We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
6
4
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
4
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We stayed at this motel over the weekend. We were never prompted to pay at time of booking, in fact it said we didn't pay until check-in. When we arrived we were told our booking had been cancelled because we hadn't pre-paid and she had called me to confirm I was showing up but hadn't answered, hence booking cancelled.

Long story short, after a lot of eye rolling from her and quite an aggressive attitude, she took us to our room which is painfully basic when paying $160 per night, and threatened us with being kicked out if we brought people back there and disturbed other stayers. It was a truly bizarre experience and we felt both threatened and ripped off.

They offered us fresh milk - this was gross. It was poured into an uncovered jug from a bottle we never saw and just left on the small table in the room.

I have read some reviews on this place and I believe the owner has written them herself - she was by far one of the rudest people I have met and she didn't seem to have guests at her motel.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Well, we tried to stay here, but the owner, at 7 this evening, well before knock off time, decided he did not like our faces or our trailer so for the first time in our loooong lives we were refused a room on the supposed basis that my empty 7x5 trailer would damage his precious grass. Well, number 1, why have grass drives instead of gravel or concrete or crushed museli bars in a public motel? Number 2, the largish 4wd towing the trailer would have done more damage than the bloody trailer. Number 3, the real reason you told us to leave is that we asked if the rooms were ok, a perfectly reasonable ask, and you could not be bothered. This owner was just plain rude and unhelpful for no real reason, I would have parked down the street but it was obvious the guy was only interested in seeing paying guests walk out the door. This motel will never get our business, nor any other person I can tell about it. After driving all day this was a pretty shocking and unpleasant way to end it, but we did find a nice place down the road who was very happy to park our trailer and take out money. Shame on you, sea n sun, may your toilets block up and the beach sand bury your precious grass, you do not deserve to be called a host, you give motels a bad name. Disgraceful, rude behaviour. You get one star only because I cannot give you a zero.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We were encouraged by the high relative rating to try the inexpensive Sea n Sun Motel recently. Unfortunately our expectations were a little high and we can only partly agree with the other reviews. We were in one of the rooms where the side of the queen bed is hard up against the wall. Perhaps we are fussy, but our biggest trouble was with pillows which, to us, were way thicker than normal and not comfortable. With street noise from the busy Budgewoi Road too we had a fitful nights sleep. No aircon but there is a main overhead fan.

Although it is tastefully renovated as suggested in the pictures, it still has the feel of that old style basic commercial traveller type accommodation. For instance the shower doesn't have a screen. Its a concrete cubicle where the wind blows the shower curtain in to your legs while you are under. As stated in the other reviews, the rooms and bathroom are small.

Good features were the friendly staff, tasteful decorations and the beach, direct access to which is quite special as described in other posts. Summer night stars were wonderful. Clearly hardier souls than us have a great time here. For our part, we need to find something more comfortable next time.

The really early check in (11 am) is impressive but it is counter-balanced by some other odd rules. Check out at 10 am is insisted on with the prospect of a day rate charge if late. We were out well before 10 am so we didn't, and didn't want to, test if the late fine would happen. Also children under the age of 14 are banned from the premises. What a pity for, when I was that age, I would have loved their mini golf. Alas 13 year olds are a diverse lot. It's a couples only place. Perhaps they have had bad experiences of youngsters in the past.

We have tried a few places in this area but we are still looking for something we really like.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DavidG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

We stayed at the Sea & Sun again after having stayed a a couple of times a few years back. It is still as comfortable, clean, and well situated as it was back then. The hosts, Terri and Peter, are very friendly and could not be more helpful. There is nothing "fancy" about the motel but it has all that you need for a relaxing stay i.e. a short drive to shops, clubs, restaurants, take-aways and you can walk through the back of the motel onto the beach (not patrolled but only a short walk around to the patrolled beach).
Always happy to stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as good.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DenisWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

One of the most amazing getaways I've had in years this little hidden gem is Amazing.
Perfect beach access with an awesome barbecue and seating area.The hosts are amazing
Kind people . The rooms are nice with no telephone which is perfect. And no kids allowed which is even better.so no having to listen to someone elses screaming little brat ...
Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: If you're high maintenance stay away, if you're down to earth a little off the grid and like to truly relax at the beach this is the place for you.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews