We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible hotel, don't stay there! A place worse than death.”

Blue Pacific Swansea
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Pacific Swansea
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible hotel, don't stay there! A place worse than death.”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

No words can express how disgustingly horrid every aspect of this "hotel" is. But we are so pissed off that we will try:

-room smelled like cigarette and mould.
-Bed very uncomfortable and had bed bugs.
-Service was the worst experience, everyone was cold and unhelpful. Anytime we had an issue, the staff would say that the manager was not in and they couldn't fix the issue.
-Breakfast was disgusting, the bread was mouldy, there was no milk for the cereal as the milkman didn't go by. And that was the only breakfast option.
-Paid for a deal which included a spa service that we never got because there was no one to provide the service, in fact, even though we booked several weeks beforehand, no one informed us of it and they refused to refund us.
-We also had dinner there which was obviously all frozen food.

Overall the worst hotel experience anyone coluld ever have.

Room Tip: A room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Véronique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    8
    9
    42
See reviews for
21
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I booked 2 nites(24th&25th Dec) of family rooms 2 mths ago.A staff was happy to match the online price and also reserved an large family room for the same price.
When I arrived,the prices were different,family room was $5 more &large F/M was $15 more per nite."Sorry,the staff who matched the on-line price is no working here any more.The manager is not here.This is the price~~~" I had to pay extra to take the rooms coz Xmas time I couldn't find anywhere else!
The swimming pool was not available on my day one.Sauna and spa facilities were out of order (I don't know for how long).No boday cleaned rooms,I had to hand rubbish bags to receptionist by myself.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We arrived at this hotel on 18/11. We got there late at night around 9pm, so it was already quite dark. The check-in was a little confusing with being told that our room had been changed for some reason. We couldn't see any difference. The staff were overall nice, but not all seemed to be clued up, up there. It was suggested that there was some renovation going on there. The wireless internet wasn't working at the time. And the smell. Don't get me started. A lingering tobacco odour seemed to have had paint over it to try and cover it up (badly). The town seemed nice, but did not look like there was much to do. Admittedly, we got there late and left early, so wouldn't have had a chance to look around. Did not have time to review/ use spa/ pool.

It would be a nice place to stop over if it had a little TLC put towards it

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshNAdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The management and staff mean well, only problem is that they just don't have any idea what they are doing. The beginning is the end if you stay here... The spa and sauna haven't worked for at least a month by the state of the signs, the pool depths can't be distinguished by the cloudiness of the water, the menu is a blunder - I'm surprised the dessert didn't come with chips and salad too. If you stay downstairs, be prepared to feel like you're in a dungeon. Need I say more?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2011

While the room was clean, it looked like something out of the 70s, the TV did not have a remote control and the channels did not work anyway, the bed had hard pillows and a very sagging mattress, the wireless internet was not working - restaurant service was appalling. My wife's fish was served uncooked. When she asked for it to be prepared better it would appear that they popped it in the oven for a couple of minutes and then gave it back to us on the same plate with hot salad! At the same time I also indicated that the rusty salt shaker was not dispensing salt. While they were reheating the fish I heard them banging the salt shaker in the kitchen until it started dispensing something, salt or rust I am unsure of. The menu was terrible anyway. We asked for water at dinner and it had black spots in it. Breakfast was worse then what you might expect at a youth hostel with no preparation whatsoever. - Facilities like spa and sauna were not operational, outdoor furniture was generally unclean and there was rubbish left around including cigarette butts and alcohol bottles. - While they claim to be under new management I can only guess from other reviews that the new management is at least as bad as the old. AVOID THIS PLACE!!!! We thought we had a weekend getaway with their half price deal. It was well overpriced at this rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGumnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My first impression of the place lacked maintenance and TLC but staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a bit old fashioned but that's the norm for Swansea. Beds were comfortable. It was great to see the maintenance had been started with 2 men painting the rooms. Would definatley stay again as the staff made our visit enjoyable. Shall return and am excited to see the changes next time we come!

Room Tip: amazing staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Absolutely disgusting, would NEVER stay here again or reccomend to ANYONE. We had booked and paid in advance for 3 nights, after the 1st night we wanted out but they would not refund our money even with 24 hours notice. Worst mattress on the beds, felt like sleeping on the springs underneath. No toilet paper, spoons, face washers, hand towels, remote, phone, dodgy light switches, tv channels did not work, power cords running through the room. In the 3 nights we stayed we didnt have our beds made once and never receieved any fresh towels. DISGUSTING MOTEL.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank taylah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swansea
2.1 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
6.9 mi away
No photo provided
Bay Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Morisset
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aquarius Motel Belmont
Aquarius Motel Belmont
#3 of 5 in Belmont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Caves Beachside Hotel
Caves Beachside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caves Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Swan Waterfront Motel
2.8 mi away
Belmont Palms Motel
Belmont Palms Motel
#2 of 6 in Belmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pacific Swansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pacific Swansea

Property: Blue Pacific Swansea
Address: 82 Pacific Hwy, Swansea, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2281, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Swansea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Pacific Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Pacific Swansea is just 1 hr 40 minutes from Sydney. Surrounded by water, we have the Nine Miles of Glorious Beach at Blacksmiths on one side, and the very beautiful Lake Macquarie, the largest lake in the Southern Hemisphere on the other. The area is blessed by an abundance of natural wonders and local attractions. We have our very own Elevation Bridge majestically connecting Swansea to Little Pelican where the hotel is located... The waterways are magnificent, including the Swansea Channel, Lake Macquarie, or the choice of several very nice beaches close by, with good surf, fishing spots, walking and cycling tracks, and loads of public access. Go for an exhilarating Jet Boating Ride, Sail on a Yacht, Hire or bring your Motor boat, Learn to Kite Surf, or get a Beach Surfing lesson, Or stay dry and explore the endless options for sightseeing, cycling, horse riding and more. All of these activities can be booked with our friendly staff at the hotel.Blue Pacific Swansea offers 27 spacious rooms, a large in-ground pool, a fully licensed restaurant, a bar/lounge area, and a BBQ area set amongst the palms and ferns in a lovely outdoor pool garden.Call us today at Blue Pacific Swansea to book your precious time you need, for a Holiday, Romantic Escape, Wedding or Corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Pacific Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Pacific Swansea New South Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing