We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Thredbo YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thredbo YHA
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Thanks Nadia - from booking to check out i have no complaints. Nothing was to much trouble, rooms basic but comfortable, facilities clean and shared lounge and kitchen have everything you needed. Will be back next session. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fran Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

My partner and I stayed her the night before New-Years. We rocked up out of the blue looking for a place to stay and I had remembered it from 7 years before. Somehow we got the last free room of four bunks, and the owner advised us to take the risk of taking just two beds and paying less as she was almost closing up for the night. We did, and she was right. We had the room to ourselves (and very likely the same room I was in 7 years ago!).

The views from the balcony are lovely, but as it is pretty high even in mid-summer it gets quite chilly. Just wrap up warm. The social area is nice and seemed clean, and the kitchen is well-supplied with pots and pans as well as neat people who clean up after themselves. The showers and toilets (though few) were clean too. The beds were fine, with clean sheets and made a good change from a week of camping. There was also ample space to hang things and store luggage, as well as a window with pretty views (only downside was the party next door, which our window opened on to).

The hostess was lovely. We arrived tired and indecisive as to what walk to do the next day. She gave us plenty of advice and was very patient with us coming back every ten minutes with new questions. In the end we went for a long walk, and due to unexpected sunniness I was a bit worried about us getting burnt, but my partner and I only had one hat between us. So she lent me her hat for the day (which was definitely a good thing as the UV was intense!!). Fantastic!

Our fellow 'backpackers' were a mixed bunch of families, young travellers and sporty Australians (a walking club had just finished off their hiking holiday). All very friendly and adding to the atmosphere. Loved it, and I am sure we would not hesitate to stay there again if we pass through (in seven years or so?).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

we had a blast of fun in this place, it was freakin freezin cold and with managed with some shots to warm up. dinner and breakfast were included in the deal as we were a large group of 25..great place to stay provided that you are not alone.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two night inbetween Xmas and new year. I'm sure the hostel was nearly sold out but never really felt too crowded. Great value for money. I was a little concerned to find only 1 toilet on the whole floor and only two showers but I didn't have to wait once which I was surprised about!

Bed wasn't the most comfortable but didn't really expect much more from a hostel anyway.

Great deck area outside which stunning Thredbo mountains views. Kitchen seemed good although we didn't actually use it. Large eating and chill out area which seemed fairly quiet. As we came 'out of season' I'm not sure it would be as quiet as it was but all the same we will defiantly be back for our annual Thredbo visit again.

Great hostel, excellent value and no real complaints at all. Can't go wrong with this place really.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Not usually one for YHA or backpacker accomodation however, I really enjoyed our stay at Thredbo YHA. Parking is a problem throughout the Thredbo village area so we were not at a disadvantage by staying at the YHA. Large kitchen and beautiful balcony for a great view of the mountains. Staff were very friendly and helpful for our first time at Thredbo. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandpaul14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

One of the best YHAs I have stayed in and I have stayed in YHAs all over the world and all over Australia. Definitely a home away from home. Would recommend it to anyone. The only thing that I didn't like were the late check in (4.30-5pm) and the set down parking for only 2 cars. (There are 48 rooms.) Driveway was very slippery and dangerous and hard to get out frontwise. I hit something with my car trying to turn around fortunatelythere was no damage.

Room Tip: I wasn't affected by noise from outside my room and I stayed on the top floor. It might be a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a private ensuite room and was very happy with the YHA. Would have preferred if they used the big screen for tv - they refused even though most people wanted to watch the olympics (instead they screened a snowboard video). Very clean and highly recommended as a budget ski lodge option!

Room Tip: Go for the private room with ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaLewisSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.2 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
18.5 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aneeki Ski Lodge
Aneeki Ski Lodge
#20 of 25 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Stables Perisher
The Stables Perisher
#4 of 12 in Perisher Valley
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thredbo YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thredbo YHA

Address: 2 Buckwong Place, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Thredbo Village
Price Range: £21 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thredbo YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thredbo YHA offers the best value ski accommodation in Australia's premier ski destination with this purpose built lodge in the heart of Thredbo Village. Cosy atmosphere with fireplace and great views over the mountain and ski-fields. YHA has kitchen, lounge, drying room and free Wi-Fi hotspot. Self-contained studio apartment available during winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Thredbo YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing