We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, basic and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here recently for two nights, having travelled down from Sydney with my teenage son.
The accommodation package included twin share plus breakfast, and if you ask, a discounted 2 for 1 Kosiuszko Express Lift pass saving $30. It was good value! I also heard a couple bargaining for a second night if they could get breakfast for free. Which was obliged. Summer bargains, I booked ahead on the internet and obviously might otherwise have saved some bucks as a walk in...
The place is basic, but very clean and extremely close to everything. It is right across the road from the Express Chair lift and the building connects with the town centre.
Breakfast is fantastic!
The twin share room had 3 singles, tv, tea and coffee, mini bar/ fridge freezer, large bathroom and good cupboard space.
Given it was summer it was very quiet and a number of bars and restaurants associated with the accommodation were closed. But that posed no problems.
Free wifi in the lounge.
Would stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank WaynesGFGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Two nights to see 2013 out. Our room on the ground floor overlooking the pool and straight across to the slopes was large and well appointed. The rooms though dated are extremely well maintained . Room very clean and comfortable . Large windows to enjoy the mountain views!!!

Rooms very clean and staff from reception to the restaurant Cascades were friendly and efficient .

Parking at the hotel and our last minute rate included breakfast .

Congratulations to the manager of Cascades and staff . Large selection of cereals, fruits, Bircher muesli ,juices and hot breakfast bar including poached eggs , fried and scrambled . Being school holidays and New Years hotel was full but the staff made sure the breakfast was replenished .

We had dinner at Cascades . Though not full the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the manager seated us next to the window looking straight across to the mountain. The parpadelle with squid and prawns was delicious as was the chicken breast with goats cheese and asparagus and potato gratin . We shared the greened beans with almonds - compliments to the chef for all meals . Having read reviews on Tripadvisor did not disappoint.


The spa is nice after enjoying one of the many fabulous walks .

Whilst our room was adjacent with the pool no noise .

Excellent value !

Room Tip: Room on ground floor with large windows overlooking the pool great view of the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Previous reviewer says "they are not Rydges anymore". If that's true: why are they still using the name, inlcuding on Trip Advisor. This was the 3rd time I've stayed here, most recently before last week wHas three years ago. Also during Xmas week. Our room was on the third floor (no lift), small and rather stuffy. Fittings and paint-job from the last century (the 20th). No a/c, but a fan. Toilet didn't flush properly; lobby forlorn and rather shabby. Friendly but harried and slightly scatty staff on front desk. When I called to inform them about non-flushing toilet there was no answer after 16 rings. What if I'd been ill or had some emergency?

The saving grace: Cascades Restaurant. Breakfast was included and it was a standout--- hot and cold buffet; well-prepared, well-presented, and very flavourful. Very good, smart staff too. (Same for dinner there the night before).

Bottom line : the hotel needs to lift its game -- at least to the level of its restaurant.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, make sure to ask for a room on the ground floor. No lift and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Two nights here were good. They are not Rydges any more but still gave us a welcoming drink as per the Rydges agreement. Parking needs to be policed better as its not easy to park in town even in summer.
The rooms are the same as they were 20 years ago which is sad as its a good Hotel needing a little tidy up. We set off the fire alarm by accident and staff were their very quickly at our door so thank you for that. No fire just very sensitive sensors.

The view from the room was wonderful and just waking up to the view each morning made it worth while.

Thank you for our room but maybe a little room upgrade would make this place even better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My partner and I stayed a weekend here in late November. Unfortunately it was after the ski season was closed so Thredbo as a whole was very quiet with hardly any shops and cafes open. This meant that there was very little competition to this hotel in the village and their prices for accommodation and food were high for what you get.
The hotel was built in the 60's and is showing its age. The rooms are neat but very small by today's standards, and the hotel is a rabbit warren of stairs and long narrow corridors. The sound proofing between rooms is not that good either.
On the positive side, you can't beat its location at the base of the mountains - just make sure you get a room that has a view as not all face in the best direction. We ate at the hotel restaurant (little choice!) but its food was surprisingly good if overpriced. The included hot buffet breakfast was one of the best I have had in recent years, and the restaurant staff at both dinner and breakfast were very good.

Room Tip: The rooms in the wing facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G0Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel and were upgraded to a room with balcony overlooking Mt Kosciusko .what a view. I was so sad to leave the hotel . Considering it was quiet, the staff were friendly and accommodating . We will definitely come back and stay. Location is great. Walking distance to almost everything .

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watsandmerc1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

recently won 3 days skiing Thredbo, the hotel was best priced and location unbeatable! Yes its getting on but when we were there to ski free for three it really didnt matter, we skied, ate, drank & slept, all our needs were met and the staff were always happy to help if needed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was good, away from noise and accessed easily from outdoors for luggage etc if necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
9.1 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
107 reviews
16.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range: £98 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village, just metres from the base of the Kosciuszko Express Chairlift. This is a historic property with an alluring sense of alpine culture - it has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities include restaurants, bars, a spa, sauna, outdoor pool, guest laundry, bike room and car parking. Thredbo is famous for après activities and when staying at the hotel you have both restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Enjoy casual meals and a lively pub atmosphere in The Local Pub and relaxed restaurant dining with breath-taking views in Cascades Restaurant plus lots of great seasonal options. Thredbo also has a year round events schedule featuring live music, festivals, special food and beverage events, hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing and everything in-between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing