We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and good sized rooms”
Review of Crowne Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Terrigal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked a "family room" for our family and one additional for my mother as we were celebrating her 60th birthday.
On arrival at 2pm we were told our rooms weren't yet ready (given the 3pm check in, we weren't upset about this) but were happily surprised by the upgrade for my mothers room.
The front desk staff were friendly yet professional and full of suggestions of things to do whilst we awaited our rooms to be ready.
We received the "room ready" call at approximately 3.30.
Both of our rooms were large, friendly and boasting awesome views.
We went to dinner that night at Sea Salt (separate review)
It appears that there is not great communication about special offers and the restaurant as we were left with having to explain the extras and check our bill to discover a few errors.
The cocktail bar was excellent - although it took significant time for our cocktails to arrive given the quiet time of night and relatively low patronage.
The beds were comfortable and the outdoor furniture functional with the balcony large enough to take advantage of the views out over the beach and headland.
Given we stayed on a Saturday night, we had significant street noise in the early morning as the nightclubs closed and patrons spilled onto the street.
The bathrooms were clean and lovely with the only suggestion being that shower screens replace the curtain in the next round of renovations.
The blockout blinds were excellent and provided the privacy and darkness required to avoid the early sunrise
Checkout again was great with the friendly front desk staff wonderful and ready to assist with the issue of our package not being applied to our restaurant bill.
I would stay here again, but request a higher floor if possible.
The pool and spa looked wonderful and even in winter there were quite a few brave souls in both!

Room Tip: Request a high floor and pay for the IHG membership to take advantage of several benefits including...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear M M

Thank you for providing the extensive feedback from your recent stay at the hotel, we are pleased that the birthday celebrations were enjoyable.

We appreciate receiving your lovely comments regarding our service and professionalism of the team and thank you for providing us with an opportunity to review some areas of focus.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards
Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for two days. The room was spacious, well-equipped, quiet and very comfortable. Great ocean views. We appreciated the friendly, no fuss approach by the staff. The in-house dining options were very pleasant. We would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Graham

Thank you for providing your feedback.

It was lovely to note that you enjoyed our friendly staff and enjoyed the location and views.

We look forward to your return to the hotel.

Best regards
Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Being a local I had never had reason to stay till a friends birthday. Really impressed the rooms were huge and the bathrooms modern. Restaurants lovely and breakfast buffet had a few special touches like a coffee bar and juice bar plus tea in teapots. We had a few minor hiccups with rooms but staff were Amazing and helpful to sort them out promptly. The waitress at dinner was brilliant. I will be back.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Kylie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Kylie,

Thank you for providing your feedback.

It was lovely to note that you enjoyed the hotel as a member of the local community and that you enjoyed the accommodation and food offerings throughout your stay.

We would look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best regards
Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The only big hotel in this coastal town of Terrigal on the Central Coast. Located just across the road to the beach and what I liked best in here is the spectacular and magnificent views. Right in the centre of all small shops, small restaurants and everything the town has to offer. The lobby is a bit dated, wherein the foyer or the reception area is facing the other side, the parking lot. Would be nice if waterfront view. But if you're in your hotel room, then, it's awesome.
Staff were very friendly and very accommodating. This hotel needs a complete makeover....

Room Tip: Higher floors with ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maganda0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback.

We appreciate receiving your lovely comments regarding our team's professionalism and enjoying the view from the hotels ocean facing accommodation rooms.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Best regards

Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from spending a night there for our anniversary. We were very pleased with the overall welcome and speed that the reception staff dealt with our arrival. Our room was clean but a little outdated, especially the bathroom with a shower curtain and low shower head which does not accommodate a six foot male. Why can't hotels just have a nice large shower without one having to step into a bath all the time, not a fan of shower curtains, no matter how clean they may look. Also the towels were rough and scratchy not something one would expect from a 4 1/2 star hotel. The King size bed was a little on the soft side for my partner and I and was uncomfortable due to an ill-fitting mattress protector which would have been better on a Queen Size bed. The doona supplied was far to hot and the alternative blanket was far to heavy. I would not recommend an Ocean View room at the weekend as although the view is lovely and we could see right along Wammberal Beach the noise from the bar/nightclub kept us awake until way after 2pm with the music and people talking. They should advise clients that this could be the case when offering these rooms, also another complaint would be interconnecting rooms, the doors unfortunately do not cut out the other rooms noise and we had to listen to our neighbours TV until after midnight, These doors should be soundproofed so that the noise cannot carry into the other room, and you should be advised at the time of booking that your room has interconnecting door. Our other complaint would be the buffet breakfast, we arrived at 9.30am only to have to wait nearly 25 mins to be seated. By the time we were seated a lot of the pastries etc had gone and were not replenished even though we asked for more to be put out. The bacon was overcooked as was much of the other hot food on offer, the toast had to be put through the machine twice just to get brown toast and the queue for coffee was ridiculous. The staff were fantastic and I felt sorry for some of the abuse they got from customers due to the lack of food being replenished, not their fault but the cooks. Also the $18 a day charge for parking is a bit rich considering what you pay for a room, parking should be free to hotel guests. I would think twice before staying at this hotel again, the so called refurbishment needs a lot more work doing than has been done to bring this hotel up to the standard of a so called 4 1/2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Chris S

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

It was disappointing that you were unable to experience our breakfast offerings and apologise that this was due to an extended wait.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you, if you could kindly contact me directly.

We appreciate your time and look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best regards

Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hi all just spent a week at this hotel in the beautiful Seaside town of Terrigal on the Central Coast of New South Wales.
I was in the area for business and had a great stay at this Property.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating and although the hotel is a little dated they are in the process of updating and modernising and I am certain the transformation will be well worth it.
The rooms are large, quiet, clean and well appointed.
The town itself is scenic,friendly and full of a variety of restaurants and cafes for the best of high end and casual dining.
If you are thinking of a vacation on Central Coast then I guarantee you would have a great time here in Terrigal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burnomack62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear burnomack62,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our beautiful seaside town Terrigal, found our staff very friendly and accommodating and were able to sample the local cuisine.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on the next occasion.

Best regards
Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We came her for an anniversary weekend. The staff were lovely and very accomodating, but the amenities were very dated. The bathrooms are large but have an inexplicably small shower bath combo. If they updated these to a proper shower or large spa tub it would be much better. Also the bathrobes were stiff and starchy, a little fabric softener would go a long way.

The whole building feels old and a bit run down. It is being renovated, which will hopefully bring it back to life. The area is pleasant and the beach is lovely.

We ate at the Sea Salt restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was great. The steak was fantastic and the wine selection was good. Breakfast was fine, but expensive for the quality. It is standard buffet style (the bacon is always disappointing, greasy and chewy). There was nothing wrong with it, but next time we would try one of the many local organic cafes. Better value and more interesting menu options.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnyaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lachlan W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear AnyaNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and congratulations on your anniversary.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our beachside location and surrounds, dinner in our signature restaurant Seasalt and thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff.

We regret that on this occasion, however, you found our amenities to be outdated. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations so I'm sure the next time you stay you will notice the difference.

We look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion.

Best regards
Lachlan Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrigal
0.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
0.1 mi away
Terrigal Sails Serviced Apartments
7.9 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiarri Terrigal
Tiarri Terrigal
#3 of 6 in Terrigal
97 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
0.5 mi away
The Clan Terrigal
The Clan Terrigal
#5 of 6 in Terrigal
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Address: Pine Tree Lane, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Terrigal
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Terrigal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Terrigal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Terrigal
Price Range: £99 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Terrigal’s serene ocean-side location is ideal for singles, couples, groups and families seeking a memorable Central Coast experience. Select from a choice of 199 modern rooms, each boasting up-to-date amenities, and enjoy spectacular ocean views or an idyllic outlook onto Terrigal proper. Indulge in a sumptuous meal at elegant Seasalt Restaurant, famous for fresh-caught seafood and dishes prepared from the finest local produce. Enjoy a cocktail and catch-up with friends in the beautifully refurbished Lord Ashley Lounge or catch a live band and watch the sunset on the outdoor deck at Florida Beach Bar. The Concierge’s at Crowne Plaza Terrigal are knowledgeable across a wide and diverse range of Terrigal activities, including the best Terrigal dive sites, local attractions and local golf courses. Wander to the top of the Skillion for panoramic views of the coastline or find top-class surfing on Terrigal Beach. Deep-sea fishing trips leave from The Haven, a peaceful area 10 minutes' walk away. We're 15 minutes' drive to the Erina Fair mall and 20km from Ettalong's weekend beach market. We’re also just 115km from Sydney International Airport and Newcastle Airport. Let the complimentary Kids' Club entertain the children during school holidays while you browse the fashions and antiques in our boutiques. Energise in the outdoor pool or work out in the Fitness Centre. You'll look forward to conducting business in our meeting rooms and we'll leave you with golden memories of your wedding. Make Crowne Plaza Terrigal your base for exploring the Central Coast or simply relaxing on its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Terrigal
Terrigal Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing