We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar and service, fantastic hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great bar and service, fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Didn't stay here but visited for a drink and something to eat in the downstairs bar.
Lovely spot to chill out and relax with friends. The family that own and run The Denman were very hospitable. Centrally located.
Would return for sure

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hailsfromHighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    43
    30
    24
    26
See reviews for
42
78
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We rocked up at 4pm on Easter Saturday without a booking , we had read on expedia 10 mins before that they had one room available and we weren't expecting much.

The lovely lady behind the counter confirmed this was true and it was the same price as online (impressed so far). I asked if it had any view, not expecting it would considering it was the last remaining room in the hotel and one of the last in thredbo. The nice lady admitted immediately that it didn't, and then added that it had a 'side view'. Obviously we took it anyway. To our surprise the room was lovely and the side view although small and over a roof was actually of the side of the mountain which wasn't bad at all.

The shower was great. The bed was comfy. The heater worked and so did the lights and door which was about all we needed.

The parking is miles away but they get you to unload and then drive you down and back so it ends up being ok. You don't have to actually walk anywhere unless your used to living out of your car.

We will come back. Only $190 for our room!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I took our 8 week old baby for our first holiday to Thredbo and stayed at the Denman. We had a wonderful stay, its located very close to the main square so there was no need for a pram, the views of the mountains are beautiful and the staff couldn't have made us feel more welcome. The restaurant was really nice for a treat and the bar downstairs' had really helpful staff and a great atmosphere. Thanks for making our first holiday so easy and wonderful!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwell555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed D, Owner at The Denman Hotel Thredbo, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us as your feedback is important to us.
We are very please you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments were well received by our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

found a few issues with the room asked for a balcony room no lifts 4 floors with bags ? room needs face lift, No way you would say 4 star more like 1.5 mould on the tiles ,paint falling off windows, torn curtains cracks in plaster. Staff very friendy, manager is the owner. nice bar area bar man very help full. about $12 for a short $9 beer $ 10 bowl french frys, parking is a big issue for this hotel you must pay to park/ & use your car in the areas, personally i would stay in jindabyne get the bus up to the mountains for the day,

All up personally i own my own business i don" like to knock business / people down but pictures talk them self go some were else

PS great place to visit thredbo

Room Tip: dont take the stairway to heaven room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed D, Owner at The Denman Hotel Thredbo, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
As the owner I am very most disappointed to hear of your experience recently. Firstly, thank you for bringing it to our attention. We do not in any way make excuses, except to say that we are at the moment going through refurbishment and as the balcony rooms, because of their great views are most in demand - hence it was let when it most obviously should not have been. We wish to advise that your concerns with the room were rectified immediately on receipt of your review.
We know that it is a climb up to these balcony rooms, but due to the topography of the village this is not unusual. Still, we acknowledge that you found it a trial and will in future make sure our guests are aware.
With respect to the parking charges you mentioned, this is a charge levied by NSW National Parks and it is used for road maintenance within the park and includes the charge to stay overnight.
Thank you for your kind words on our service in the bar, it is most appreciated.
Once again we sincerely appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thredbo Village hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

A few days away after a hectic December and Christmas. The hotel is in the centre of Thredbo with everything an easy walk away.The room was a good size, airy and a view of the mountains. The 'balcony' was tiny but we used it everyday. It was also quiet - just what was needed!

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The parking is non-existent (Thredbo is compact and parking at a premium) so they provide a shuttle service to and from your car which you park at one of the public car parks in the Village.

The Apres Bar was a nice spot for pre-dinner drink with an entertaining barman. The breakfasts were good with a reasonable choice, good service and lovely food.

Overall a good place to stay in Thredbo.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room - always gets a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loud1Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We always make sure we spend some time at The Denman Hotel when we stay at Thredbo for the Snowy Ride. I love the bar. Could spend hours drinking and talking to friends & acquaintances. The bar staff are warm, welcoming and make you feel special. Well done The Denman.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BluehazeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Where do I start? This hotel is perfectly located and close to everything. A two minute walk from the chairlift is ideal and the walk takes you through the town/shop square. After checking several places to stay in the area, this was the cheapest at the time. The girl who checked me in was friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean and well run. The room may have been a bit small but how long would you be staying in it if you are here for winter sports? The hotel is certainly superior to anything in Chamonix for the price. There is an excellent library and a couple of places to relax and read.

I was in Threadbo to trek Kosciuszko and got lots of helpful advice from the staff. I was only there for 3 days, had bad weather and was forced to do the trek on the day that I was driving to Melbourne.They even located a guide for me on the day. I was under time pressure but the staff did everything they could to research the best and quickest way for me to drive on once I had completed my ascent. I was given maps and printed directions. The waitress even made an excellent sandwich for me for the trek without me even asking for one. Brilliant!

There is a great selection of food for breakfast and the dinner menu is excellent, if a little pricy. The food was well cooked and then I went to the bar. Here, I was also surprised at the selection of whiskey on offer although they need to greatly expand the selection of Irish whiskey. The barman knew his whiskey which is surprising as most don't bother to take an interest in what they are serving!

Overall, the hotel is a great place to stay; clean, neat and perfectly located but the staff is what really sets this hotel apart. Look no further!

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansumstranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
9.0 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#2 of 4 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Denman Hotel Thredbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Denman Hotel Thredbo

Property: The Denman Hotel Thredbo
Address: The Denman Hotel Thredbo 21 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Denman Hotel Thredbo 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denman Thredbo, is a family run hotel with an emphasis on warm and friendly service, it is the ideal place to stay, play, relax and enjoy all that the beautiful Snowy Mountains has to offer. One of the first properties built in Thredbo, the building which now houses The Denman has been welcoming visitors since 1962. In keeping with the heritage of our beginnings the rooms are compact and comfortable with the added character of an older style ski chalet. Many of our rooms have views of the mountain and thanks to our central location, you are just a stones throw away from the village square with its cafes shops and bars. The chairlifts are a five minute stroll and if you don't feel like walking the village shuttle bus is at our doorstep (winter only). Take some time out from the outdoors in the Library, Terrace Restaurant or Apres Bar and soak up the ambience and old world charm of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Denman Hotel Thredbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denman Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing