the high standard of our rooms.
we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you can stay with us again when you are in our area.
Michelle & Garry - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina, nsw
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed overnight while returning home. Outside of motel looks a bit dated but the room was fresh & clean. Queen bed with good linen & pillows. Front door to carpark & a rear sliding & screen doors to small sitting area at rear. Microwave, fridge, toaster, tv & jug. Small table & 2 chairs. Exhaust fan in bathroom was noisy. Price included breakfast, toast, juice, cereals, tea & coffee. Restaurant was closed but plenty of good eat places short drive away. Hosts made us feel welcome and check in was quick. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. A healthy breakfast is a great way to start your day, especially when travelling. The delicious yogurt and fruit salad is hard to say no to.
The owners have spent a lot of money refurbishing the motel and they still have more to do, the bathroom exhaust fans are on the list to do, but everything takes time..............and money ha ha!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again if you visit Raymond Terrace.
Michelle & Garry - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raymond Terrace
0.8 mi away
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
14.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
23.8 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
18.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
20.7 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hill Motor Inn

Property: Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Address: 92 Adelaide St | 92 Adelaide Street, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Raymond Terrace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Hill Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After several years of changing owners and managers this property has been brought back to life by the present owners. The property has recently been refurbished (ongoing), incorporating a fresh new and up to date feel whilst maintaining the charm and elegance of an era gone-by. We have rooms ranging from single (queen bed), double (queen bed), Twin share, generous one or two bedroom family rooms, as well as King bed spa units. Prices range from budget through to Superior Deluxe. All guests receive a healthy, yummy, generous, complimentary breakfast each morning in our breakfast room beside the beautiful pool as our way to say thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sleepy Hill Motor Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sleepy Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing