We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the owner”
Review of Sawtell Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sawtell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sawtell Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sawtell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I noted a previous comment about the rudeness of the owner and was pleased to see learn that I am not the only person who has experienced his total indifference to his customers.

Having said that, my wife and I have stayed there over night for some years on our way to Byron Bay. The owner acquired a lovely B&B next door a few years ago and added the rooms to the Motel. I suggest you ask for one of these when you book.

All rooms are very clean, well presented and represent the best value in Sawtell.

Room Tip: ask for one in the adjoining premises, the end rooms at the back of the complex are great for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 858roberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

To echo many of the other commentators:
Clean, quiet and comfortable motel
Great location in Sawtell
Sawtell has lots of family-run restaurants, but is only for people seeking a quiet vacation as everything is virtually closed by 9pm

In summary, we will return here rather than Coffs Harbour or Byron Bay

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Like_2_TravelCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Great hotel
Hotel is easy walk to beach and Cafes etc
nice large rooms
Sawtell is a much better option than Coffs Harbour with great beaches river and village atmosphere
Try the salt and pepper snapper at sawtell Hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beakyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Sawtell a delightful seaside village and this motel well located very clean and rooms large and airy- pity people managing (or owners?) are so customer unfocused and man has terrible attitude. Does not make for a good feel break when reception so hostile

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonneandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

An extremely delightful town, so superior to Coffs Harbour. Great food at all the restaurants and cafés. The town has a great vibe to it and the beaches were beautiful. A great place to relax, made even better by the accommodation. Motel perfectly located, easy walking to cafés ,shops and town beach. The rooms were spacious with a kitchenette. Very comfortable and very well maintained, light and sunny. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a spa room on the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baiba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This motel is well positioned close to the Main Street of Sawtell, it has two separate buildings. The rooms are unusually large with queen beds. It has a two seater dining table and two very comfortable arm chairs. The decor is modern. I would recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BJR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Love this place. Arrived expecting a motor inn and was shocked for the right reasons. The place had a real homely feel but some real quality touches as well. I believe it was once a b&b. Staff we're welcoming and friendly as was the saw tell community. The motor inn is right next to sawtells Main Street which has a nice array of shops and eateries. Oh and the nearby beach is beautiful. Hope to be back :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank temil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawtell
6.2 mi away
Coastal Bay Motel
Coastal Bay Motel
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
97 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Big Windmill Corporate & Family Motel
0.3 mi away
Sawtell Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
606 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Zebra Motel
Best Western Zebra Motel
#9 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
197 reviews
7.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawtell Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawtell Motor Inn

Address: 57 Boronia St, Sawtell, New South Wales 2452, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sawtell
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sawtell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing