We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tumbulgum Tavern

Tumbulgum Tavern
Ranked #7 of 92 Restaurants in Tweed Heads
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We went here for Sunday lunch with a large group - probably their busiest day of the week. You can't beat the location opposite the Tweed River & the meals are a good size and not too badly priced. I had lamb cutlets & they were delicious and did not hear anyone in our group say anything negative about their meals.
My only comment would be that they need more staff working on a Sunday to cater for the large crowds - both taking meal orders & then in the kitchen getting the meals ready. There was a long line for ordering & a really long wait for the meals - some of the group were long finished before others received their meal. I'm sure the staff rostered on were doing the best they could, but when a pub is of this size they need to make sure they have the staff to cope with the number of patrons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CheekyMacyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    65
    17
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always a good place for a Family meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

For over 20 years we've eaten at the Tumbulgum Tavern. From Rotary Dinners, Family meals, Staff Christmas Party's and of course we've taken a large number of visiting friends here to eat and enjoy the lovely Tweed River views.
The food is very good and served faster than most pubs. We sit out on the verandah and enjoy the view. There is a great kids play area within view of the verandah and excellent for family with children.
If you are on a Tweed River Cruise, the boats normally stop at Tumbulgum for a hour, so the Tavern is good spot to enjoy the river while you have a drink.
There are so few places you can sit and enjoy a view of the Tweed River while eating or drinking. If you go, see if you can spot the goats on the farm on the opposite side of the river to the tavern.
Highly recommended. Go and enjoy our Tweed River, the view of Mount Warning, the good food, well priced drinks and excellent service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank organicanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtell, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrific spot on the Tweed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Great place to enjoy with friends.
Friendly staff and nice food add up to a terrific afternoon finished off with a glass of red in front of the roaring fire.
No wonder it's so popular

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Love this pub have been going there for the past 10 years the staff , no matter how busy are really friendly and helpful the food always beautiful atmosphere great every visit is just perfect love it !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bdo04024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copacabana, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch out for us mum & dads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Loved the food so scrumotious, loved the location, idealic, opposite the Tweed River, Mount Warning and hills, very pretty, peaceful, excellent service, was very busy on day, but not a problem, very family/kid friendly, although we didn't have ours would go again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tumbulgum Tavern also viewed

Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 

Been to Tumbulgum Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing