We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Apartment and Spectacular Balcony View”
Review of Lantern Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lantern Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Apartment and Spectacular Balcony View”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed there for skiing during the first weekend of school holidays. With one real king size bed and a sofa bed, it was perfect for a family of 4, even for 5 if you have little kids. The apartment was very comfortable and warm, with everything equipped as listed on their website. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. There is a shuttle bus stop right in front which takes to back and forth to the snow fields. The Village (with shops and restaurant) was only 5 minutes walk. The balcony faces the mountains with amazing views and on Saturday night just before 6pm where was a brief fireworks display. Austar didn't work for one night but that was due to nature and not Lantern's fault.

After a full day of skiing, the apartment was a perfect place to retreat and relax. We were all very happy with Lantern Apartment and we can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Not all rooms came with onsite parking. We parked about 200m away in a public carpark but it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, 10 January 2015
Thanks for your review, We really appreciate you taking the time to post it. I hope we see you again in Winter 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    71
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
72
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I have been to Lantern Apartments four of times (Jan/Feb/Apr & May) now and just love the view and location for a getaway weekend break. Thredbo is much quieter during summer, just what we are after. Lantern Apartments are well looked after (though some of the cleaning does fall a little short of our expectations - but not enough to cause an issue. I think that's because the units are not used as much during summer?) Quiet location, great views and great cold climate accomidation.

Room Tip: While the Patio rooms represent "best value", they don't have the same views as the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Vilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, 10 January 2015
Thanks for the great review and thanks for staying again and again. Please remember if you have any issues when you stay we are on site and ready to fix them,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our family have just returned from spending The Mothers Day Weekend at the Lantern Apartments, Thredbo. Wow, what a gem. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and were blessed with stunning views across Thredbo and the range. From the moment of check in nothing was a problem. The gentleman at reception looked after our check in and personally showed us to our apartment, gave instructions on how the heating worked and showed us where the linen for the sofa bed was kept, he even showed us where to park. We felt very welcomed. He gave us some local advice on where to have breakfast and which were the better walking tracks in the area.

The apartment was perfectly clean, had a well stocked kitchen and was very warm and comfortable. Our family of four have decided to make the Lantern Apartments our annual Mothers Day location. Thank you!

Room Tip: As others have mentioned request a balcony, even when it's raining its beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, 10 January 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. I hope you can enjoy another Mothers Day in Thredbo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Two families went to Thredbo for the first week of the April school holidays and stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment at Lantern. It was very comfortable and a good location. Has 1 car spot (undercover) but it is pretty tight. Great view and a balcony with a BBQ.

Room Tip: We used 2 rollaway beds which were large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying and for taking time out to submit your review. I am glad you enjoyed the April school holidays, it was very busy this year but Thredbo is a lovely place to be in Autumn.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion Park, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We would highly recommend Lantern Apartments to anyone. We had the best weekend and can't wait to return to Thredbo and we would definitely stay at Lantern Apartments again. Excellent value for money. The apartment was clean and was fully equipped with absolutely everything you could possibly need. Spectacular views & the hot tub was amazing! Hospitality was excellent. Already planning our return trip.

Room Tip: Apartment deluxe 10 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying and reviewing our property. It is wonderful fr us to get such great feedback but as I have said before, we can't take all the credit. We are in such a beautiful location it is hard no to like it. Of course having a private hot tub on the balcony with the alpine stars twinkling above probably helps as well!
Unit 10 is the only one with the hot tub because it has a balcony that is suited for it and large enough. Wish we had a few more of those.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at Lantern in Feb for the first time and were very impressed. The location was excellent, the view superb and the apartment had everything we needed. We would definitely return and recommend as it was a lovely apartment, clean and modern and great value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to submit such a lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and it is great to hear that you will be back.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed there during the Australia Day long weekend. The apartment was spotless and well maintained. The view was stunning and we were satisfied with the kitchen facilities! I was able to enjoy using the both the DVD player and stereo.
The walls were a bit thin as far as neighbouring noise was concerned; but our evening slumber was not disturbed on the blissful king bed. The bathroom shower was wonderful and the balcony was a pleasant place to "chill out". Our carpark was a wee distance away from the apartment but I needed the exercise!
We recommend staying here all year round! It was great.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NemaniN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate your comments and it is great to know that you like chilling on the balcony as much as I do. Unfortunately I don't do enough of that. As for your tip about the private balcony, that is a good point. When you book online our 1 bedroom apartments will have either balcony or terrace after the room name. The balcony rooms have the private balcony. The terrace rooms share a large terrace on the 4th floor so the views are amazing and the terrace is perfect if you have active kids or want to get together with friends for an outdoor BBQ with view of the mountains on 3 sides!

Thanks again for staying
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thredbo Village hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowgoose Apartments
Snowgoose Apartments
#1 of 24 in Thredbo Village
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Apartments

Property: Lantern Apartments
Address: Lantern Apartments 2 Banjo Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lantern Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lantern Apartments is rated 4 Stars with AAA tourism. Choose from 35 apartments most with spectacular mountain views of Thredbo Village and the mountains of the Kosciuszko National Park. Thredbo offers snow sports in winter and a choice of hiking, trout fishing, mountain bike riding and relaxing in the Australian Alps. The Village is open all year with shops, restaurants cafes and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lantern Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Apartments Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing