We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location with nice rooms”

Colonial Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Scone
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Colonial Motor Lodge for a night during a trip from Cairns to Sydney. It offers nice, decent sized rooms with free WIFI, the bathroom is a bit small. The Location is quiet and everything is in Walking distance. It was not the cheapest Motel of our trip so given the Price maybe breakfast could have been included.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuenterD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

This motel has friendly people; good sized and comfortable rooms, with lounge and dining area. It also has a great restaurant. Location is one of the quieter ones in Scone. Will stay there again and would recommend it to other travellers..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAllen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine E, Owner at Colonial Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback we look forward to seeing you again when you are in Scone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We had a lovely double room with a very comfortable bed. Not wanting to go out in the car again for dinner we ate at their restaurant and it was a wonderful surprise. Room was lovely and clean with everything that is needed, large shower room. With a fresh breakfast delivered to our room promptly in the morning.

Room Tip: Was great as no steps involved
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56janelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had not planned a stopover in Scone but were very pleased with our last minute choice. After a 9 hour drive we just wanted food and a clean room and bed. The restaurant provided a varied menu and presentation of meals was creative and modern. Our room was large enough for a queen and single and even had a microwave oven. Staff were pleasant and helpful and all in all we felt well cared for which is all important for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugbitten10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Confused as to whether I had actually booked a motel in Scone (from home in London), the hosts here actually phoned around to check the other motels - then got back to me with their room availability. Enjoyed the night spent at the motel, and also the wedding - the reason for my visit to Scone. The friendliness and hospitality of the hosts extended even further when they sorted out phone chargers for me. Rooms clean, all necessary items present. Would certainly recommend and stay again.

Motel is set off the main road, so is quiet.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I recently had to stay in Scone on business and had the Colonial Motor Lodge recommended to me. What I got was essentially what I'd been promised: clean, basic and quiet accommodation with plenty of parking space, a restaurant and proximity to the shopping strip (the focus of my stay).

Check in was fast and friendly enough with no issues attaching to pre-arranged payment arrangements (I was paying for a number of rooms and wished to be invoiced after the stay). My room was large, had a small dining area, a lounge and a queen and single bed. The bathroom was plain but perfectly adequate. Yes it was all outdated with many layers of paint not really succeeding in hiding the room's thirty or forty years of service but what was there was clean and did the job.

I have to admit that I was a bit disturbed by the apparently clean but veteran bedspreads (I've watched too many CSI type shows to be entirely comfortable with sharing bed linen) but I guess at times you have to recognise that not everywhere is slick contemporary ... and sterile!

Didn't have dinner in the restaurant but had breakfast that was fine (and not remotely sophisticated). I imagine that the motel had a pool but didn't look out for it.

Scone - like much of regional Australia - is experiencing high levels of mining activity (more particularly, in Scone, investigation of mining activity). If the number of four wheel drives in the car park and hi vis vests at breakfast is any guide the motel is doing well out of the sector. Given the lack of choice (both for accommodation and restaurants) in town it will probably be able to amble on for many more years without too much expenditure.

Would I stay at the Colonial Motor Lodge again? Yes, certainly for business. Three and a half stars for me. Four if they ditched the bedspreads.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finistere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This motel needs some refurbishment but the rooms were quiet and clean - I would stay there again and the plus was that the restaurant is on the premises

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
15.1 mi away
Noah's Mid City Motor Inn
Noah's Mid City Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Muswellbrook
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Airlie House Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Scone Motor Inn
Scone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Scone
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Isis Motel Scone
Isis Motel Scone
#2 of 5 in Scone
74 reviews
15.6 mi away
Remington Motor Inn
Remington Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Muswellbrook
225 reviews
3.4 mi away
Strathearn Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motor Lodge

Address: 9 Guernsey St, Scone, New South Wales 2337, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Scone
Price Range: £76 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet location, positioned off the New England Highway, our motel offers a licensed bar and restaurant, 24 ground floor suites with Austar and air-conditioning to each suite, wireless broadband access. The motel is family owned and operated. Your hosts Peter & Katherine offer a quiet yet friendly atmosphere with spacious, comfortable and clean suites. Close to tourist attractions such as Glenbawn Dam, Barrington Tops, Burning Mountain, Horse Studs and local wineries. Within easy walking distance to the main street and rail. Close to local clubs, parks and the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonial Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing