We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good view,outdated and poor cleanliness” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beachcomber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beachcomber Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Toukley
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good view,outdated and poor cleanliness”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This really is a tired hotel due for a major overhaul, rooms are dated, noise at night was disturbing.
Hot water took ages to build up and you waste a lot of water waiting for it to heat up.
The bathroom cleanliness was bad, stains in bath and the exterior of toilet bowl was disgusting.
We only engaged with one hotel employee serving at the bar on our arrival and the employee was welcoming.
It was disappointing to visit and stay at a hotel that I thought would have been much better given it's location and the view it offers.
In reality I'd suggest driving a little longer and finding a better place to stay

Room Tip: As far away from bar area as possible if you have to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL G, Manager at The Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments.

It is a shame to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay when you recently stayed with us at The Beachcomber Hotel.
We are currently in the process of renovating the Hotel & the accommodation rooms so we hope if you return again you can see these fantastic improvements.

All guests are made aware when they book & on check in that being a Hotel we are an entertainment venue and over the weekend noise can be expected until about midnight. We recommend staying Sunday - Thursday if you wish to stay a night with no entertainment.

We have not had this issue with the hot water before? Was a manager notified or the afterhours service line to assist with this issue?

We would also like to investigate the cleanliness issues you have stated in the bathroom area.
At your pleasure could you please contact reception with a more information into your stay so we can look into these issues for you.

We would also like to offer you a returns stay on us, in one of our newly renovated rooms.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    29
    25
    48
See reviews for
32
56
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Best part of the hotel is the view of Lake Budgewoi. No bath towels in room on arrival. No-one around after 5 pm to ask for them. Used bathmat! Small cockroaches every night in hand basin. Carpets sticky. Room had been recently painted. Screen on balcony door ripped. Great Chinese and Thai restaurants within walking distance. Hotel is being renovated. Long way to go before we would stay again. Staff helpful but not friendly. More interested in phone calls or computer.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, then get a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL G, Manager at The Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Joanne,
It’s such a shame to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay at The Beachcomber Hotel.

At your leisure can you please contact management so we can look into these issues further for you, as they are just not acceptable.

Please keep in mind there is always someone at the venue to help you. If reception is closed you have access to the bar and if the bar has closed for the night there is the after hour’s assistance available 24/7. The extension for this can be found in your in-room compendium.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toukley hotels

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Okay, I have stayed in a lot of hotels and can definitely say this hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in.

First of all, when checking in, the girl on reception gave me a heap of instructions and after being awake since 4.30 that morning, I asked a question about the instructions and received a big sigh. I wasn't made to feel welcome at all - her attitude was terrible. If you can't be pleasant and welcoming, then find another industry to work in where you don't have to deal with PAYING guests or the perhaps the public in general.

The room:

1. Cockroaches
2. Paint off the doors & walls
3. Mould and rusted vent in the shower
4. The kettle smelled like someone had urinated in it (I'm not joking)
5. Sheets were threadbare and in need of replacing.
6. No ironing board or iron in room.

All "attractive" features.

I will admit the view from the balcony is good.

The deal breaker for us was when we had an issue with bogans in the room next door partying till 2.30 am on Saturday evening. We could hear every word they were saying, including the colourful language they were using. Some of the party bogans ended up on OUR balcony - YES, on OUR balcony - which made us feel threatened, so we rang in-house security as per the compendium instructions but the phone didn't work ( no dial tone and no result when dialling the number suggested).
My wife then decided to go down to reception to use the phone down there but it didn't work either. That's handy! We then decided to ring the hotel (on our mobile) but all we got was an answering machine so we left a very concise message ( which we don't know whether it was ever acted upon and we certainly didn't get any acknowledgement from management about our call). Someone (another hotel guest?) knocked on their door and told them to shut up, but the "quiet" lasted for about 1 minute and then they carried on as before.
If you are going to advertise in-house security then your guests need to have comfort that security will be available 24 hours and that your concerns will be acted upon as quickly as possible. Dialling a number to 'nowhere' does not give anyone peace of mind when feeling under threat from people who have absolutely no respect for the comfort and personal space of others.

Previous replies from management on this site suggested there was always someone on site for security and secondly, the common reply/excuse about the room standards is that the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment. I personally think a demolition would be a better option.
We were going to go to reception on Sunday morning and ask for a refund for our second night and go somewhere else, but guess what? Reception was closed. I would have used the in-house phone but that wasn't work either.

I accept that there is a pub attached and there will be noise from said pub but having a party until after 2am in your room and also on our balcony was a big security issue and there was no one in the hotel to provide support ( which I believe falls under your duty of care). It states in your compendium that noise from guest rooms WILL NOT be tolerated by management. It would have been nice to have been able to report this to SOMEONE from the hotel.

Management can go on as much as they like about being refurbed but there is a duty to ensure your guests feel safe and are in a clean and tidy environment.

Thanks

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL G, Manager at The Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We appreciate your comments, We have passed your points on to be dealt with accordingly.
Regards management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorokan, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Disgusted,cockroaches everywhere,everythings broken or damaged,wouldnt wish a visit here on anyone. staff extremely rude,slow and the bar downstairs is a rip off, toilets all damaged no soap or paper towel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rexy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL G, Manager at The Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Rexy,
Thank you for your comments.
Please contact us when you can so we can receive more information to look into this for you, as what you have stated is not acceptable.
Please call 02 4397 1300 or email reservations@thebeachie.com.au.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

It would not let me update my stay because it was so recent so here is the date-24th of march 2014.Good price,clean new revamped rooms-you pay for what you get ,I paid $80 for a night the room was clean and had all amenities,my only downfall was the staff at the bar when I went to check in as reception was closed,rude and thought they were to good and being someone in a lot bigger industry than someone that serves drinks I found it funny,the drift i got was they were to worried about what was on there phones.A really poor display to be honest.this place is not 5 star however it could possible be if the staff played there part and stopped trying to fit in to a cheap scene so to speak,all over Australia I have stayed in high and low class-but it just seemed like the bar staff were cheap and trashy and did not acknowledge there customers AT ALL! -the stay was good the bar staff -dont ask,the manager however was really helpfull something the staff need to follow.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinformation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL G, Manager at The Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thankyou for your comments, Your points have been passed on to be dealt with accordingly.

Regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is in appalling condition. There was no hot water for a shower and there were no towels in the room. We could not get towels, as the reception was not available between 5pm and 9am the next morning. The noise from the nightclub prevented any sleep until 3am. We would definitely NOT recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: No room would be free of the nightclub noise or make reception available when needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL G, Manager at The Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that your experience was not all that you expected.

We are currently in the process of renovating the hotel.

The room you were booked into was on one of our highest floors away from the nightclub noise and we do warn all our future guests that the nightclub is on until 12.45 am every Friday night.

It was very unfortunate that no towels were left in your accommodation room but this was just an oversight by housekeeping and could have been rectified by contacting our after hours number.

There is always an after hours person available on site at The Beachcomber and the number to reach this person is clearly state in the accommodation compendiums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed overnight wedding nearby woke up next day with bites & welts all over us not impressed
my wife then pointed out the sign on the bench stating that the area is a great environment for bed bugs to breed & if you have any pest problems dont hesitate to contact reception for some spray or repellent
why dont they deal with the problem professionally call pest control or pest bomb the rooms before they let anyone stay
Expected more not impressed

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazz666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHAEL G, Manager at The Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that your experience was not all that you expected.
We do have a sign in the room regarding any problems with cockroaches. Due to being right on the waterfront they can be a problem.
We have had a regular monthly pest service provided by Rent-o-kill for many years.
I have personally checked your accommodation room and thankfully no bed bugs are present but I will have rent-o-kill in to check as soon as possible.
I don’t know what could have caused the skin irritations that you experienced, maybe there was an allergic reaction to our cleaning chemicals on the bed linen.
We do understand that the room you stayed in is in need of a renovation. We are in the process of a full refurbishment at the present moment.
Please accept an offer of a return stay in one of our renovated rooms.
We are sure that your experience will be more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toukley
13.5 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
1.1 mi away
Bridgeview Motel
Bridgeview Motel
#3 of 4 in Toukley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Canton Beach Holiday Park Central Coast
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
3.4 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Hotel

Property: The Beachcomber Hotel
Address: 200 Main Rd, Toukley, New South Wales 2263, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Toukley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Toukley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beachcomber Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Hotel is one of the finest hotels on the NSW Central Coast. Nestled on the shores of Lake Budgewoi, 'The Beachie' is a true landmark for both locals of the Northlakes area, visitors from Newcastle and Sydney or holiday-makers from around Australia and overseas. Offering great accommodation, food and events with a friendly and professional service.It's no wonder The Beachie is one of the best-known pubs on the Central Coast and provides awesome entertainment every week.*The Beachcomber Hotel is currently under renovations. The Hotel is still OPEN for normal trade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Beachcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing