We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squatters run room 14 a delight to stay in.”
Review of Squatter's Run

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Squatter's Run
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Squatters run room 14 a delight to stay in.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

So close to everything. Right above a brilliant bakery,opposite a ski shop,and a full view of the slopes. Spa bath,underfloor heating, comfortable beds, and over 100 movies and shows to watch. So close to all the action, yet quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Choose one close to the slopes because you'll be there all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have been holidaying in Thredbo for many, many years and believe you can't go past the apartments at Squatters Run. They are always very well appointed, clean and well maintained. Everything you need is at your doorstep and the staff are always exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Highly recommended!
Peta M

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have been staying in Thredbo for many years now and I can't believe we have never chosen to stay at Squatters Run. We had drinks with friends last year and we were so impressed we booked for this year.

From the minute I booked, to the minute I handed my keys back at the end of our stay, we could not fault the wonderful service provided by Verina. Our apartment was amazing and truly was a home away from home. The location of these apartments could not be more convenient to everything in Thredbo. It was fabulous being in the heart of Thredbo with wonderful views of the mountain and to top it off we had a huge dumping of snow.

I would not hesitate to recommend Squatters Run Apartments to anyone.
Thanks again to Verina :)

Room Tip: We had a 1 bed loft and it was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryjones64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We were so excited to stay at Little Nanook in Squatters Run for a friends wedding. The view was glorious, the space was modern, elegant and tastefully decorated. It felt extremely cosy on our arrival despite being night time when we arrived.

There is everything you need already located in the apartment, no need to bring a thing! We had foxtel, Apple TV and two top of the line samsung TV's in our apartment. The new renovated bathroom is gorgeous and reminds me of bathroom created on 'The Block'.

We were located right on the mall with close proximity to all shops, restaurants and bars. We did not use our car once!

A huge kudos to Jackie the manager of the property who has been delightful to deal with and her lovely concierge Angel who has been extremely helpful and welcoming during our stay.

10/10 Highly Recommended and we booked through Stayz.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this apartment has been very enjoyable. It has all the necessities that are required for a stay at a place like Thredbo where the costs can be expensive. Our apartment No.25 was clean, comfortable and well maintained with a luxurious shower. The kingsize bed was very comfortable and the self contained living area well arranged with all the necessary comforts and kitchen requirements.
A word of advice, to save costs if you are self catering it is well worth the drive back to Jindabyne to buy supplies as the "shop" at Thredbo charges exorbitant prices for goods.
Overall a great place in a good location at great village. Would I stay again? Without a doubt!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BillMac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Wow! What a place.

I'd seen the little online tour but it does not do this place justice! I'm not sure where to start.

The attention to detail is amazing. Our host greeted us within a minute of us calling to say we had arrived even though they had set the electronic access to a unique number for us and provided it well in advance.

They showed us around and one of the first things that struck me was the attention to detail with the decor. Scattered throughout is antique snow gear; old stocks lean up against the wall in one corner, antique skates hang on the coat hook inside the front door and an pair of wooden skis in the main bedroom all combine to create a striking juxtaposition with the modern appointments throughout.

The kitchen boasts a coffee machine that freshly grinds the coffee beans and there is an array of teas to tempt the senses. The best thing was, however, a box of chocolate truffles with the suggestion we melt them in some hot milk. Holy cow! They were amazing and I almost got in a fight with my wife when she found out I used the last of them.

There are two rooms which can be arranged to suit the visitors and they both have flat screen TVs. We had a King bed upstairs and it was very spacious. Again, the details counted with a silver water jug and glasses by the bed as well as iPod connectivity.

The bedroom window looks directly out to what would be the ski fields in the winter. I can imagine being a skier and waking up to throw open the blinds, be drenched in sun and see what the day of skiing ahead had for me. I'd probably throw on the bath robe hanging in the cupboard while I enjoyed a coffee and the paper first though.

The lounge room has a large flat screen smart TV with Apple TV and Foxtel and again there is iPod connectivity. It also boasts a wood heater and the host had even set it up so if you wanted to use it all you had to do was light the paper.

The lounge room has a long, recessed, lounge with plenty of cushions; perfect for cuddling up after a day exploring or a hard day skiing. Maybe with some schnapps if there are no truffles left! There is even some blankets on the lounge to snuggle under.

The lounge room opens up to a small balcony where there is a BBQ. They tell me that in the winter there are fireworks at night over the ski fields. The balcony, or the lounge room window, would provide one of the best seats in the village.

The open lounge room flows into the kitchen which has convection cooking and those cool draws that when you push them close they slow up right at the end and then slowly pop closed.

There are two bathrooms. The first has a spa and shower while the second has a steam room and shower. I'd been out enjoying the local mountain bike trails so when I got back I enjoyed a beer in the steam room before washing off with a cold shower. So refreshing.

We then headed out to the famous Black Bear Inn which is about 25 meters away. Wee enjoyed a few drinks at the bar before settling in for a lovely dinner. I highly recommend the trio of schnitzel (pork, chicken, veal) but everything on the menu looked good. The owner even shouted us a shot on the way out as we paid the bill.

What else is there? There is a heated drying cupboard for your snow gear, a communal pool, a washing machine, dryer and a car park right outside the front door.

If that's not enough for you then you also get free wifi. The password is a dig at one of the host's skiing ability. That got a laugh all round.

You still want more? Well, the hosts provide you with a private locker down in the village to stow all your ski gear so you don't have to lug it up the hill.

My only complaint was the trip we took around the village to try and find the bakery. We went the long, very long, way. Apparently the bakery is directly below! Oh well, at least we got to see a bit more of the village.

If you are thinking about staying here then stop looking and book now.

Winter or summer, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Get into #32 and tell them Oyster sent you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed in the same apartment for the last couple of years now and will certainly go again.There is plenty of room for three adults with our adult son taking the loft upstairs and we take the main bedroom, spending time together in the roomy living area. Perfect location, just above the shops of the village, and incredibly quiet downstairs. A good kitchen, good facilities, and friendly and attentive staff. An added bonus is that the apartment is good for less mobile people ( we can't all be skiers!) with only three steps from the car parking area to the apartment. the extra toilet and the laundry in the apartment are added bonuses

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoW552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thredbo Village hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snowgoose Apartments
Snowgoose Apartments
#1 of 24 in Thredbo Village
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squatter's Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squatter's Run

Property: Squatter's Run
Address: Squatter's Run Squatter's Run Mowamba Place, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squatter’s Run is an award winning development located at the village square. A variety of floor plans offer the ideal accommodation for your holiday plans: a studio for a quiet sojourn for two; spacious two bedrooms, two bathroom apartments that can sleep up to six people; or the popular one bedroom and one bedroom plus lofts. Fully equipped kitchens will keep the chef happy - whether your culinary skills are gourmet level or you have mastered reheating in the microwave. Unique design features are found throughout the complex. For some, a window seat provides a great view of the passing village life. In others, the loft is a quiet retreat for afternoon tea, a good book or a siesta. Drinks on the balcony or a dining nook for a cosy dinner with friends – in each apartment something will add to that special holiday feel. And our central location means you can enjoy all the activities of this renowned mountain village. Outside of fabulous skiing and snowboarding in winter, time your visit for Christmas and New Year or one of the special events and festivals in summer such as the Jazz, Groove and Funk festival every March or Blues in January. Every apartment comes with views of the mountain, balconies, and each unit has a reserved car space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Squatter's Run reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing