We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable , clean and overall very happy with our stay. Best breakfast :) to many stairs”
Review of Winterhaus Lodge

Winterhaus Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Winterhaus Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable , clean and overall very happy with our stay. Best breakfast :) to many stairs”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Really enjoyed our stay , the stairs are hard to get used to but other than that beautiful view , clean spacious room .Loved the breakfast each day to get us going , communal lounge room was great to meet and socialize would defiantly stay again . Maybe not young child friendly though ( lots n lots of stairs ) .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank want2travel034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Rooms are very small, dirty (had to clean toilet myself on arrival, had urine marks all over seat, bathroom smelt of urine). Every time we dropped anything on the floor and picked it up (we have little kids) it had hairs on it not ours!!! Bedding was terrible, sheets may have once been white, but now they are brown, had that uneasy feeling that they probably hadn't been changed from previous guests! Place was generally rundown and no pride in the place. Breakfast included was a joke, cornflakes, muesli, oranges or toast!! Terrible would never go back! could have stayed in a luxury apt in thredbo for a $100 more, that's where we'll b staying next yr

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHT35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thredbo Village hotels

Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Small room, but the cheapest place in town excluding the YHA. My room was a college dorm, paper thin walls, but a nice bed. The staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was good. The place was great, but for 140$ this dorm lodge in the Aus Alps could be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of nights before the peak season insanity and managed to snap up a great deal at this place. The hosts are fantastic and can provide great insight into the local area and good tips on where to eat, drink and be merry. The accommodation itself is basic but cosy and you do feel like you are in a not-yet-discovered part of Switzerland somewhere! Note that there is no restaurant or bar on the premises but you can purchase your own alcohol elsehwhere and drink it in the lounge area on the 2nd floor. Breakfast is communal but friendly service is provided all round. Great for couples and it's gay friendly too!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The best that can be said is that it was clean and warm.
Rooms tiny, crammed with cheap metal bunks, well worn mattresses, and cheap melamine furniture. Unattractive colour scheme of grey, maroon and blue. Walls and floors so thin that you feel like you are sleeping in a dorm. Every piece of furniture and bathroom fixture needs replacing or mending. Tiles and furniture are chipped, curtains worn, paintwork scuffed. The couches were stained in worn bare in the lounge and there was an uneasy mix of families and young party goers in the evenings at the fire. Staff were fairly friendly but there is no pride in the place and it shows.
Next time we will stay in jindabyne and drive rather than feel ripped off in Thredbo which seems to think it's ok to charge international hotel rates for backpacker accommodation. Actually I have stayed in better backpackers.

Room Tip: 9 & 10 are on top floor so noise slightly better and at least face the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thredbo Village hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#2 of 4 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantern Apartments
Lantern Apartments
#3 of 24 in Thredbo Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterhaus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterhaus Lodge

Property: Winterhaus Lodge
Address: Winterhaus Lodge 11 Alpine Way, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Winterhaus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winterhaus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing