We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five nights was a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Five nights was a long time”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed at the Denman Hotel in early August. I originally booked for five nights for my wife and I but at the last minute she was unable to come. It was fortunate that I was by myself as the room was extremely small and the bathroom even smaller - possibly the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. The Hotel itself was old and starting to show its age. My room had a balcony which afforded great views of the hill - the downside was the 52 steps to get to it. The TV in the room was small and cheap and the price at $500 a night seemed very steep. On the plus side, the breakfast was hearty and I found the staff very friendly - they even drove me to my car (there is no on site carpark). Overall I had an average experience. Staying in Thredbo is expensive and it is a captive market but I felt I didn't really get what i paid for.

Room Tip: Balcony room but not up too high - too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    44
    30
    25
    26
See reviews for
45
80
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

What to start with wifi works just in the lobby area,tiny rooms and bathrooms,took a shower the water was cold half the time,the parking was not in the same hotel,the tv needs to be updated,no microwave in the room which was a pain if u want to heat milk for ur kid,the customer service was not really helpful, the pictures are totally different than what we had and to pay 1500$ for that i was insane

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sema8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thredbo Village hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The worst customer service I have ever experienced!! They even managed to make my wife cry. I have travelled and stayed in a lot of places and I would have to say this was the worst experience I've ever had. We checked out within the hour. I would recommend it to anyone. Over priced, tiny rooms and the worst management you could ever imagine. Words don't express how bad the experience was. Christian and Lydia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjb1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We thought this place was terrible. Overpriced, small rooms by any standard . No lift and no assistance with bags. The bathrooms were small, could not sit straight on the toilet. Tiles cracked and grout dirty.
Poorly lit hall ways and more like a rabbit warren. This place is run down and in need of complete makeover.
Breakfast no better and coffee machine permanently broken. Restaurant well above average.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here a few weeks ago. He had surprised me and booked the room. As we were driving down I decided to check it out. After reading tripadvisor, I was thinking he had made a terrible mistake booking here and If he had read some of the negative posts on here, he would not have booked.

Well, we were both glad that we were able to make up our own minds because we had a great stay! The rooms were as expected, cosy but comfortable. Perfect for what we needed. The bathroom was on the small side but sufficient and it was cleaned well! When you think of the location, what more could you ask for! Sure the TV was dated, but we weren't there to watch TV and it worked just fine. When we left our room we could here our neighbour's TV blaring from the hallway, but we couldn't here it at all from inside our room.

The hotel is located just across from the stairs that lead into the village and the chair lift, so you couldn't get better for location in our opinion. The hotel owners were only too happy drive us to and from our car which was parked some distance away. The restaurant was lovely.

Now, after reading comments about Judy I very curious to meet her. However, after reading all the negative comments about her we were pleasantly surprised. In our experience, she was not as others had portrayed in their posts, in fact quite the opposite. Though we didn't have too much to do with her, each time we left and returned to the hotel, she was professional and friendly. When Judy returned us to our car, she helped clean snow off with her bare hands.

I would definitely stay here next time we come to the snow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nveronica27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

$500 for a double bed, with a gap beside it so small you can't fit your suit case. For the price I'd expect a bigger room, nicer interior and fittings and reception staff. The TV is a box with 4 channels and wifi does not work. It's hardly a 3 star hotel and rooms don't look anything like the photos on the website. The walls are paper thin we could hear our nrighbours having a shower. Only good point is the location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schwonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We paid $750 for a tiny one bed room! The manager was one of the rudest people I've ever met! We were woken up by a party next door and when we called reception no one came! A lot of money for a terrible sleep!! Not value for money in anyway! The breakfast was also terrible! I've had better stays in shared cabins at the snow! Definitely ruined my birthday!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
116 reviews
16.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
197 reviews
9.1 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Denman Hotel Thredbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Denman Hotel Thredbo

Property: The Denman Hotel Thredbo
Address: The Denman Hotel Thredbo 21 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Denman Hotel Thredbo 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denman Thredbo, is a family run hotel with an emphasis on warm and friendly service, it is the ideal place to stay, play, relax and enjoy all that the beautiful Snowy Mountains has to offer. One of the first properties built in Thredbo, the building which now houses The Denman has been welcoming visitors since 1962. In keeping with the heritage of our beginnings the rooms are compact and comfortable with the added character of an older style ski chalet. Many of our rooms have views of the mountain and thanks to our central location, you are just a stones throw away from the village square with its cafes shops and bars. The chairlifts are a five minute stroll and if you don't feel like walking the village shuttle bus is at our doorstep (winter only). Take some time out from the outdoors in the Library, Terrace Restaurant or Apres Bar and soak up the ambience and old world charm of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Denman Hotel Thredbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denman Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing