We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motor-Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Lago Waters Resort
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a family event in The Entrance and stayed two nights with other family members in different room options.
First I would like to point out that that the definition of a 'Resort' is a place you stay at on holidays and I have seen some wonderful and some not so. This resort is a Motor Inn as it sign suggests and it also has a caravan park just up the road, so handy for the grey nomads and is reasonably priced.
Our Executive Room which is a contradiction in terms, it was a small room and was clean and tidy but needs some TLC and modernisation, the cover over the tissue box fell off all the time and painted (peeling off) tiles in the bathroom!!! This room should be labelled as a Double Room and priced accordingly, it did have a view of the swimming pool and of the Entrance. We paid $90 (online price) and not the standard rate of $250 which I would not have paid. We looked at the family room and for the same price (on-line) it was a much better room. Due to the shortage of staff our room was not made up on day two and we accepted an apology from the office.
The El Largo has a restaurant that is open for a $20 breakfast (does not open for lunch or dinner) and the times fluctuate to the signage - it was easier to breakfast just up the road for $7 per person.
This Motor-Inn is very handy to the shops and restaurants of The Entrance and a nice walkway along the water front.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but on two occasions I could hear them discuss their pay and conditions - in that they haven't been paid or their super had not been paid up to date, disgruntled staff may lead to some of the small problems encountered.
If the price is right I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Not worth the extra money for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful on arrival. Room was nice and clean, bed comfy, close to everything, the pool looked nice and clean, nice views from the balcony. I found the place quite comfortable and would probably stay there again. The only real downside was we had to lug our baggage up 3 or more flights of stairs.

Room Tip: Elderly or those with problems using stairs should request a ground floor room as there are no lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very clean, nice room with lake side view,, good balcony .. N i would say it was reli wonderful staying thr.. I will definitly stay thr next tym..
the rooms were clean
Excellent feeling
The pool is clean n neat
The barbecue area makes it wonderful to stay n cook ur own food
Good service

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We recently purchased a scoopon voucher and we were extremely dissappointed in the accomodation. The room wasn't very clean, the bathroom had mould and the small outdoor area overlooking the pool was dirty and mouldy. We were led to believe breakfast was included but upon arriving to breakfast we were informed we were only able to have cereal and toast or pay extra again. It is very run down and in need of work. The pictures are extremely misleading. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We couldn't wait to go back home. The room is old and has a door that leads to the next room. I could hear them coughing and snoring. Was very concerned about our privacy. There was a noisy vent outside. Very uncomfortable mattress. Was supposed to be a quite getaway. Was anything but that.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ydydyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was hesitating between 2/5 and 3/5 when I was rating this *motel*.
I absolutely loved the location. It is at the water side and a very convenient location where you can walk to cafes and restaurants.
This is not a resort. I call it motel. It is very very old and run down building which seriously needs a renovation, or even a re-building.
One shocking experience was, the hot water ran out at 7pm in the evening. I called the reception and they said 'oh it is because everybody is having a shower. You have to wait till the later evening once the heater reheats the water'. I was shocked. So their motel is designed to provide hot water only when not many people have a shower....???
SO the conclusion is, if you are not fussy with where you sleep and prefer to have a better location than a clean bed, then go for it. You won't regret.

Room Tip: When they advertise the rooms as 'lake view' or 'swimming pool access' blahblah, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimchigirl713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I enjoyed a weekend away with my girlfriends after purchasing a scoopon voucher. I wasn't expecting much after reading the reviews, obviously the hotel is dated and tired but it is clean and comfortable. The girls on the desk were helpful, rooms were serviced on both days we were there and the location is fabulous. They really do need a spruce up of their breakfasts though, a new toaster and perhaps a better selection of the full buffet breakfast. I had a look and it didn't appeal so I stuck with the continental which was sufficient. The $190 we paid for the room for two nights with breakfasts was fine with me and I would go back again in quiet season. Can see they would struggle in peak.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Entrance
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sapphire Palms Motel
Sapphire Palms Motel
#6 of 9 in The Entrance
64 reviews
8.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
0.9 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#2 of 9 in The Entrance
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lakes Hotel,  The Entrance
The Lakes Hotel, The Entrance
#3 of 5 in The Entrance
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Lago Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Lago Waters Resort

Address: 41 The Entrance Rd, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Price Range: £61 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Lago Waters Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Lago Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Lago Waters Hotel The Entrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing