We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lantern Apartments
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Candlelight Lodge(Thredbo Village)(Great Value!)
US$253
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhorn Lodge(Thredbo Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Denman Hotel Thredbo(Thredbo Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Winterhaus Lodge(Thredbo Village)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Marritz Hotel(Perisher Valley)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Perisher Manor(Perisher Valley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Perisher Valley Hotel(Perisher Valley)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
63
74
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
74
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom apartmentapartment was cleanthe sofa bedprivate balconybus stop rightfull kitchenparking spotpublic parkingski lockersa great staywashing machine and dryerski fieldsmountain viewoff seasontop floorstayed nightswould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in Unit 22 for 3 nights from Dec 27, 2013. We were very happy with our apartment. It was clean and spacious and had a good sized fridge. There were no problems with the Wi Fi connection. It was very relaxing taking in the spectacular mountain views from the living room and large balcony area. Our only disappointment was the lack of parking not only around the Lantern Apartments but around Thredbo generally, however it was the summer peak season. Unlike the winter months there is no shuttle bus service so my husband had to park our car in the main Thredbo Overnight Carpark approx. 1.4km away with a 22 minute uphill climb back to our apartment.

If you are looking for a good day hike (7.5 hours) we recommend a one way ticket up the Thredbo chairlift, complete the return walk to Mt Kosciuszko summit but instead of taking the chairlift back down to the village, walk back via the Dead Horse Gap trail. This trail is not as touristy, with great views, interesting boulder formations and an abundance of wild flowers and snow gums. The completion of this track joins onto the riverside track which takes you directly back to Thredbo (24km in total).

Room Tip: Book early and pay the extra if you want the parking
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronte_b491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time and thanks for giving the Dead Horse Gap trail a wrap, it is my 2nd favourite. I love climbing up the Merrit's nature trail from village. The Ash forest is a magical place.

Regarding the parking, Our standard 1 bedroom apartments at the Lantern do not have parks on site but the deluxe apartments and larger properties do. You must have parked a long way off. The main car park near Friday Flat is 10 minutes walk from the Lantern. I walk that way when I go t the gym.

Thanks again for the review, hope to see you in Thredbo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The managing agents of Banjo Apartments are Ian and Jill Foster from the Lantern Apartment complex next door. The have been managing Banjo 6 since it was new - about 12 years we think. In the last few weeks they have begun managing all the Banjo Apartments that are for rent.

We originally booked into Banjo 6. There was a hiccup of massive proportions and we could not stay there more than one night. Jill kindly offered us another apartment Banjo 4.

Ian and particularly Jill know how to handle a problem and they pride themselves on resolving the problem, are nice about it, and really make their visitors feel most comfortable in the manner they handle it. So many a brownie point for that.

The apartments are great in that they have the most special views, stunning one would say. The apartment we stayed in needed a bit of a spring clean and some minor maintenance to bring it up to the standard as advertised. We have seen a Lantern Apartment that Jill and Ian manage and it is of a high standard and very clean. Therefore we are confident that Jill and Ian will have everything up to scratch quickly.

Banjo 4 is a lovely 3 storey apartment with a unique design and with stunning views, a lovely small balcony with large picture windows from the living area and main and the second bedroom. A quick 5 minute walk down to the village and a 10 minute walk back up again. This apartment also has the feature of parking right outside the unit. Whereas unit 5, 6 and 7 parking is located 34 external stairs above the apartment.

We would highly recommend Banjo 4 as a place to stay for future visitors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonofBuderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

I am sorry it took so long to respond to your review. Once again we are sorry for the issues that you had during your stay and we really do appreciate your understanding. We have been working on some upgrades to Banjo 4 with the owners and they will continue to make changes to bring them more in line with the other properties we manage. It is a lovely apartment and the views are great. It just a question of the TLC to keep it looking good.

Thanks again for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

the Lantern Apartments were fantastic value, the staff were really friendly on arrival and during our stay offering plenty of advice of places to fish, eat and walk. The apartment itself was clean and had everything we needed for our 5 day stay with a well equipped kitchen. The view of the mountain was a lovely thing to wake up to every morning, thank you for an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountain
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am glad we were able to help with the choice of restaurant. They have been improving steadily in Thredbo over the past year and there are now plenty of good choices. Regarding our apartments, there are really only 2 that do not have good views and we will always advise people when booking if that is the last apartment we have.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had a fantastic time at Lantern, great quality facilities and rooms equipped better than most. Apartment was very clean, beds were huge and comfortable.
Will definitely stay again next time in Thredbo
The only complaint was the shower head was made for peopleunder 4 foot high, bit of a bend to get under but you can live with that!
Great hassle free storage for skis and equipment and close to village shops and ski fields.
Highly Recommend

Room Tip: Get the loft apartments, few extra stairs but worth the view and room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, the feed back you have given is valuable and I will take a tape measure to find out which shower you are referring to. Thanks again and I hope we see you tin Thredbo again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Banjos #6 for our 5 day ski trip and as soon as we walked in new we were going to enjoy our stay. The apartment was very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. It was also nice to have space for the kids to have time to themselves. Thanks for a worry free break we all needed. Wil definately recommend it and look forward to staying again. Laura Qld

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintage94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks for such a lovely compliment. We are really pleased thar you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you in Thredbo again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews