We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable relaxing Motel”

Black Swan Waterfront Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Swan Waterfront Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swansea
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable relaxing Motel”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights in late October very easy booking,pleasant helpful friendly staff on check in.Being close to the highway we thought noise would be a problem,however,we were pleasantly surprised to find our lake view room was insulated from the noise and made for a most pleasant stay.Our bed was very comfortable and the afternoon sea breeze kept our room cool on the hottest of days.Our room could not be called large but was very comfortable and adequate for the price the central location made for easy access to shops and beaches nearby.Overall a great stay for short trips on Lake Macquarie.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms definitely most comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thankyou for your kind words - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you back here one day - well mannered, pleasant guests such as yourself make it enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
20
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The story rang ask for booking management said yes ask if waterview possible yes advailable want credit card to hold said like to pay cash on arriving management said ok but only to 3pm plus $100 bond I ..said totally fine .On arriving round 2 pm early bluntly told the owner doesn't hold room it gone''. I said fine take standard double room please paid cash plus bond $100 We just wanted to have a cuppa & and rest a little within 10min loudly on open door entrance you can have other due to cancellation we said in brief we okay this will do Got quite abrupt well you can leave now missus dumb founded what this; at this mature woman nasty manner.. Went over the bridge first motel on left Fantastic welcome paid cash heaps better suite no bond all up fully top stay something loco big time couple @ blackswan

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danny p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakemacmaintenance, Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
We are sorry that you do not agree with our operations policy of credit card for check-in hence we were unable to assist you with your booking so I find it strange that you can write a review on a property that you have not stayed in - this is a great fault of the tripadvisor site - no confirmation needed -we as most business have rules and regulation we have to abide by and even though your comment of not wanting the government to know you were working was understood we have our policies - hopefully danny putt of padstow the blue pacific motel was able to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Blackswan for 1 night, the location is amazing, we had a water front room.
The room is basic ( don't expect a 5 star place because you will be disappointed) it's clean, it's comfortable, the service is very friendly.
You can walk to cafés, pubs, restaurants.
The room has everything you will need, from hairdryer in the bathroom to a kettle for tea and coffee.
An outside table and sun chairs where you can enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day or your morning coffee.
They serve beak fast too, but we didn't order it.
We will be back! Already planning a weekend away, not far from Sydney and with an excellent location and very affordable too :)

Room Tip: Select a water front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thankyou for staying with us and your kind words - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the area - pleasant guests such as yourself make it easy and we look forward to your stay if you choose in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in a Lake view room for one night for a family dinner at Cams Wharf (Raffertys Resort). The location was perfect, close to the main road, shops and cafe for breakfast and Cams Wharf was a 5 minute drive. I thought the room would be noisy with trucks on the main road, but we didn't hear a thing all night. The outlook was beautiful with the lake at our door. Check in and check out were extremely efficient and friendly. The room was small, basic and clean. It had everything we needed. Would stay again

Room Tip: Get a Lake view room for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thankyou for your review and staying with us - guests such as yourself make working in this industry a pleasure -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

It's 6.30pm and we needed a place to stay for a night in Lake Macquarie area, so we can photograph the sunrise from Caves Beach. Check AroundMe from my phone I found Back Swan motel, $99 for double or twin room, pretty basic, clean, aircond. etc. That all we need. Our hosts, Steve and Karen, were very friendly and helpful. They gave us hints about the attractions in the region, where to dine, what to do based on our time frame and travel routes, exactly what we wanted to ask, before we ask. I've got a bedroom with lake view, as a bonus :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thankyou for your kind review - a pleasure having you and your group stay here and thanks for the photo's of the bay and jetty. We hope that you were able to get good photo's from the local areas we suggested as some areas are not on the regular tourist maps however the locals know were the best spots are in Lake Macquarie and surrounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I just cant seem to get away from the Black Swan, recently up North for a bit of pleasure and some business. Again booked Black Swan.....what can I say, I would not usually stay at the same place more than once, as I am a born traveller and love to explore. Black Swan is an older establishment, extremely well looked after, very clean and most of all friendly and safe. This is the only place where I always come back to. I guess its the position on Swansea fringe, easy walking, love the Clubs and Pubs, feel safe, the general atmosphere especially sitting out the back, and watching the locals in their boats, the fishos, the surf lifesavers practicing there rowing, and evenings the quiet with the only sounds are the fish jumping, its to me like another world, relaxed, I enjoy my beer, at the end of my day, I sit out there, have a quiet beer, and take it all in. My hosts are fabulous, always checking, wanting to be of assistance, so friendly. Highly recommend, and of course ' I'll Be Back'

Room Tip: If possible get the water view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Glad to hear that you returned home safely. As with many of our regular customers once again it was our pleasure to have you as a guest. It is always good to hear when people enjoy a stay and use the facilities of the waterfront. Guests with your well manners, kindness and courtesy not only to us, staff but other guests will always be welcome - look forward to meeting again - travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithgow
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Have always found this venue to be clean, quiet and friendly. The location is great - public transport at the door, Coles and specialty shops a cross the road, lake at the back door and beach 2 min drive away (or walk if you like). The rooms are clean and even with its convenient location its very quiet. The staff are really helpful recommending places to eat and things to do. I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Black Swan Waterfront Motel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thankyou Lorraine for your kind words - it is a pleasure to have guests such as yourself stay with us - hope you have a great 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.4 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
3.4 mi away
Squid's Ink Hotel
Squid's Ink Hotel
#4 of 5 in Belmont
77 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
394 reviews
8.7 mi away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
99 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caves Beachside Hotel
Caves Beachside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caves Beach
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Waterfront Motel

Property: Black Swan Waterfront Motel
Address: 137 Bowman St, Swansea, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Swan Waterfront Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute water frontage in the heart of Swansea. Walking distance to all facilities in Swansea/Caves Beach. Jetty for guests use. All ground floor units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Swan Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Waterfront Motel Swansea, New South Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing