We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Terrace Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
169 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great staff very helpful travelling on my own is not my referred but the manager was so nice and obliging that it took away the stress of being on my own
I did not eat in the restaurant but had room service for breakfast which was nice
Close to bowling club and shops 15 min to airport 50 in taxi
If I have to return to raymond terrace I would certainly stay again

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank samsonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_Bamford, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are pleased that you felt relaxed while staying with us and enjoyed breakfast.
Our motels location, does make it an easy to stroll to the shops and bowling club.
We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    36
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
35
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A great place to break the trip from Brisbane to Canberra. Enjoyed a good night's rest in very comfortable beds. The proprietor was very helpful with information on where to eat as the restaurant was not open that night and we had no supplies.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_Bamford, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Jan
We appreciate you taking the time to review us.

It's great that you found the bed comfortable, we completed the replacements of all the beds in the motel in January this year.

Sorry the restaurant isn't open on Friday, Saturday or Sunday evening, We find a lot of our guests who come to Raymond Terrace on Friday and Saturday evenings come for family or sporting engagements and the demand for the restaurant is minimal.

Hope to see you again on your trip between Brisbane and Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Since the Colonial doesn't advertise its restaurant I just happened to spot the sign "open to the public" when walking my dog one evening. Looking through the windows at the lit up dining area it looked like a reasonable place to dine. We are not spoilt with good restaurants here, therefore we are always looking for a tasty, local meal. We decided to try it Thursday evening. We did not reserve a table and were seated straight away. I must commend on the waitresses's good service, knowledge about the dining menu and recommendations about the breakfast menu. We had the filet mignon and chicken from the specials' menu and the cheese & mustard and pesto bread. The filet mignon with beans and squash was easily the best steak we have encountered in the Terrace; and we are locals and have tried pretty much every eating place here. The chicken was nice, the honey roasted pumpkin a little underdone but all in all very tasty and nicely presented. The menu is quite affordable. We will definitely come back to sample the rest of the menu and are also keen to taste the breakfast bar, which the waitress so enthusiastically recommended. It' s good to know there is a breakfast menu available, so we are looking forward to a little weekend morning treat! Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibylle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_Bamford, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Sibylle

Sorry for not responding to your review earlier. I showed your comments to the chef, she was chuffed as were the other staff. Your comments were very much appreciated.

I too agree with you, I eat there 4 nights a week.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband has stayed at this accommodation before while he was on a business trip. This time we combined business and pleasure staying two nights. We stayed in room no 8 and it was far enough away from the main road. The was well appointed and very comfortable. The only problem we had was the car parking. We arrived late and there were no parks available near our room. We had to park in the next car park behind the office for one night. Breakfast was available in the dining room/restaurant. There is a shopping centre within walking distance and also Maccas not too far. Bonus of Free Wi fi with a password from the office.
All staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would stay again next time.

Room Tip: The Main Road is not busy at night. We stayed in no 8 and it was comfortable with a Queen size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine5776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_Bamford, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Christine thanks for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the free Wi-fi.

The parking in the courtyard does get tight, fortunately we are still have plenty of other parking on site, and our location within the CBD makes it easy walking to the shops and club. Did you check out the hunter river at the end of the street two blocks away, a great walk along the river bank.
Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip .

Regards
Wayne Bamford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorrigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

A very clean , roomy and welcoming motel. We spent only one night but will return on our next visit. The staff were very helpful as I had some difficulty with my internet and it was quickly sorted. The restaurant wasn't open on the Saturday night which was a nuisance so we had our evening meal in the town which is only a short walk away.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_Bamford, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Jenny,
Sorry our restaurant is not open on weekends. The reason being a lot of guests that stay with us on the weekend are hear for family functions birthday parties, engagement, weddings, and sporting events so the restaurant patronage tends to be low on weekends, unlike week days when we have a lot of business guests.
Glad we were able to get you connect to the Wi-Fi and thank you for your kind comments.

Regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

On average I stay here when visiting Raymond Terrace for business overnight. I have stayed at other sites but always come back to this Motor Inn. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the restaurant food is modern, extremely well cooked and tasty. When I last stayed in February 2014 the menu had been changed which I was advised was done every now and again, so good to have an updated menu which means I can never get bored with the restaurant food! Rooms clean and all round a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linsey2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_Bamford, Manager at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Linsey

I showed the chef your comments she was chuffed, we are pleased you choose to stay with us when in Raymond Terrace.

Regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed for two nights on my own. The staff were fantastic, extremely helpful and friendly.
Rooms are basic but very clean and tidy with everything you need at hand.
The restaurant serves quality food at great prices.
It's a short trip from the airport and not far off the highway for those travelling by road.
Would definitely stay again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne_Bamford, Owner at Colonial Terrace Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi ozgirl

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to the chef, I agree it's good being 15 minutes to the airport,
How's the weather in Wang? I guess it's starting to get cold.

Regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raymond Terrace
6.6 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sir Francis Drake Inn
Sir Francis Drake Inn
#23 of 32 in Port Stephens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
15.0 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
Country Comfort Motto Farm Motel
#3 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Terrace Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Terrace Motor Inn

Property: Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Address: 130 Adelaide St, Raymond Terrace, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Sundowner Raymond Terrace)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Raymond Terrace
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Raymond Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Terrace Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Raymond Terrace CBD, 5 min from the Pacific Highway and 15 min from Newcastle (Williamtown) Airport, the Colonial Terrace Motor Inn is a great place to stay, work, rest and dine. Our Restaurant is open 7 days a week for Breakfast and Monday - Thursday for Dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Colonial Terrace Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing