We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This motel had a really comfortable bed which for us is the most important feature of a motel. this one was very very good and comfortable. An added surprise was the buffet breakfast which was excellent. It had a good strong shower and because the rooms were set back from the road it was nice and quiet. The air con was new and quiet. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful. And to top it off it was not overpriced but very economical. If we go that way again it would be our first choice.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the road but I think all their rooms were set back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

One of my first jobs back at work today was to check our Reviews and what a lovely surprise to find this one. I do agree with you that the beds are super comfy.......making it very hard to get out of them on these crisp mornings that we are experiencing at the moment......thank heavens the air cons work so well!!!
The showers are strong, yet not too strong to be uncomfortable. You certainly feel like you have had a decent shower one finished.
Most guests comment on how surprised they are at the quietness of the rooms......even the ones at the front.
We also find most guests are extremely happy with the variety and selection of things for breakfast...........even though it is only a continental choice.
Thanks again for your lovely review and we truly hope to see you here again at some time.
Michelle- Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Neat little place-plenty of room with a wall TV,digital clock, desk,a suitcase rack,wardrobe,small dining table & chairs in room,toaster,jug,coffee,bickies,bar fridge,two pillow choices,neat shower/bathroom area-Continental breakfast included so from 7am onwards you head back near reception area into a breakfast room with about nine tables & chair settings in there with a huge screen tv in there also-about 9 cereal choices,juices,coffee/tea/milo, 3 toast choices including a gluten free,& spreads for toast.Great choices available.And off the breakfast area out back is a fantastic swimming pool area.Lovely place to stay.Would stay again.We went to Hope Estate for a concert and decided to drive 50 mins back to Sleepy Hill Motor Inn as sold out accommodation & super expensive when a show is on there at Hope Estate-This fitted our budget perfectly.

Room Tip: As it faces main road it may be a good idea to ask for room towards rear if a light sleeper-We had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank misha1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for the excellent review...........we should put you onto our Marketing Team ha ha!!
We are getting very busy with guests attending the various concerts at the Vineyards. It is a 50 minute drive back afterwards but the comfort and value is well worth the drive. Some guests even incorporate an extra night to take in a visit to the beaches or other attractions and make a weekend out of it.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Michelle - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A must stay hotel. The food; location; rooms; service; pool & spa are perfect. Its hard to leave this hotel once you stay for one night! Its quiet & extremely relaxing & close to amenities.

Its definitely the best choice for Raymond Terrace & surrounding suburbs :)

A pleasant drive from Sydney & only half an hours drive to Nelson's Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tiger-Eyes2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

What a perfect review!!!! Thank you so much (and for everyone reading this....we didn't coax, plead or pay for this review.....but we appreciate it).
Our goal at the Sleepy Hill is for ALL guests to feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed for their stay.
We are close enough to the shops (2 minute drive), clubs and movie theatre to be convenient ....yet far enough away from them for the foot traffic and stop start traffic not to be a problem.
Thanks again Tiger-Eyes2610 and we hope to see you again here at the Sleepy Hill when you are travelling this way again.
Michelle - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent one night at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn as an overnight stop while driving between Wollongong and Brisbane. This is an older style motel, but the rooms are very clean and well appointed, with good mattresses giving a good night's sleep. The buffet continental breakfast was basic, but very satisfactory. The pool and BBQ area looked lovely, though we didn't have time to try them out. The owners were very courteous and helpful. Raymond Terrace is only small, but because it is close to (but not on) the highway, you avoid wasting time going into a larger centre (eg Newcastle) to find a place to stay overnight. We were very happy with this motel as an overnight stopover on a long drive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and time with this review. We get very positive feedback regarding the mattresses' here at the motel which must make the owners (Maja & Andrew) very happy as they re invest so much back into the motel. When travelling long distances a good nights sleep is paramount.
We keep breakfast simple and uncomplicated but with good quality cereals and breads remembering to include gluten free and lactose free choices.
Garry and I manage the motel but a lot of people do mistake us as the owners as we try to run it as if it were our own. Our motto on our business cards is 'We believe motel guests should feel at home!'
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when next travelling through Raymond Terrace.
Michelle - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We found this motel on the internet. We had emailed many motels and B&Bs to find accommodation, Sleepy Hill responded promptly and courteously.

The motel is very clean and well appointed. We used the pool and spa and cooked our dinner at the BBQ area by the pool on the first night. What a lovely outdoor area to sit in the evening after a long drive or busy day out.

Maya & Andrew were so courteous and helpful and nothing was a problem.

Breakfast was basic cereals, toast, juices and tea/coffee - but enough to 'fill the hole' before taking off for an active day.

We will DEFINITELY be both staying here again AND recommending Sleepy Hill to family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClogWogsWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your review and I must apologize for not getting a reply back to you sooner. Garry and I have been on a break from the motel and we are still catching up with things..
With so many bookings being done via the internet these days it is essential to use this tool promptly and efficiently to maximise its benefits.
The pool and b-b-q areas have been such popular spots over Christmas and the holidays with them being the perfect places for travelling groups to get together for a bbq dinner or just to have some fun in the pool.
Maja and Andrew (the owners) enjoy seeing their guests enjoy the fruits of their labour as they have invested so much into The Sleepy Hill.......... with even more planned.
Thank you for staying here and an even bigger thanks for recommending us to your family and friends.
Michelle - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I am not a fan of motels, but this is a clean basic motel which offers a reasonable continental breakfast the next morning. Great location and easy to find. Good for a quick stop over. Plenty of space to park your car.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Swissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We here at the Sleepy Hill thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Review's are a great way to find out areas where we can improve comfort and enjoyment for our guests. Parking is such an important part of a guests stay and being able to park easily and close to the room allows our guests relax so much more.
Michelle - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here after 9 hour drive from Queensland. Staff really nice and helpful. We had a lovely big room with a king bed and a huge bathroom. Very clean and well appointed. Beautiful swimming pol and BBQ area which sadly we didn't have time to use. Definitely consider this as good option on your travels.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tsyphena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyhill5, Manager at Sleepy Hill Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

After a 9 hour drive the king bed would have been great to stretch out in! Especially if you had used the spa to relax in first.!
Thank you for choosing to use the Sleepy Hill Motor Inn for your over night stop and we hope you are able to stay again in the future.
Michelle - Manager
PS - sorry about the delay in our response. Garry and I have been on leave for several weeks so had tons to catch up on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raymond Terrace
0.8 mi away
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
121 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sir Francis Drake Inn
Sir Francis Drake Inn
#23 of 31 in Port Stephens
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
#3 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
163 reviews
20.7 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hill Motor Inn

Address: 92 Adelaide St | (Old Pacific Hwy), Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Raymond Terrace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Hill Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After several years of changing owners and managers this property has been brought back to life by the present owners. The property has recently been refurbished (ongoing), incorporating a fresh new and up to date feel whilst maintaining the charm and elegance of an era gone-by. We have rooms ranging from single (queen bed), double (queen bed), Twin share, generous one or two bedroom family rooms, as well as King bed spa units. Prices range from budget through to Superior Deluxe. All guests receive a healthy, yummy, generous, complimentary breakfast each morning in our breakfast room beside the beautiful pool as our way to say thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sleepy Hill Motor Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sleepy Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing