We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close but no cigar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norah Head Holiday Park
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Summary of our stay on a tent site at Norah Head Holiday Park:
CONS
1. Being school holidays the park was overflowing and so were the bins, they were not emptied anywhere as often as they should have been.
2. Our tent site was practically a dirty sand pit, hardly any grass. On a positive note, we did seem to have one of the worst sites in all of the park.
3. Our tent site had rubbish all over of it when we arrived. There were burst water balloons, bottle tops and other rubbish all over ours and our friends sites. I'll be recommending that park staff use the 1 hour between check out and check in to inspect the sites and clean it before the new guests arrive!
4. The jumping pillow was not working almost the whole week we stayed and this was during school holidays! It got fixed the day before we left. Other reviews of this park also say the jumping pillow was broken during their stay.
5. The pool was murky and full of hair. I know it's hard to keep a pool clean with so many people in it, so I didn't use it too much unfortunately.
6. No shade except for what you take with you for the majority of the sites.
PROS
1. Location is good, near to the beach as well as a waveless beach with a rock pool a short drive away for the younger kids
2. The park shop is always stocked (plenty of ice, fresh bread, milk, etc)
3. Laundry facilities are good
OVERALL
We won't be going back. It does have the potential to be a really great place to stay so hopefully the people that run the park listen to the feedback from their guests and make the improvements needed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at Norah Head Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review; we do take all feedback on board as part of our continued efforts to improve our services.
During the school and Christmas holidays, the park is very popular for camping enthusiasts because as you pointed out, the location is fantastic and as such we can have between 1500 and 2000 campers at any time. We love to see so many people enjoying everything the park has to offer, but the only down side is that by the end of this period the sites do need reviving. Thus we are currently organizing Astroturf for the majority of the sites to minimise the amount of sand.
I am sorry that you were unable to utilise the pool because so many of our guests comment on how much they enjoy it; I can assure you that it is cleaned and tested regularly throughout the day to offset the increased use.
The bins are emptied on a daily basis, but we will look at reviewing the rubbish collection schedule before the next holiday period so there is no unnecessary build up.
I am sorry that your children were not able to enjoy the jumping pillow, as just before Christmas it got a large hole in it and while a replacement was immediately organised it could not be delivered until the end of January. Unfortunately, this was not something we could control.
I hope that you return soon to experience for yourself how these changes will make your next stay a great one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for a short time over the school holidays. The staff are friendly but more worried about the safety of the park than anything else. Our site had pot holes everywhere which should be fixed and dangerous as we went over in them several times. The bins were over flowing terribly, they should be emptied every day and not left to the end of the day so we can see the flith flowing out of them. The amenities were disgusting and dirty - I know it was busy but it isnt really good enough as there were plenty of spare sites. Overall I have been to much better parks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank couldbebetter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at Norah Head Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all types of feedback so we can continue to improve the park where possible.

We will address the pot hole issue you have raised because the last thing we want is an accident occurring.

The park is kept in a clean state on all occasions so not sure why the amenities and bins were not addressed during your visit. However we can assure you that we maintain the park at all times and if there is ever a problem, please let us know and we can address this at the time.

Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the "bunkhouse" for one night. It had two sets of bunk beds so if we were a group of 4, it would have been exceptional value at $60/night. We had been camping in tents and in the back of our station wagon for two weeks previous so being in an actual bed felt like heaven. The room was very clean, the sheets crisp white and beautifully soft. There was a tv, tea and coffee making facilities, and fridge in our room also. The camp kitchen is huge and again spotless. We shared a large shower and toilet with the other bunkhouses, but I think we were the only ones there as I never saw anyone else using them.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilo3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were part of a group that accommodated three cabins and all spoke very highly of their accommodation. The cabins were clean, tidy and comfortable as was the Park itself. Reception staff were very welcoming. Only 'strange' aspect was that the shower was not enclosed, i.e. you jumped straight out of bed into the shower - no doors to open!!!!!

Room Tip: If you want some privacy in the shower make sure to ask for an appropriate cabin or be prepared to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We chose this place due to its close proximity to home, children's playgrounds, powered sites (we have a tent) and availability of cabins for friends without tents/vans. Love the ensuite sites, perfect with small kids. Great beach/rockpool only 600m away which was so protected and a great cafe nearby. Noraville is only 5 min drive away with Aldi, takeaway etc. only complaint was the electric BBQ on site was better for stewing than BBQ' ing! Will bring own cooktop next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We travelled to Norah Head Holiday Park with a group of friends and paid for a powered site. We found the park to be well kept. The facilities were clean and tidy. The amenities block was clean every time we used it, as was the laundry. The jumping pillow was used constantly by the children, as well as the sand around the pillow for building castles. While the pool was quite cool, it was beautiful! And I'm sure that when we return to the park in warmer months we would use it constantly.
The camp kitchen was also fantastic with a microwave, hotplates, kettle, fridge and sink available for all to use. The barbecues outside were clean and used constantly by us!
As we travelled during the school holidays, the park offered fantastic kids programs - sand art, bungee, bug displays, painting, plaster of paris painting... As well as a couple of starlight movies on a few nights we were there. The kids were entertained for the morning, we went to the beach in the afternoons and some nights enjoyed the movie.... All in all a fantastic and fun stay! Hope to be back!
We were also able to take our dog as the park was dog friendly.
Our only disappointment was that we couldn't have an open fire - I think this would mean that this park is out of the question for camping for us in winter months...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spcurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The sites here are quite large, and you don't feel like everyone is on top of you. The pool area is lovely, and wading pool and water spouts are great for kids. The camp kitchen is large, and is kept very clean. The TV remote is missing, and so the channel can't be changed - this didn't bother me, as I don't really want to watch TV when I go camping. Unfortunately, the jumping pillow wasn't operating the whole time we were there, which was disappointing, but won't deter us from going back. There is an amphitheatre for showing movies, however there were no movies scheduled when we were there. It's a shame that all the parks assets were being utilised, as it would have made the stay even better!

The amenities blocks are kept very clean, but there is limited soap dispensers, so I would suggest taking your soap with you when you go.

There are quite a few bbq areas, which is very convenient, and they are spread out around the park, so you feel like you have the place to yourself when cooking and eating dinner. There are also a couple of play grounds, so this caravan park is really great for younger kids. It is a short walk to Soldier's Beach, which also makes it great for the whole family. Bring your boogie board, as Soldiers always has a good wave.

The staff are extremely pleasant, and very helpful. We stayed 3 nights - from a Thursday - Sunday. The park was very quiet, and not much noise from other visitors, which was a lovely surprise. There is a Sports club next door, which you can access from the caravan park - dinners/lunch are reasonably priced there. This park is great for families or couples, and living local, this is a great spot for us to take a quick break for a weekend. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducati_Girl848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Entrance
6.8 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
206 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lakes Hotel,  The Entrance
The Lakes Hotel, The Entrance
#3 of 5 in The Entrance
132 reviews
7.8 mi away
Shelly Beach Holiday Park
Shelly Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Shelly Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#2 of 9 in The Entrance
175 reviews
6.8 mi away
Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Toowoon Bay
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Canton Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norah Head Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norah Head Holiday Park

Address: Victoria Street | Norah Head, The Entrance, New South Wales NSW 2263, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in The Entrance
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norah Head Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belt on your wakeboard and get ready to kick up some spray! Norah Head is a haven of water sports that are great fun for young and old. A brisk walk through the quiet scrub is all that's between you and the sun, surf and sand. Our prime location gives visitors unfettered access to two beaches; go for a swim in the sparkling waters of either the Lakes or Soldiers Point beaches in the shadow of the historic Norah Head Lighthouse. The beaches are a drawcard for families and surf aficionados. Soldiers Beach is just a walk away and offers surfing opportunities famous throughout Australia, as it regularly hosts the Hot Tuna Central Coast Pro surf competition. The Lakes Beach is also popular and is patrolled throughout the holiday season and beyond. The beach is generally calm and therefore is great for families. The attractiveness of this beautiful beach is compounded by the many rock pools you'll find there, which are great for the children to go exploring in. If it is something a little more relaxing you are after, cast a line into the ocean and just wait for the fish to bite. Chances are you will not be waiting long either! For the accomplished fisherman Lakes Beach is the ideal spot for you to launch your next deep sea fishing adventure. Norah Head offers visitors numerous accommodation options. Caravan sites are available throughout the year. They are available in powered or unpowered varieties and provide easy access to amenities. Comfort seekers are amply provided for, with seven different types of cabins to choose from, all of them just a short walk from the beaches that make Norah Head famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Norah Head Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing