We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, caring service, thoroughly enjoyable!”

Berntis Restaurant & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Restarant in located at Berntis on the 2nd Level. If you want to grap a drink beforehand then you can visit the Tapas Bar downstairs and enjoy a drink.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious, caring service, thoroughly enjoyable!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

From the friendly, engaging, and personal service of all staff, to the beautifully prepared mains and sides, this was a thoroughly enjoyable meal from start to finish. Try the prawn & jamon angel-hair pasta and the BBQ pork ribs - whilst it is consistent with the high-ish prices of Thredbo restaurants generally, this was good value for the quality of the food and the attentive service - who minds paying when you get something good for your money?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bugglemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    69
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tasty”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

food was reasonable prices for what we had. Kids loved the beef and my special was filling- would return

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fran Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overall amazing evening”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Excellent Service,meals and atmosphere. We dined in the restaurant which met all expectations, as the Rugby was on we planned to watch in the Tapa's Bar. As it was a rare occasion to have a date night without the kids we were after a more intimate night than the busy bar, the staff suggested the Red room which was a quieter more cosy room with a beautiful open log fire. If we are ever visiting Thredbo again we will make sure we visit again. Thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RYANC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Penalised if you have Kids”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

When we showed up with kids they put us at the table right at the door instead of a previously booked table at the window. So if you want standard Hotel food made with lack of passion with service of disdarn - WELCOME to Berntis. However I will be heading elsewhere. Disappointed with food too, kid's chicken meal was chargrilled but was cooked so dried and tasteless that even my littlies won't touch them (and they were famished after a day of skiing) Headed elsewhere for desert. Sorry will not be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Jammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal once again!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Loved the oyster shots. Berntis has always had great oysters and the rest of the meal was just as good. Keep coming back almost every year and we always have a great night out and reasonably priced too. Keep it up...we'll be back next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pecfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berntis Restaurant & Grill also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Been to Berntis Restaurant & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing