We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very, very special place”
Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My girlfriend and I spent about 3 nights at Wild Edge Retreat. It was the most amazing, relaxing and romantic place. The location was absolutely incredible. The service was perfect and the whole resort was immaculately clean and tidy. I would highly recommend Wild Edge Retreat to both singles and couples.
Thank you Alan for an amazing get away.

Room Tip: The whole resort has amazing views in every room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali_Al_Kayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Wild Edge Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

Wild Edge is everything you'd hope it would be and more! Unlike large resorts, this beautiful sanctuary is personal, private & immaculate, so clean that you feel like no one has ever stayed before you - what a welcome change! From the minute we arrived, Alan took care of our every need, I mentioned I was Coeliac and upon arrival I discovered that both my husband and myself had been thought of with the inclusion of beautiful gluten free breakfast provisions for myself and other lovely goodies for him.
Our pavillion was luxurious but sooo comfortable, you will want for nothing.
Thank you Alan, we will definitely be back soon!
Nicole, Brisbane.

Room Tip: Speak to Alan before booking, he helped us to decide between the four, with clear information.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Nicole,

Thank you for your review of our property. It was our pleasure to have you stay and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your breakfast provisions. Naturally, if guests let us know prior to arrival of any special dietary requirements, we are always happy to accommodate them.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not too distant future.

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Recently stayed at Wild Edge Retreat. Natures Mist was aptly named. We woke in the morning and the mist from the valley below made you feel as though you were in a cloud. As day wore on the mist rose and you looked down to a beautiful valley. The view was devine. The pavillion was immaculate. Our every need was thought of. The privacy of the pavilions (including our own pool) is what everyone hopes for when you go for a get away just to enjoy each others company. The surroundings, like the pavilions are very well presented. The effort of keeping everything just right shows right throughout the whole retreat. The management shows just the right amount of care and attention to its guests. Our stay was so enjoyable that we will definitely return.

Room Tip: All pavilions are set away from each other so any would offer the same privacy and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear June,

Thank you for your review of Wild Edge Retreat. I recall those wonderful mists in the early morning during your stay - as you say, it's almost like living on a cloud and quite a special sight as the mist rises to reveal those spectacular views. Just one of the benefits of living on a mountain ridgeline!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Retreat - hopefully, sometime this year.

Kind regards,

Alan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We booked Wild Edge months before our actual stay and as a result of our hectic working life at present found ourselves counting down the days. Driving into the quaint town of Wollombi, we began to feel a sense of calmness settle over us. After purchasing some delicious sparkling wine from the friendly staff at Wollombi winery we made our way up the private road to the
"pearly gates" of the retreat. Alan, our host, offered us an inviting and warm greeting before shuttling our luggage to the Natures Mist pavilion. After a rundown of the impressive and ample amenities we were left to savour the incredible view over the valley from the spa bath.....the plunge pool...the day bed.....the sun lounge...This place is the epitome of a couples retreat. The calm quietness, the sheer privacy on offer gently coax the mind into a state of relaxing bliss. Thank you Alan, and Ruby.., for creating the perfect environment to reconnect with what is really important in life.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay. Very pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and thank you so much for such a great review and for taking Ruby on a walk!. We hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed at Wild Edge Retreat over the holidays, it was fantastic even in the rain on Christmas day. The setting is great, the accommodation was great, tucked away all to ourselves. Will go back again, and again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruski76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was our second visit to Wild Edge Retreat and wow, this place does not disappoint. For us, there is no better place for a romantic, peaceful getaway. It really has become our favourite place to visit and are already planning our next trip here. The retreat is just impeccable, so special, and cannot be faulted in any way. What the owners have created is really a one in a million experience and is truly magical. They are wonderful hosts and lovely people and it is clear that they put tremendous amounts of effort into ensuring that their guests have an extremely memorable experience.
Everything about this retreat is amazing and all of the small beautiful details makes it impossible to compare it to any other accommodation in our opinion. Pure perfection, absolutely amazing!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renaenils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

It was our pleasure to welcome you back and great to read how much you enjoyed the Retreat again. Maybe we'll see you in the cooler months so you can enjoy the magical misty mountain mornings and our wonderfully cosy log fires.

We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have not a single compliant about this beautiful tranquil oasis in the hunter! If you like luxurious with a breathtaking view of the valley this retreat will tick that box! With plentiful breakfast provisions and a jet spa with a bay window overlooking the hunter in the earth song pavillion you won't want to leave. It might be a few extra kms from the centre of the hunter but it's exactly what you want to return to at the end of a long day of wine tasting!! Would definitely return here and would highly recommend this romantic getaway for any couple.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
17.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
18.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
870 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.4 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
219 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Edge Retreat Wollombi, Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing