We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Rooms - great service”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Singleton
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge Rooms - great service”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I had no plans to stay in Singleton - but glad I did as the Francis Phillip Motor Inn provided me with a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

The rooms are huge - very clean - modern and comfortable. I had a double bed and I think a room of this size should have a queen - but a good rest regardless.

The restaurant is just lovely and the food is very nice for a "motor inn" grade acomodation. The ladies at the front desk and the restaurant/bar were very friendly and the fod was just right.

Other reviews say there was road noise - I did not notice this as a problem. I stayed at the Motor Inn - not the apartments.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
5
14
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed in The Lodge Apartments
Very Quiet
Excellent decor
Very comfortable bed
Large shower with plenty of amenities
Good restaurant

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millers Point
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Ordered twin room didn't get light globe out no intenet lucky just needed a bed

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singleton hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed just one night at the FPH & it was very average. A fair amount of noise can be heard from the freeway, lots of trucks day & night. I too can confirm that the man at the front desk is extremely rude, however knowing this from other reviews did make his remarks just fly in one ear & straight out the other. Find somewhere else in my opinion, I had no choice as it was arranged for me.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatewattled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Stayed here for work in the serviced apartments.
A lot of road noise (promo signs said otherwise) and walls very thin. I swear the people next door must have opened and shut every cupboard door one morning, i was feeling a little fragile and had to yell at them to shut up.

Rooms clean and tidy, annoyingly the hairdryer was not screwed to the wall so I had to lug the wall attachment while I dried my hair.

Room smelt musty/mouldy too.

Staff were OK not overwhelmingly friendly. Packed lunch was rubbish. And i was told no internet access?? But I could walk to the library if I wanted

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The room was large and comfortable. Slightly overpriced, but acceptable.

The staff was the main issue I had with our stay. The word I would use to describe the man in charge (I believe he is the owner) is RUDE. He was arrogant, mildly aggressive and at one point even make an inappropriate remark to my partner.

No hotelier should act like this, I've never come across such a rude person in hospitality. What amazes me is we weren't even making a complaint, simply checking in and out. Unacceptable. If customers bother you that much, get out of the industry.

Avoid this hotel, the owners do not deserve your business.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartiniBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I would like to echo the other reviews of this motel especially the comments regarding the owner.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDPkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singleton
0.2 mi away
Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton
17.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.9 mi away
Mid City Motor Inn
Mid City Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Singleton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Country Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Singleton
47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Singleton
Quest Singleton
#1 of 4 in Singleton
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Benjamin Singleton Motel
Benjamin Singleton Motel
#1 of 3 in Singleton
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments

Property: Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments
Address: 18 New England Hwy, Singleton, New South Wales 2330, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Singleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Singleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Phillip Motor Inn & The Lodge Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing