We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We found this little gem of beauty purely by accident and what a wonderful accident it was! Amanda, front office staff, was so friendly and helpful. Our room was breathtakingly beautiful opening straight onto the beachfront. We left our sliding door open at night so we could hear the waves crashing! To watch the moon rise, followed by the sun rising the next morning was awesome. The bed was comfy, room more than adequate for our needs and so close to everything that we could walk. Room was clean and, although the bathroom could possibly be updated, the view and location was worth it! Can't wait to go back and spend a lifetime (I wish it was possible!!!) there.

Room Tip: Any of the front rooms which face the ocean. If you want a great seafood platter the restaurant plat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanks for your comments - Amanda enjoyed meeting you also. We're glad you enjoyed the views and location. We do plan to upgrade the rooms and bathrooms over the coming years.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    55
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
94
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a ground floor hot tub room and were a little disappointed with our stay

Unfortunately the hot tub is definitely not worth the extra money they charge for the room. Very old. Most jets don't even work. Really need updating to qualify charging the premium they charge for this room.

Bed & bathroom ok. Everything else ok except the ridiculously tiny tv mounted on the wall.

Really feel value for money is not there.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks for your comments. All TVs are 32 inch, new TVs with 10 Foxtel channels. We check all spa baths prior to and after use , yours was working properly . I understand you did not raise any issues with our on-site managers so we could address your concerns at the time . I'm sorry your stay was not as you had expected . We are continuously working to improve our guests experience and will continue to invest to improve the motel . Regards The Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here on the Stay 3 nights, pay for 2 nights deal. Reception was helpful and provided a list of things to do upon arrival for the weekend which was very very very useful.

The location of the property is 1km away from main street shops/ restaurants at The Entrance, 850m from The Greens Bowling Club (very walk-able) which meant that you did not need to eat at the restaurant below -- which seemed pricey.

Our room was on the top level and had fantastic views of the sunrise and moonrise. The room itself was clean, a little old fashion, however meet our needs. The bed sheets were new and clean, there was 4 pillows on the bed with 2 spare in the closet. The bathroom was acceptable, though i wonder who designed how the bathroom door open as it was in the way all the time. The hotel provided cutlery and a bar fridge where we bought a couple of six packs and sat in the balcony in the evenings enjoying the shade and cool breeze and the moonrise over the ocean.

We ordered take-away one night and had our dinner on the balcony which was most enjoyable.

My only peeve is that both our neighbors were smokers and came out constantly to smoke in their balcony which meant we could not leave the sliding doors open -- no fault of the motel...

Room Tip: Higher floors -- note the waves do beat on the rocky shore. so it's a little noisy from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippernineteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay . We discourage smokers but do allow this on the balcony . Hope to see you back soon . Kind regards the Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

If you dont mind a sagging mattress that you can feel the springs through.... The view was indeed lovely, but not being able to have a good nights sleep because of an OUTDATED and very cheap mattress made our stay not a pleasant one. The bathrooms are very small and no bath, also the linen in the bed is of poor quality and about as old as the bed. For the price, not good value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearblueoceansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for your feedback . We have checked all beds and replaced a number as we want our guests to have a comfortable stay . We were surprised in regard to your comment in relation to the linen. This is checked daily by our staff with only positive comments received in the past . Sorry your stay was not what you were expecting . We do our best and do respond to and appreciate customer feedback . Kind regards . The Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

With Views of the Ocean and the Coastline running back to the Entrance..This is a great stay at a Fair Price...
Large Rooms and large balcony with floor to ceiling glass afford Spectacular views from your bed even..All brick walls, Quiet Rooms, and a sense of Privacy...Lovely Beds and Pillows....Look for a "Stay 3 night, pay for 2 deal " great value but off peak I think...
Explore the Rockpools, Take a Great beach walk into the Entrance , Or Swim in the Ocean baths at your Doorstep....
Staff were friendly & helpful .
My Elderly parents stayed in a Level access room (6) and my only Critisism would be a wish that the Bathroom was a True Walkin Shower for Wheelchairs..(I believe Easy enough to Solve)
As a Family, We have Stayed here more than once , and We will Continue to Return...cheers dp.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidp2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for your comments . We think the location is unique and we're glad you enjoyed your stay and will be back . We will look into the wheelchair access issue into room 6 shower . Kind regards the Owners .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous location on the entrance. ...waking up to the ocean was pure bliss. .....great weather while we were there ....crownies on the balcony while watching the waves with great company from my handsome boyfriend terry....friendly staff....10 out of 10 perfect!!!!! thank you....also a great fishing spot :) lisa and terry

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks Lisa and Terry . Glad your stay was great . Kind regards the Owners .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here over Christmas as my in-laws live close by. We primarily used this as an escape after long days with the family. That being said we found the room very comfortable (beds very good) with an excellent view. We also enjoyed the air conditioner as it got hot over the week. We would definitely stay here again.

We were arriving on late on Christmas day so were concerned about accessing the hotel. I called ahead of time and was told they would be open. On the day I received a phone call that they were closing. This was not a problem as they gave very clear instructions on how to access the key (in the safe near reception). The staff was very helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cheaper room- listed as a garden view- however we did have a view of the ocean from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian7n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanks for your comments and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Entrance
13.2 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kims Beachside Retreat
Kims Beachside Retreat
#1 of 1 in Toowoon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
0.8 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
0.9 mi away
Jetty Motel
Jetty Motel
#2 of 9 in The Entrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Property: Ocean Front Motel
Address: 102 Ocean Pde, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Front Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a cliff face above the pristine rock pools, ocean baths and beautiful Entrance beach and only an hours drive north of Wahroonga in Sydney or south of Newcastle. We offer 31 3.5 star rooms, most with private balconies with panoramic ocean, beach and rock pool views. Some rooms feature an internal spa bath whilst others contain a spa bath or hot tub located on the rooms private balcony. Centrally located, we are a leisurely 15 minute stroll to the town centre or Toowoon Bay with many local attractions on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing