We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of The Heads Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shoalhaven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Heads Hotel
Ranked #37 of 55 Shoalhaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A really great little pub. The staff are people and dog friendly and the outdoor seating was just what we were looking for. They have dog bowls available and the staff were lovely. We'll definitely be back when we come through the area again.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are an option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnyaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

There is a new chef in town and his food is great. Ten of us spent a week at the camp site in Shoalhaven Heads and had two meals at the pub.Certainly the best place in town to eat. I am not sure how long he will stay here but as long as he does I would thoroughly recommend his menu to you. The prices are very competitive and the menu is quite varied and helpings very generous. There is a meal to suit all patrons.

As an added bonus the views of the water provide a very nice backdrop to the venue. I recommend to you that if you are anywhere in the area, from Gerringong to Nowra, it would be worthwhile to take the time to have a meal at the Heads Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gat149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Our family headed for the beach after visiting Berry and the Coolangatta winery estate, and came upon what must be one of the best kept secrets on the south coast the Heads Hotel Motel .We had a superb mixed cold and hot seafood platter, and then made enquiries about accommodation for the night. Only one room available, and stayed in the 'Flat' - which we were given at no extra cost - $120 w cooked brekky - our child certainly enjoyed the adjacent playground whilst we enjoyed the views and the friendly service. so much to do with the beach, wineries, golf course and fishing, all within 500m of the pub. brekky was fresh we were suprirsed at extensive and varied menu (esp the local organic produce!) as a tradie i've since used the hotel for a 3 day midweek stopover and wasn't disappointed. The community spirit and hospitality was still in plentiful supply. at $60 a night midweek this is absolutely great value for money. Was even invited to go fishing with one of the locals!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Four great meals, served efficiently, eaten gazing at a glorious view. A lovely surprise during a relaxing holiday drive. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Bronlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The food is okay, nothing extravagent but decent pub food. Have heard some bad stories lately like some people have gone there with their kids as the have "get a kids meal free with every paying adult meal", this is advertised in a few places, but when ordering your food conditions are explained like the adults meal must be off the normal menu and the if adults meal is from the special board can not be one of the cheap meals so pretty dissapointed with this. Within walking distance to swimming beach, pool, corner store, post office, river and a minutes drive to the boat ramp. Decent parking if you have a larger boat. In a quiet location. Great for breakfast. But accommodation is on the cheap side if you are after quality accommodation i would suggest gerringong, coolangatta estate

Room Tip: Make sure it is Not the room that has the kids playground/sandpit attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENDLESSPOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

we had the room connected to the kids 'playground'.. it was a branch-filled sand pit with a dinghy in the middle.. thats all. The room was filthy when we arrived with a stale-stench smell - it seemed the room hadnt been opened for quite a while. There was sand all around the living room as well as the bathroom. There was a leak in the kitchen ceiling above the sink - the ceiling was mouldy as it had been raining for a few days prior to our arrival - the leaking water was brown in colour, so the kitchen was off limits during our stay (but to tell u the truth we wouldnt of used it anyway as it was old and out- dated, smelt and had cobwebs on the walls). Not good for families as there is absolutely nothing for the kids to do - no nearby beach to swim - totally in the middle of nowhere. Breakfast was good though - that was the only good thing i reckon. Everything here is just so old and out-dated, it needs MAJOR renovations. Don't let the photos on their website fool you peoples! Looks ARE deceiving in this case! If you really have to stay here, just make it a stopover as the rates are cheap. Otherwise, DON'T DO IT!!
As the saying goes - you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We arrived late on a Friday night had to sign in and gets keys at hotel bar.
Dinner I recommend the Barramundi fillet, not the beef burger. Burger too dry, but the Barra was beaut! Beds were neat with fresh towels. Apart from some water damage on the ceiling above sink and in bathroom. Room was cozy. Some fellow guest were far too loud during the night till 4am. But, your view of a morning is more than worth your stay. Across the road is the view of the Shoalhaven River and further off the surf can be seen crashing against Seven Mile Beach.
Breakfast included in tariff choose the big breakfast or the poached eggs with bacon and toast you'll get a coffee or juice included with breakfast. Sit outside at the benches and enjoy the view.
I'd recommend to friends if they wanted somewhere cheap for a quick stay not a long stay.
Staff where very good and most accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harkness77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shoalhaven hotels
7.9 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 8 in Nowra
522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Anchor Bay Motel
Anchor Bay Motel
#1 of 1 in Greenwell Point
374 reviews
38 mi away
Harbour Royal Motel
Harbour Royal Motel
#2 of 5 in Ulladulla
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Balan Village Motel Nowra
35.4 mi away
Bannisters by the sea
Bannisters by the sea
#2 of 8 in Mollymook
603 reviews
20 mi away
Bewong River Retreat
Bewong River Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bewong
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heads Hotel

Address: 51 River Rd, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2535, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Shoalhaven
Price Range: £45 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heads Hotel is located on the picturesque Shoalhaven River, within walking distance to Seven mile Beach. Surrounded by lush walks, beaches, wineries, golf courses, and close to the shopping of Berry, it is the perfect place for families, couples and singles. Boasting 9 units and a Flat, the hotel also features a restaurant, Bottleshop, TAB, outdoor courtyard overlooking the river and 3 distinct bars. The Hotel features an award-winning weekly Saturday Fresh Local Produce Fair every Saturday morning along the front of the Hotel, as well as weekly live music, fishing competitions, trivia nights and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing