We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Shame”
Review of The Big Potato

The Big Potato
Ranked #5 of 5 things to do in Robertson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Such a Shame”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Robertson had such a great history of potato growing, that it is a pity it is commemorated with this ugly thing. My family insisted on photographs!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Reconnoiterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    11
    14
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't worry about it”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

You can see it as you drive past, I thought it was just a plain old giant rock. I did not even bother having a photo with it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
717 reviews
336 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Keep driving”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

No need for a stop here - just look at it as you drive past. It is supposed to be a potato but looked to me more like a dark brown Uluru. Needs some maintenance, also some tourist information. Not worth a special visit. Judging by the condition I'd say the locals are ashamed of it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kjbMirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's a big rock shaped roughly like a potato”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What can I say ... I mean if you want to drive to Robertson to look at a potato shaped rock then you and I have different ideas of fun. We came through town for other reasons and so had a laugh as we walked past it but I cannot, for one second, recommend that anyone detour even slightly just to see this. If you are in town, however, be sure to drop into the Inn and the Cheese shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlight, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The most underwhelming "Big Thing" in Australia”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It only takes 2 minutes to see the Big Potato in Robertson. This is a 10m by 4m concrete Sebago potato built in the late '70s. There is no information about the significance of the Big Potato and its relationship to Robertson. If you are driving along the Illawarra Highway away from the coast, it is on your right-hand side. Get your photo next to the sign, walk around it and you have done the Big Potato.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank bladdamasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Big Potato also viewed

Robertson, Southern Highlands
Sutton Forest, Southern Highlands
 
Robertson, Southern Highlands
Robertson, Southern Highlands
 

Been to The Big Potato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing