We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Naughty Chooks - CLOSED

Two Naughty Chooks
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I ate here with friends and the food was delicious. I had the gnocchi for entrée and the duck for main and both meals were full of flavour, everyone agreed that their food was excellent. The service was a little slow, but was friendly and we weren't in a hurry so it was a lovely night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We found chooks very pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My friend and I went here for lunch recently and found it to be delicious. The entree was yummy but very small, probably not value for money, but it suited us because we could fit it and a main. Beautiful lamb rump and vegies for main was a treat. The service was prompt but unobtrusive. An interesting wine and cocktail menu. Plenty of space with two separate areas for dining, good for a small function. Dessert menu also looked enticing but we were too full.
Great decor. Would eat here again. Probably like to try an evening meal. Would be a fun place for a group.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crossbordertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went for dinner. The food was really good. Meals aren't big servings so I would recommend a couple of the side dishes to compliment the main. Atmosphere was nice. Service and staff were great. I would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigJoan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could do so much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I've been here for breakfast twice over the past few months. Both times we were told that several items on the menu were not available. Being told there aren't any eggs left is a not a good start, especially since most of the breakfast menu items feature eggs. And both times we were told that there would be a wait of 30 mins or more on the food. This is fine, but suggests they need to work something out in the kitchen, as the cafe was hardly full.

The coffee is average and the wait staff are inexperienced and awkward at times. A good barista and some staff training would go a long way. The courtyard out the back is nice, and when the food did come, it was lovely. But you would expect more for the price.

Hopefully with time they'll smooth things out because it seems to be the only place open for breakfast on Sunday in Singleton. But for now I'd recommend you cook your own at home.

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokolbin, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Breakfast Degustation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our friends invited us for a breakfast degustation on Sunday, the menu consisted of:

Asparagus with truffle
Eggs benny
Truffle omelette
Smoked salmon and avocado
French toast

The portion sizes were great, half of a normal serving, similar to a tapas style. We probably had one dish too many, but it set us up for the rest of the day!!! The breakfast dishes were amazing, presented with style and totally delish. Will certainly return. Venue great for large groups or couples wanting an intimate dinner. Service very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Naughty Chooks also viewed

Singleton, New South Wales
Singleton, New South Wales
 
Singleton, New South Wales
Singleton, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing