We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Alpine Air” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Kosciuszko National Park

Mount Kosciuszko National Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Extending over 2,664 square miles, this park contains Australia's highest mountain, Mount Kosciuszko.
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean Alpine Air”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Returning after a visit to the coast, we decided to return home through the park. Although there was no snow, the scenery was beautiful , starting with green paddocks to towering mountains. We were also lucky enough to see wild Brumbies just of the road. The road gets very windy , but well worth the drive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    74
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great alpine experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Fantastic all year round national park. A great variety of scenic walks in summer (and mountain bike trails for those into this) and snow sports in winter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Climbed the top of Australia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nice and easy path to the summit and while we were hit with snow, rain, wind and sun, a very satisfying trek nonetheless.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CAN_in_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Walked up into the clouds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The walk from the top of the chairlift up the mountain, which was easy on a steel boardwalk. The view was stunning, but as we ascended we got into thicker and thicker cloud; this of course made the view a bit more difficult, but was an amazing experience (albeit very cold). Wear appropriate clothing as the wind chill is much worse at the top of the mountain. We saw people in shorts! Crazy. Take layers, be ready for the cold and it is a wonderful walk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ainsley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Autumn alpine mountain walk - a top of Australia experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

End of March 2014 my husband and I enjoyed such a special mountain walk to Mt Kosciuszko Lookout after taking the chair lift from Thredbo Village. The raised metal walkways allowed us to walk easily past babbling creeks and surround ourselves with thriving alpine vegetation and vast craggy landscapes. It was certainly an autumn walk we could recommend - just go prepared for rapidly changing weather conditions. We took shelter and time to enjoy the vista at Eagles Nest Restaurant before getting drenched on our chair lift return to Thredbo. What a top of Australia experience!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rightlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Kosciuszko National Park also viewed

Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Jindabyne, New South Wales
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Been to Mount Kosciuszko National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing